We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tacos in Playa negra”

Jalapeno Eatery & Market
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Playa Negra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Costa Rican
Description: Familiar, friendly, fun and casual restaurant with a variety of fresh, local and organic .We serve delicious, fresh and healthy food. Our tortillas are rolled by hand with no lard or Manteca added. Our home-made hot sauce has become famous for its great flavors and a secret recipe of mixed species for our meats
Restaurant details
Description: Familiar, friendly, fun and casual restaurant with a variety of fresh, local and organic .We serve delicious, fresh and healthy food. Our tortillas are rolled by hand with no lard or Manteca added. Our home-made hot sauce has become famous for its great flavors and a secret recipe of mixed species for our meats
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best tacos in Playa negra”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I wanted something fast (because nothing in Costa Rica is fast ) and found this little restaurant . The owner mike had fresh local caught fish tacos ready for us in less then 5 minutes. And also had a little hotel with the best prices in town. Don't forget to ask if the have any fresh brownies

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fyshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    26
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiny tacos for a lot of money”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place did the job, but was very expensive, like most things in Playa Negra. Tiny tacos for lts of money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Good Food, Great Owner”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nine of us descended upon the owner one evening for dinner. He was extremely patient and helpful with our group, he them proceeded to make some great Mega Burrito's, wonderful guacamole, and the best quesadilla's ever (in the kids' opinion).

Don't miss Jalapeno's if you pass by Playa Negra, its tasty and fun. They also have a hotel if you need to crash. Don't tell anyone, but the nightly rates are awesome.

Thanks Mike, and Bob!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Delicious food was made so fast and taste so good ,we had burritos and super Nachos yummy really really Good!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessy7a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taco and Burrito stand”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is great for a quick meal on the go. It is a tiny little taco stand with outdoor eating. Very popular for taste, price, quality, and speed with travelers and locals alike in the area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lg_costanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno Eatery & Market also viewed

Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Jalapeno Eatery & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing