We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not good value & hugely overpriced"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Springs Holiday Park
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Not good value & hugely overpriced"”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This property is very neglected, shabby with poor amenities. the kitchen had no hot water, the restaurant not open, the washing machine broken and poorly lit at night time. The only plus is that the shower is free and unlimited time. But - dont look too closely at the drains etc. The advertised swimming pool didnt look clean enough to consider getting into. Paths, walkways all very neglected. For the price charged this is poor value. The dividing hedges are the only nice aspect here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden S, Lessee at Golden Springs Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Dear Alison161, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay, and surprised that you didn’t discuss this with us, or complete a questionnaire at the reception.
The camp kitchen hot water works fine, but someone over tightened the taps and the seals jammed, preventing hot water from coming through (easily fixed if reported to the reception). Our camping rates are $18 per person and $10 per child. For this campers use all facilities as they need. This rate is generally lower than other Holiday Park’s in the region. Regrettably the washing machine wasn’t working – it has now been repaired and works fine again. The restaurant opens daily for room service to the motel units. Restaurant meals need to be booked by 4pm on the day they are required. Campers can order and collect meals by prior arrangement, otherwise the restaurant opens on Thursday, Friday and Saturday (booking always required). Our Holiday Park is small (21 camp sites) so our facilities are not as large and expansive as some of the bigger Parks. The swimming pool area has a lot of trees and over the past week the wind and rains have been a problem, however, the water is chlorinated daily and is always clear. Our thermal stream and soak pools are much enjoyed by our guests, and the walkways along the stream are not always mowed as the area is very prone to waterlogging from rains and the mower damages the wet areas.
Most of our guests love our Park and we have a lot of return guests. The other reason a lot of guests stay here, is to have easy access to the Taupo (36km) and Rotorua (41km) tourist facilities without having to move their base daily, and of course also to take in some of the free thermal facilities in this area.
We strive to upgrade facilities on an on-going basis as time and finances permit, and we hope that, if you visit again, you will find that we are improving all the time. Best wishes for 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    8
    8
    24
See reviews for
19
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This facility was recommended for accommodation close to River Lodge where we were attending a wedding. So needs a makeover if they want to charge the price they do, Dark dingy room more like a cabin they call a motel $125 per night. What a joke. Would have been worth driving to Taupo for that price and staying in luxury, Not even a phone in the room ,mosquitos everywhere including squashed ones on walls, and a real old musty smell about our room. Never again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reporoa hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Booked this purely because the website showed a great kids area and swimming pool and must say there was great disappointment. The kids play area is seriously outdated verging on dangerous with metal bolts sticking out and sharp welding fixes on many parts. The swimming pool would have been gorgeous had it been clean but the thermal holes were absolutely revolting... Kids too scared to even go in due to overgrown state of everything.

Not wanting to be only negative...the units were very clean and well looked after, just tired and in need of an update.

If you didn't have children this might be an okay stop over but I wouldn't recommend for a family, not when for the price you can do a lot better elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Springs Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Springs Holiday Park

Property: Golden Springs Holiday Park
Address: 4085 State Highway 5, Reporoa 3083, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Reporoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Reporoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Springs Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing