We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Waihi Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waihi Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a family holiday with my Mum and Step dad who were over from England. Excellent accommodation, hospitality definitely well above average, comfortable rooms. Greg and Ali are most welcoming as hosts, with hearty breakfasts and solid local advice. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 260 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are from Ireland and did a 5 day tour of New Zealand on our honeymoon. We wanted to stay outside of the big cities and through Tripadvisor found Waihi Beach lodge. All of the reviews were more than positive and we can see why. We only stayed with Greg and Ali for one night but it was great.
The attention we received was brilliant, it was quite cold when were we there so our electric blankets were even on when we returned from dinner.
The choice for breakfast was superb better than an 5 star hotel and the breakfast itself was lovely. The travel tips and advice we received was also great. Greg even booked our next accommodation for us before we left.
The logde is a 30 second walk to the beach and the overall setting is fantastic - the weather was quite cold when we were there but well worth a trip.
Niamh and John.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After Auckland this was our first stop on a 5 week tour. Greg and Ali made us feel at home and shared their wealth of local knowledge.They were most helpful in suggesting the more out of the way places to visit on the Coromandel Peninsular.The studio apartment across the road from the marvellous beach had everything we needed and those superb breakfasts (with fresh muffins) - out of this world. Just hope we can return some day.

Room Tip: The apartment has a washing machine and lots of space' so useful if on a long trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a great 3 day stay at Waihi Beach Lodge – it was the perfect winter getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.

We were warmly greeted by Greg and Ali and it was a nice touch to find a bottle of bubbly in our room to help us celebrate our anniversary!

Everything is spot on – a lovely comfortable room, beautiful breakfasts and super friendly hosts - lovely to share some time with them yet still have plenty of privacy too.

Waihi Beach is a great spot – beautiful beach (just across road from lodge), and is in an excellent location to explore the area. We enjoyed walking the Karangahake gorge one day, and visiting the wineries the next. Recommend lunch at Mills Reef! And we enjoyed a couple of meals at the Flat White café in Waihi Beach.

Greg and Ali’s thoughtfulness and little extra touches make Waihi Beach Lodge a special place to stay - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at The Waihi Beach Lodge. Greg and Ali were fantastic hosts, breakfast was great and our room was comfortable and well equipped. The lodge is close to the sea and well positioned. We stayed upstairs in the house itself and were made to feel very welcome, however it is quite close to the owners quarters so if you require more privacy ask to stay in the downstairs rooms. Having said that, my wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed Greg and Ali's company and popping into the living area for an evening wine and a chat was a highlight. Highly recommended. We will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonzoid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Waihi Beach is a great place to include on a trip to NZ. There are lots of things to see and do in the area and plenty of good restaurants for the evening meal, which is probably the only other meal you will need in the day after eating Greg and Ali's breakfast. Fruit, full English (well NZ I suppose), freshly homemade muffins, toast and homemade jam, Mmmmmmm! So the Waihi Beach Lodge is the place to stay - the absolute epitome of a homestay - friendly people sharing their lovely home with you and doing everything they can to make your stay memorable.

Terry & Sandy Walton

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldgeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Waihi Beach and were delighted with the warmth of our welcome and the trouble taken to enable us to mark the occasion.
The position of the lodge within a short walk of a lovely beach made it a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced directly onto the street but was not unduly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
16.4 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
196 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Tohora View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 8 in Waihi Beach
8 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Hibiscus B&B
#6 of 8 in Waihi Beach
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waihi Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waihi Beach
Price Range: $156 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing