We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Yunnan Stone Forest Geological Park
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
282
210
61
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
210
61
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock formations ticket office electric cart avoid the crowds golf cart day trip main area natural beauty world heritage site bus station well worth the trip entry fee chinese tour groups hour drive three hours yunnan province kunming city
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

My first reaction was, I gotta get outta here. There were so many Chinese tourists. This was not a "nature" experience. You might say the Chinese have overdeveloped the national park.

However, we made an effort to get away from the masses. We often found ourselves alone in beautiful spots, so it can be done (again, with some effort). In the later afternoon hours, the light is just beautiful.

Getting there: We paid 500 RMB on taobao for car/driver for day. Standard price. He drove us there from Kunming, waited 5 hours, then took us back - road tolls, parking included. Driver seemed happy with price. If you're not on a super-tight budget, this is a comfortable way to go. Park costs 130/person to get in, then 25 for unavoidable shuttle bus. So maybe US$130 for day trip for 2.

Once we got over the shock of the initial crowds, we liked it. Had great weather.

Thank NoGoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Stone Forest in Shi Lin. Saw various rock formations in different shapes and sizes. All standing vertical like trees hence Stone Forest.

Thank kimhuat2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this site but like most reviews say, it is very crowded in the main parts. However, we were lucky enough to have a guide who knew her away around the park and led us through smaller trails. Once we got off the main road, we barely encountered anyone else.

Really beautiful scenery and worth it if you take your time to see beyond the main roads.

Thank Cruiser631384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

You need to try and find a way to get away from the crowds which can be achieved but don't get lost. The walk ways can be quite steep and slippery in the wet and watch you head. You will find many guides and those in local costumes playing instruments. This is an amazing nature park and a definite must see if you are travelling to Kunming.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

It was such an amazing nature creation. It's really a forest of stones. The arrangements of the stones are pretty much stand alone. The place is really huge and in some corner u will see some lovely music player playing musics. I was lucky enough to meet one old lady playing a local instrument. She have such a lovely smile. The downside is the place is overcrowded. I suggest if you wanna get to to the small stone forest, just walk there instead of taking the bus. It's worth it and definitely less tourist!

Thank carmencsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

We drove for about 8 hours to see this place, such a shame it was so crowded and so noisy with all the tour guides and their speaker phones. Once we got away from the main crowds it was beautiful because you can take it all in, see the beauty away from the heads, cameras and selfie sticks.
Unfortunately if you want to see a view from above you have to head into the crowds again.
I wouldn’t return to this place, it’s just too manic.

Thank geraldine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

It could be very crowded during weekend or holidays. It is recommended to hire a guide to bring you around the stone forest area, as the route could be confusing, and they will show you the specialty stone which look like real object with a bit of imagination.

Thank mhlee1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2018

We travelled for the day from Kunming to the park - there was a direct/express bus from the station within the city and took roughly 1hr (ticket 36RMB each). Once your at the park the ticket costs 200RMBpp (plus 25RMBpp for the green shuttle to park entrance). Considering its entrance to a park, we thought this was extortionately priced.
The entrance to the park is in try Chinese style - poorly organised and a queue to get in a queue to then buy a ticket and go back to the start. The signposting is terrible - try and follow the crowds. Once you get off the green shuttle at the park entrance (definitely pay extra for this - a 3-4km walk in the heat to the entrance park is not desirable). The park is beautiful. Most tourists hand around the major and minor scenic areas but we found walking the ring round clockwise from the entrance to be quiet, peaceful and the most beautiful part. You can explore the whole park in a day - there are free shuttles regularly within the park and the "stops" are obvious when you come across them. Allow the better part of a day and pack plenty of water and a lunch!

Thank MwithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018

You can take a coach from Kunming Eastern Bus station, a subway interchange between line 3 & line 6 (linked to airport). A beautiful place with natural stone formation and well maintained paths. But the price of RMB175 is too expensive just for a park. Good to go but note the price.

2  Thank Superyoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

The main section is very crowded but still an amazing place and definitely worth the visit. The "minor" section is far, far less crowded with some side paths that were mostly without other visitors. Seeing this quieter area makes the visit a totally different experience but it takes time to enjoy it all.

Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews