We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Peruvian in Guanacaste!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kon Tiki

Kon Tiki
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Playa Negra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kontiki Pizza ´n Love is a Rustic pizzeria and Grill restaurant, we open as a hostal and now with the helping hand of my daugther who is a chef now, we reorganized and present our organic pizzas along with other delicious goods that come out of the wood fired oven,we work with all fresh ingredients and all is home made... we prepare Pizzas , chicken Lasagnas, pastas and ravioles, in the oven, also we offer salads.... peruvian dishes, vegetarian and even gluten free pizzas, super cold refreshments, our Homemade Sangria .... everybody welcome to share with us ...See you soon ....
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Peruvian in Guanacaste!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Congrats to Martin and Giovanna for all the delicious choices on the Menu. Fabulous fresh Ceviche with Ají, great chicken and many pizza choices!!
Also great choice for pick up and share at home while enjoying the sunset.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaGuarCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Avellanas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We love their pizzas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We really enjoy eating in Kon Tiki, we go quite often as it´s one of the best places around in our area and the owners are really nice. Margarita especial is our favorite, but we´ve tried many of them and they are all really good!!. Please don´t miss their peruvian chili, it´s to die for !!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Violetagrancelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“YUM! And a sweet family....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stumbled across this wonderful pizza spot when looking for some options outside of Lola's, the Marriott, Beach Club for dinner while visiting Playa Avellanas area. We read a few reviews and decided to try it! We had five adults and ten children under age 10.....they set a long table for the kids, one for the adults next to it. The owners (from Peru) were SO friendly and upbeat. It's a charming story and setting....like a funky treehouse along a dirt road. The pizza is all cooked in this enormous brick oven outside (the kids loved watching)....and it's delicious! They serve it with a sauce that's "secret" and spicy and oh, so good!!! The howler monkeys were howling away in the trees surrounding and we really enjoyed ourselves. The kids were able to get up, go outside, look for monkeys, look at the oven, try the hammocks....all while we sipped sangria and chatted :) We enjoyed talking to the owners as well.
In our 10 day stay, we went back a second time for dinner.....it was that good! Thank you---see you next trip! Pura Vida!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 17meg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, md
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Didn't expect such delicious pizza in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

This place has a relaxed vibe, delicious pizza, and the best sangria under the sun! I had margherita and Hawaiian pizza that were cooked perfectly in the brick oven and the Peruvian chili sauce adds just the right spice. Marina's mom makes the sangria and it is positively the best.... We had to go back the next day and get 2 jugs of sangria to go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap but excellent pizza to go or to eat there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Yes, the cute wait person sways some of my thinking, but we ordered 4 pizzas to go to watch the Oscars. The pizzas were better than expected, better than the Oscars, and cheap.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kon Tiki also viewed

Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Negra, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
 

Been to Kon Tiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing