We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Negra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Deevena
Reviewed March 12, 2012

What luck to find a dream place like this, After our first day We ate at Villa Deevena every meal while on vacation in Costa Rica and the only day we were forced to eat somewhere else was the day they are closed (mondays) so make sure you find something for monday, if not you will know what i mean when you eat somewhere else. And yes this is the best food in costa rica and the BEST Chocolate Lava Cake in the world. It has now become my go to spot in Costa Rica .

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have AC. The beds are very comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopherlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in early December 2011. We had a fantastic stay with our hosts, Patrick, the chef, and Tasia, his very capable, charming and helpful wife. There are six rooms surrounding a beautifly landscaped swimming pool. Despite its small overall size, each room has plenty of space and privacy. You sit on the bed and look out onto the pool. The place is quaint enough so that it is hard not to meet the other guests and the mingling is encouraged. Wake up in the morning to have copy with other guests and sometimes hosts in their pajamas under the large cabana housing the restaurant kitchen and covered outdoor eating area. Keep this a secret: You will never have this kind of experience at the four seasons...its a treasure. Beaches and other restaurants are pretty close by. Massage is available in the "tent" at the far end of the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pulse927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We are staying at the Marriott at Hacienda Pinilla and wanted to venture out for a special dinner. The father of the owner at Lola's recommended the Villa Deevena for dinner and are we happy he did. An excellent menu with reasonable prices and incredible food. The dining area is cozy and tastefully done and the family makes you feel at home. We immediately booked for Thanksgiving and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The food is what I first experienced with a group of travelers. I did not know Patrick's pedigree at the time, but later found out when I brought my girl there for a week the following year. Patrick and Pus are a french couple from L.A. Patrick is a world renowned chef who has prepared meals for presidents, that might explain why his food is perfect. The experience they created is unique. There are six villas and all are clean and modern. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are neat because you shower outdoors in a beautiful setting. There is a well maintained pool in the middle and the dining area is beautiful, clean and comfortable. P & P's staff are polite and professional. Patrick treats you like an old friend and Pus is the sweetest lady you will ever meet. There is alot of love between the two of them and it exudes into the place with feelings of good karma and well-being. We felt like family and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

on our first visit to this intimate hotel,we accompanied friends who were long time repeat clients.
after a weekend at villa deevena,we understood why they came back so frequently. the rooms are tasteful and clean,the pool is inviting,the massages are first rate....and the cuisine is unmatched.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pilarxavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My wife and I visited Costa Rica last week and had the pleasure of stumbling upon Villa Deevena with friends and it was simply wonderful! Tasia has created a tasteful boutique hotel with Patrick complimenting it with an amazing kitchen. The hotel is extremely intimate, the food is 5 stars and it is completely off the beaten path! Tasia and Patrick will make you feel like long time friends. This is a must visit if you’re in the Guanacaste area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbelan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

This is an amazing 6 room hotel that my partner and I fell in love with. It is owned and operated by Chef Patrick and his wife. Chef Patrick is the former executive chef of the world class Regency Club in Los Angeles, CA. Since Patrick left the Regency we decided to follow him to Costa Rica to once again taste his orgasmic culinary creations! Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a getaway from life!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endeavorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Negra
6.7 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0 mi away
Playa Negra Surf Lodge
Playa Negra Surf Lodge
#2 of 2 in Playa Negra
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Playa Negra
Cafe Playa Negra
#1 of 2 in Playa Negra
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Casa Mymy
Casa Mymy
#5 of 9 in Playa Negra
12 reviews
0 mi away
Cabinas Colibri
Cabinas Colibri
#9 of 9 in Playa Negra
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Deevena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Deevena

Address: Playa Negra, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Negra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Playa Negra
Price Range: $95 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very calm and friendly environement. Walking distance to beach ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing