We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, sweeping views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Candlemas Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Candlemas Cottage, Peak Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peak Forest, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Footprint...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, sweeping views”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely stay at this cozy cottage. It was perfect for us, our little one and dog. The cottage is located in a quiet village with beautiful views of the countryside. Well equipped and spotless, a travel cot and highchair was kindly provided too. It was a 15 minute drive (max) to Mam Tor for some great trekking in the Peak District, also well located for the towns of Buxton and Bakewell. Great communications with the owners too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Long weekend”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were over the moon with the accommodation, the location was equally as good. the cottage had all we needed, and more, there was also a travel cot and high chair, we didn't need these but they were available, all pots and pans and bedding, the place was spotlessly clean, and the pub at the end of the road is handy. in fact i could only find 1 fault, and that is that the bathroom is a little small, but i didn't want to spend the weekend in the bathroom anyway, so like i said very minor fault.
We had a really enjoyable stay, and it was well worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: size of the bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The S
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Candlemas Cottage is absolutely beautiful inside and it is modern and yet very cosy. There were lovely views of the fields and it was close enough to Buxton but also we could walk from the cottage and drive short distances to visit lots of places.The owners were friendly, welcoming and helpful and we knew they were at hand if needed. The tea, coffee , milk and biscuits were a nice touch and it was treat staying in a cottage where the shower was hot and powerful, the microwave and oven efficient and up to date and the settees were comfy and modern! The dogs loved the playground field opposite even though the snow got too deep for their little paws.
We will return to stay again as there was so much to do and it was such a delightful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: being able to return to a beautiful cottage at the end of a day, or stay in if the weather was awful
Liked least: Nothing really at all but we did note that there was no washing machine which could be more of problem if you wanted to stay longer .
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickyj44
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, clean and modern cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Arrived in the evening to find a warm, clean cosy cottage and coffee, milk and biscuits etc had been thoughtfully provided. Everything (especially the sofas) was very comfortable and I really couldn't recommend this cottage and location highly enough - we had a wonderful few days and only wish it had been longer, so will definitely look to return next year. The walks are both beautiful and plentiful with lots of lovely places to eat and within a half hour journey into Sheffield - simply perfect and as somebody else has mentioned, the photos really don't do it justice!!! Thank you so much for allowing to stay in your wonderful holiday let. If you are looking for a holiday cottage in the Peak District or within a reasonable drive to Sheffield, I would definitely recommend booking this one.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna A
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely comfortable and cosy cottage with great amenities. It was clean and modern, a real home from home. Wonderful location for great walks, and Buxton and Bakewell are within a short drive. Nice welcoming touches from the owners and it's dog friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbins24...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway, cosy & perfectly formed!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little cottage was everything we hoped for and more, we stayed for 3 nights with our two children. The downstairs lounge and kitchen area was bright and airy with beautiful views and had everything we needed. The bedrooms were more than big enough for our requirements too and had enough storage. There were also chairs and a table outside, on a little patio area, which were perfectly positioned to keep an eye on the kids whilst they played on the playground, which they did as soon as they were dressed in the morning! Peak forest itself is a nice little village and we enjoyed a meal at the local pub, The Devonshire Arms. We also enjoyed trips to nearby Castleton (fantastic underground caverns to visit & Mam Tor to climb) and the pretty towns of Bakewell & Buxton. All in all, a lovely cottage in a lovely area, would thoroughly recommend.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoJoBinks...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed a fabulous few days at this cottage, it was clean and very well maintained and cosy without being claustrophobic. The area is to die for and the park across the road was a big hit with our 6 yr old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom window is clear glass so had to close blind everytime bathroom was in use
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing