We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage stay in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Candlemas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peak Forest, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jasmine C
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage stay in a great location ”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My mum and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Candlemas Cottage with our 2 dogs and have all had a fab time! The location provides a good base for exploring all areas of the Peak District, as well as local walks straight from the door. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need and more, it is super clean with comfy beds and a lovely warm shower. As previously mentioned the wifi is patchy but it worked well enough for us and we enjoyed the break from technology! Thank you for a fab stay in a lovely area!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramanatha...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For anyone who likes a decent place at a bargain price”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pros: The owners accepted the booking within very short notice
A calm place to enjoy solitude and nature
Interior of the house has contemporary design and facilities
Clean
Nearby bar and restaurant

Cons: Although promised wifi, no active wifi
Was not corrected even after contacting owners
No mobile coverage inside the house, so if one needs to make urgent calls,
one has to run out ( can't blame owners, due to location perhaps)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Hi thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are really sorry that the wifi was not working during your stay. It is usually absolutely fine but we unfortunately suffered a BT issue that weekend, which was out of our control and we could not get them to resolve it until the Monday. Things are up and running again now so it was just a temporary glitch. We can get mobile signal in the lounge window and 4G just outside too. Poor signal is unfortunately likely in all parts of the Peak District - depends on your network - great if you wish to really get away from it all, though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireallylo...
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely dog and kid friendly place”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great for the dog , great for our 8 year old. Great for us . We'll be back . simple but excellent set up, good hot water/ shower.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxinedam...
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is ideally situated for visiting surrounding, attractions and is on the doorstep to some wonderful walking areas.
The park area directly opposite is brilliant for any dog owner and was especially good for our 11mth old GSD who loved being able to run around with her tennis ball
The cottage is beautiful and like home from home with all you need to be comfortable
We would recommend to anyone wanting to visit the area thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Thankyou Ellen and family

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westhaddo...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just back from a lovely relaxing weekend. The cottage is very cosy and charming and has wonderful views. There is a park opposite for if you have little ones who need to let off steam. There is an outside table and benches if you want to have breakfast outside...which we did as the weather was perfect. We spent Saturday walking up Mam Tor which I definitely recommend! Beautiful scenery. We didn't eat in the local pub but we did get a Chinese takeaway from Chapel en le Frith approx. 4 miles away. There is also a Morrisons supermarket and petrol station there. Would definitely stay again.. my only negative would be I suggest putting black out blinds in the small bedroom. Oh and the shower is wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Jam...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Candlemas cottage, peak district.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for peace and tranquility
Candlemas cottage is the place.
Also plenty of walks and nearby places
To visit with beautiful scenery

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing