We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was advertised”
Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what was advertised”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This bed and breakfast accomodation run by a really lovely couple is just not what is advertised. Promoted as a 'Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge' this accomodation in my opinion is more accurately described as a bed and breakfast room, a block back from the beach with a shared lounge/living/deck area - all of which is shared with the owner and the other guests. I specifically emailed prior to booking checking that the room had a sea view - the response assured me it did. Sea views from the ground floor room consist of a view of a gravel carpark, a road, power lines, trees and a slight glimpse of the sea in the distance if you stand at one end of the room. Privacy is minimal - if we wanted privacy we had to shut the drapes to block out the carpark and the light. The room appeared to be a converted double garage which looked out onto the carpark and a busy main road, bathroom attached and a sliding door to the main communal stairs. We could hear everything happening in the room next door which completely put us off enjoying the usual fun a couple would have in an expensive luxury lodge . There is a lovely cafe but not close enough to walk comfortably to for some ...a long 40 minute walk - fortunately we had a nice evening or it would have been fish and chips if we wanted to have wine and not drive. This is a fabulous place for a beach stay at $100 - $120 a night with frech decor, very clean and tidy but there is no way this a a $245 a night stay. Thank you and top marks to the owners who refunded our money in full and who listened when I suggested they alter their marketing approach. Nevertheless a disappointing end to our sea view themed trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMXNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whytey01, Owner at Waihi Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
As we expressed to you in person we are disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay and thank you for your feedback.
However, upon realising you were not happy when you arrived we offered you the opportunity to not stay without penalty, you decided to stay. Secondly, we offered you a lift to the café as we do for all guests but you said you would like to walk at the end of the day. Thirdly, when you reiterated your displeasure the following morning we expressed our disappointment, agreed to review your concerns and refunded you in full without hesitation.
Over the 8 years we have been operating we have received many guest emails and trip advisor reviews that support our goal of ensuring guests have a great stay and get value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
203
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay for 1 night at the Waihi Beach Lodge. Greg and Ali were so lovely and welcoming which made us want to stay longer.
We were on our honeymoon touring around the North Island of New Zealand and from the other reviews we'd read, stopping at the Waihi Beach Lodge on our way from the Coromandel Peninsula to Rotorua seemed like the perfect idea. We weren't disappointed.
Great hosts, so easy to talk to and so eager to help you on your way or direct you to a lovely local place to eat. Excellent knowledge of the area, a pretty, warm and comfortable house and the most amazing breakfast in the morning.
Also must say thanks again to Greg and Ali for picking us up from the local restaurant and for the nip of amazing home-made limoncello (and recipe too).
We'd recommend the Waihi Beach Lodge to anyone.
Thanks again,
Alistair and Rachel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brockie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent our first two nights here and it was the best place to start. Greg and Ali are great hosts. they were thoughtful and had great local knowledge. They had great recommendations for dinner and places to visit. They provided everything, even slippers ( which I used the whole 2weeks of our trip) and excellent shampoos and lotion. The room was large with a great view of the beach and the cookies and chocolates were very yummy. Breakfast was really good too, loved the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineloversandimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

as a couple we stayed at the Waihi beach lodge, nice clean place with all the facilities you need
great hoasts and good breakfast supplied ,
we dwould consider staying here again.

..........................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a family holiday with my Mum and Step dad who were over from England. Excellent accommodation, hospitality definitely well above average, comfortable rooms. Greg and Ali are most welcoming as hosts, with hearty breakfasts and solid local advice. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are from Ireland and did a 5 day tour of New Zealand on our honeymoon. We wanted to stay outside of the big cities and through Tripadvisor found Waihi Beach lodge. All of the reviews were more than positive and we can see why. We only stayed with Greg and Ali for one night but it was great.
The attention we received was brilliant, it was quite cold when were we there so our electric blankets were even on when we returned from dinner.
The choice for breakfast was superb better than an 5 star hotel and the breakfast itself was lovely. The travel tips and advice we received was also great. Greg even booked our next accommodation for us before we left.
The logde is a 30 second walk to the beach and the overall setting is fantastic - the weather was quite cold when we were there but well worth a trip.
Niamh and John.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiamhFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After Auckland this was our first stop on a 5 week tour. Greg and Ali made us feel at home and shared their wealth of local knowledge.They were most helpful in suggesting the more out of the way places to visit on the Coromandel Peninsular.The studio apartment across the road from the marvellous beach had everything we needed and those superb breakfasts (with fresh muffins) - out of this world. Just hope we can return some day.

Room Tip: The apartment has a washing machine and lots of space' so useful if on a long trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
16.4 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
183 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
16.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 11 in Whangamata
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
1.9 mi away
Beachaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Property: Waihi Beach Lodge
Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing