We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful House and Garden in Bourgogne”
other travelers have booked this property
The house in summer - a passing boat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house in summer - a passing boat
Drive entrance to house Front of house with eating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The house in summer - a passing boat
Drive entrance to house
Front of house with eating area
House and garden, taken in Winter
House in Winter
Relaxing by the side of the canal
The house in Spring
Barbecue area, looking towards canal
Barbecue area
Side of house overlooking wooded area
Cycling on the tow path, looking towards house
Enjoy the local wines!
House boat
Lazy summer by the canal
Twin bedroom on first floor
Shower in twin bedroom
Double room - First Floor
Canal view from double bedroom
Large twin-bedroom, space for 2 extra beds
Cosy kitchen with log burner for cooler evenings
Kitchen window - canal view
Sitting room
Sitting room
Approach to a neighbouring village
A passing boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santenay, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terry M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful House and Garden in Bourgogne”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

On arrival I was immediately impressed with the stunningly beautiful garden with a sweeping lawn leading down to the canal side. The house was immaculately clean with loads of country charm. Highlights of the holiday: sitting on the lawn by the canal with a glass of local Crémant de Bourgogne watching the sunset (look out for the heron and woodpeckers) and, visiting Rully for a wonderful meal with local wine. I recommend this wonderful house and garden to anyone who wants a peaceful relaxing place to stay in lovely Bourgogne.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and you were able to make use of the garden thanks to the good weather. The restaurant where you enjoyed your meal, deserves a mention, Le Vendangerot, fine cuisine at a reasonable price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewheatl...
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“It Was Good to Be Back!”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I are long time users of this property. We first rented in 1999 and have now rented a total of 9 times. However, there had been a gap of 10 years before we returned in June 2017. We were delighted to find that the only changes were improvements- a new oven, excellent wifi and new tv system all contributed to another excellent experience at Les Garruches. The proximity of Beaune and easy access to the wineries and sights of the southern Côte de Beaune and the quiet location next to the canal are the highlights of this rustic and delightful property. The next door neighbors look after the house so help is at hand for information and guidance on the area. We have recommended Les Garruches to others and will certainly be back!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
So pleased to hear that your 9th visit to our canal-side house, resulted in "another excellent experience", despite there having been a gap of 10 years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloew197...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An idyllic holiday getaway..”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We said we would return and we did! This is our 2nd year at this beautiful, rustic little house. We simply love the location - cycling along the canal and through vineyards to the nearby villages. We weren't quite as lucky with the weather this year, but we were still able to eat out in the garden most nights and had a few lazy days in the sunshine at the start of the week. Once again Sue was always prompt in responding to any questions that we had and Serge (the neighbour) was on hand upon arrival, with a friendly smile and tour of the house. We tried a few different things this year; venturing to Nuits St Georges for lunch which was really nice, plus we had dinner in Beaune one evening which again was lovely (spoilt for choice with bars/restaurants). There was a pizza van in the square of Santenay one evening which we used when feeling too lazy to cook (very good pizzas as well) and we did the wine and vineyard tour in Puligny with Olivier Leflaive. We highly recommend the house for a base for exploring the area (Santenay has a supermarket, wine caves, tabac, bakers etc. plus 2 restaurants). We have never eaten in the local restaurants as you are spoilt with the backdrop of your accommodation! Hope to return once again as we had a fantastic time. Thanks Sue!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johntR860...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A second visit to a charming gite”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had already stayed at La Maison sur le Canal in 2006 with two of our grownup children and their partners. So we had no hesitation in booking it again with our eldest son and his wife for a second stay. The location is superb, situated on a very pretty stretch of the canal and within walking distance of the little village of Santenay. The house itself is full of character , comfortable and very well equipped - the rowing -boat was a real bonus. Apart from the lovely and extensive canal-side garden there are two terraces so both sun and shade are always available. The house and garden are very well cared for by the caretakers, Serge and his wife, who are very friendly and helpful. The local area is beautiful and interesting. In Santenay we ate well at Le Terroir and at L'Estade but our favorite was L'Escale which is within walking distance down the canal towards Remigny. The nearby small town of Chagny has an outstanding Sunday market (the roast chicken stall was irresistible).

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The canal-side setting.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning garden
Liked least: Leaving
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chloew197...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The perfect french holiday”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have not long got back from this beautiful house from a week long stay. We loved the location, being able to hire bikes from the local tourist office and cycling to the many villages nearby. From local wine tasting, picnics along the canal and daily BBQ's in the stunning garden, we had the perfect relaxing break and cannot recommend La Maison Sur La Canal highly enough. Booking the house was simple, and Sue was always available via email for any questions that we had. Serge (the neighbour) was on hand upon arrival to meet us and show us round which was really nice. There is lots to see and do in the area and our regret is not staying for longer. Thank you for a perfect holiday - we will be back!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Style of house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Canterbury
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delightful House, Garden and Location”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Four of us - a married couple and two adult progeny - stayed here for a week, and we all had a great time. The delightfully quirky house is clean, comfortable, cosy and well equipped, the garden is large, well laid-out and contains occasional mysteries such as ruined buildings and an overgrown, former quarry, and the canal at the bottom of the garden is a treat. Serge, the neighbour, visited at the start and end of the week to check that all was well, and he's a friendly and helpful chap (with whom it helps to converse in French or at least in Franglais). His dog is equally friendly and paid us several visits, showing obvious disappointment that we weren't going to feed her scraps!

We ate and drank too much, both at the house and at numerous establishments of gastronomic hedonism, saw the sights, hired bikes to ride along the canal towpath (well, the two younger members of the family did), and spent many hours sitting in the garden, watching, and waving to, the passing boats, cyclists hikers and runners.

We didn't find access to the road much of a problem, although it helps for the driver to look one way, while the front passenger looks the other, when pulling out of the drive. The traffic is audible on the road when one sits in the garden, so don't expect perfect calm, but we didn't find it to be intrusive.

All in all, an excellent holiday from which we were not at all keen to return.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and canal
Liked least: Small shower-cubicles.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing