We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Candlemas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peak Forest, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maxinedam...
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is ideally situated for visiting surrounding, attractions and is on the doorstep to some wonderful walking areas.
The park area directly opposite is brilliant for any dog owner and was especially good for our 11mth old GSD who loved being able to run around with her tennis ball
The cottage is beautiful and like home from home with all you need to be comfortable
We would recommend to anyone wanting to visit the area thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Thankyou Ellen and family

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westhaddo...
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just back from a lovely relaxing weekend. The cottage is very cosy and charming and has wonderful views. There is a park opposite for if you have little ones who need to let off steam. There is an outside table and benches if you want to have breakfast outside...which we did as the weather was perfect. We spent Saturday walking up Mam Tor which I definitely recommend! Beautiful scenery. We didn't eat in the local pub but we did get a Chinese takeaway from Chapel en le Frith approx. 4 miles away. There is also a Morrisons supermarket and petrol station there. Would definitely stay again.. my only negative would be I suggest putting black out blinds in the small bedroom. Oh and the shower is wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin Jam...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Candlemas cottage, peak district.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for peace and tranquility
Candlemas cottage is the place.
Also plenty of walks and nearby places
To visit with beautiful scenery

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T
1 review
“Candlemas cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a lovely stay, cottage was superb in every way could not find fault. Really nice surroundings and weather was brilliant. Thank you to Ellen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely place but also very tiny which in some ways added to charm but for 4 people was a touch cramped. Top bed of the bunk bed was strangely close to the ceiling making it hard for my kids to sit up in bed without banging head. Really nice location with a great Park to let off steam just over the lane /farm track. Don't rely on WiFi which was patchy at best unless standing in the window near the front door m recommend a WiFi extender or delete it from the list of facilities. Lots to do in the nearby area but sadly rainy when we were there -but the cottage has a FANTASTIC shower. Recommend Monsai trail if looking for a family ride quite close by. Local pub a tad pricey for our liking for food so drove 10 minutes up the road to the local - ish village for evening meal - where we also found WiFi !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShanthiHe...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal weekend get-away”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at Candlemas Cottage.
We booked rather last minute and despite the bunk beds in one of the rooms (compact and very comfortable) all four adults had a wonderful time.

We were blessed with amazing weather and could not get enough of the stunning views from the cottage.

The cottage itself is tastefully and thoughtfully decorated and had pretty much everything we needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peakresid...
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great central Peak District cottage in friendly village.”
Reviewed May 25, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally placed for sight seeing all the Peak District sights and attractions. In a quiet village with a great pub (Devonshire Arms, Peak Forest) Set on a quiet rural lane, yet only 200 yards to the pub. Heaven on earth!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing