We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect french holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
The house in summer - a passing boat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house in summer - a passing boat
Kitchen window Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The house in summer - a passing boat
Kitchen window
Sitting room
The house in Spring
House and garden, taken in Winter
House in Winter
The kitchen
Drive entrance to house
Twin bedroom - First Floor
Twin bedroom sitting area - First Floor
Double room - First Floor
View from double bedroom
Relaxing by the side of the canal
Large twin-bedroom, space for 2 extra beds
Barbecue area, looking towards canal
Enjoy the local wines!
Cycling on the tow path, looking towards house
Pulling out the house boat
Approach to a neighbouring village
A passing boat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santenay, Cote d'Or, Bourgogne-Franche-Comte

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chloew197...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The perfect french holiday”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have not long got back from this beautiful house from a week long stay. We loved the location, being able to hire bikes from the local tourist office and cycling to the many villages nearby. From local wine tasting, picnics along the canal and daily BBQ's in the stunning garden, we had the perfect relaxing break and cannot recommend La Maison Sur La Canal highly enough. Booking the house was simple, and Sue was always available via email for any questions that we had. Serge (the neighbour) was on hand upon arrival to meet us and show us round which was really nice. There is lots to see and do in the area and our regret is not staying for longer. Thank you for a perfect holiday - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Style of house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Canterbury
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delightful House, Garden and Location”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Four of us - a married couple and two adult progeny - stayed here for a week, and we all had a great time. The delightfully quirky house is clean, comfortable, cosy and well equipped, the garden is large, well laid-out and contains occasional mysteries such as ruined buildings and an overgrown, former quarry, and the canal at the bottom of the garden is a treat. Serge, the neighbour, visited at the start and end of the week to check that all was well, and he's a friendly and helpful chap (with whom it helps to converse in French or at least in Franglais). His dog is equally friendly and paid us several visits, showing obvious disappointment that we weren't going to feed her scraps!

We ate and drank too much, both at the house and at numerous establishments of gastronomic hedonism, saw the sights, hired bikes to ride along the canal towpath (well, the two younger members of the family did), and spent many hours sitting in the garden, watching, and waving to, the passing boats, cyclists hikers and runners.

We didn't find access to the road much of a problem, although it helps for the driver to look one way, while the front passenger looks the other, when pulling out of the drive. The traffic is audible on the road when one sits in the garden, so don't expect perfect calm, but we didn't find it to be intrusive.

All in all, an excellent holiday from which we were not at all keen to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and canal
Liked least: Small shower-cubicles.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orange, Australia
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clare W
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Perfect Stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

La Maison sur Le Canal really is charming. It is a very comfortable country house that provides all one needs for a good holiday. The wood burner in the kitchen is very effective if needed. The beds offer good support and are comfortable. Everything we needed was provided although we did take our own hair dryer. The setting of the house is just wonderful. It is very protected and full of bird song. The boat was a lovely bonus. A very relaxing and beautiful break for us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipper19...
Kent, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If it's for sale, I'll buy it!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The maison was a truly delightful place. It took only a day or two to feel right at home. It's structure is truly unique and very much up to date. Any small problems were easily solved with the help of the caretaker, Serge - a delightful and always helpful neighbor. WiFi worked just fine. The location was perfect. We had rented a car and ranged far and wide, including a hot air balloon right over the beautiful countryside. The nearby restaurants are perfect, especially Le Terroir in Santenay where we ate frequently. Can't think how it could have been better. We deeply regretted having to leave after three weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique homely atmosphere of the house and the beauty of the grounds.
Liked least: Had a little problem with the hot water and failed to ask Serge for help. Dumb on our part.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful Location
Liked least: The access road, a little dangerous when entering & leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing