We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Beachfront Cafe.”
Review of Flatwhite

Flatwhite
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Flatwhite beachfront cafe is located at Waihi Beach, Western Bay of PLenty, New Zealand. We are open 7 days and 7 nights (that’s pretty much all the time) and love serving great food in our fabulous beach location. Our friendly staff and casual atmosphere will make you feel so welcome, you may not want to leave (which is fine by us). If you just want to join us for a coffee and a piece of something delicious from our cake cabinet, hold your next work function or celebration party with us or dinner for two...anything goes. We are fully licensed and have a range of tasty items on our menu for all members of the family.We look forward to seeing you soon and if you are not sure how to find us (some say it’s a bit tricky) then please check out our map on our website.
Papamoa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top Beachfront Cafe.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had an awesome lunch here with my daughter while visiting Waihi . We both had the corn and pea fritters with bacon. Very tasty indeed. A great find at a wonderful rustic beachfront location. We wouldnt have known about it but for the voucher in our 'Entertainment Book'. Where we had a voucher giving us a complimentary main. Thanks Flatwhite Cafe, it's well worth your while to appear in this book. We find we dine at places that we search out because of the vouchers in the book and save hundreds!! Good friendly service, rustic beachfront atmosphere,Good coffee too so we'll be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZaZaPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    111
    55
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waitomo Caves
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brekky By The Sea Side”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had been to the Flatwhite some time ago so know very well of its existence. We dined there for breakfast on a warm Tuesday morning. I had the scrambled eggs which was a decent sized portion. My eggs were very tasty and one of the best I have tasted in a while. Hubby had a big breakfast and struggled to finish it. Will definately go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoselandsWaitomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cannot be Faulted”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent 7 days in Waihi Beach and visited the Flat White at least half a dozen times and have done the previous few years as well.
The staff are fantastic and the food cannot be faulted and even if you just stop in for a coffee grab a muffin as well and the views are amazing and the coffee you get here is some of the best we have ever had and that includes from Australia.
If you ever get the chance stop in for a meal as well and believe me you will not be disappointed and with a short stroll to the beach( A few meters)you can walk hand in hand with your loved one along the beach.Just a super place so what are you waiting for.
And well done to all the Staff of the Flat White.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waihi beach
1 review
“great place for any occasion”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Flat White is a FANTASTIC place for any occasian we have just held my mothers 85th
birthday lunch at Flat White Cafe it was a GREAT meal and GREAT service even the children were catered for by giving them the choice of their own menu which was also a colouring in
picture and were supplied with crayons to do this which they loved how thoughtful.A pre arranged cake was bought out with the candles lit and the owner singing Happy Birthday
and he engaged the whole cafe which by the way was full in singing along to the shock
of my mother.Thank you.Very SPECIAL They say its the little things in life that count but
to me this wasnt a little thing it was very special, THANK YOU.I have been there many times
before sometimes just for a coffee and a chat with a friend and have never been dissapointed
you wont be either a must place to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodwaihibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Superb Cafe - Open 7 days and 7 nights!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This cafe is amazing - not only its location on the beacfront in tiny little Waihi Beach, but the fact it's open every night (and day!). Just as well, because no matter when you are in the vicinity you must have a meal at Flatwhite. We had dinner on a Monday evening, with foul weather, sleeting rain and crashing waves. It was so cozy inside, with its unique interior, the food was fantastic (between us one perfectly cooked steak and one serve of delicious lamb shanks) but also lots of other choices. Good wines, prices reflected the quality of the meals. Our waitress was very friendly. All in all a great dining experience in a terrific location.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelsQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatwhite also viewed

Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
Waihi Beach, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Flatwhite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing