We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Skye
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Gorgeous Property

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 19, 2019
My friend and I stayed in the La Fortuna de San Carlos area for several nights. My cousin had part of her honeymoon at Tabacon over 12 years ago, and when I saw the brochure had always dreamed of coming here. Since a nights stay wasn't much more than the two passes we would've had to purchase we decided to be guests of the hotel for the day instead of purchasing the day pass.

The property is beautiful and the staff was so helpful and wonderful. The room is also very nice, modern, and technologically savvy with an iPad you can use to view details about the hotel, view the hotel menus, order room service, see the spa services, etc.

There is a shuttle that brings you from the hotel over to the hot springs and runs every couple of minutes. The staff also offers to call the shuttle for you if you are waiting and let them know. The room comes with robes and umbrellas that you can also use over at the springs. There is also locker storage in the event you want to lock stuff up while you are hot spring bouncing.

There is a buffet style restaurant to get food at. We looked around during dinner and didn't personally want to eat anything there. The main pool by the entrance has a swim up bar as well. We did walk up to Shangri-La Gardens. It was dark and raining when we were exploring, but we personally couldn't see what all the hype was about. There were cute little bungalow beds mostly filled with romantic couples which clearly wasn't our scene on this trip. We moved on very quick as there were only pools and not hot springs from what we could see.

The hot springs are absolutely magical. The force of the water in some literally took me off of our feet. You absolutely SHOULD wear water shoes. You would be crazy not to. You are walking on rocks. Many of which have algae and are slippery not to mention sharp. In one of the springs, the entrance has a huge rock that just drops off. Be very cautious when you are moving through the springs. I knew that rock was there and still managed to hit my poor knee three times even feeling for it as it stuck out lower in places.

The springs were wonderful, breathtaking, and fun. It rained while we were there so I can't tell you how amazing the cold water felt while you are sitting in these natural hot springs out in the jungle. The weather only affected our visit at the very beginning when it was lightning for obvious reasons, but it passed quickly.

I definitely recommend a day pass to the springs but opt staying elsewhere.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded Oct 22, 2019
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$397
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $361
  • Expedia.com
    $404
2.8 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$435
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $435
  • Expedia.com
    $435
  • Priceline
    $435
2.9 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$281
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $285
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Tripadvisor
    $281
5.6 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$126
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.4 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Restaurant
$106
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $106
  • Agoda.com
    $106
  • Vio.com
    $106
3.3 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
$54
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $54
  • Agoda.com
6.3 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
$165
$155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
9.6 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Spa
$573
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $573
  • Hotels.com
    $573
  • Tripadvisor
    $573
1.6 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
$1,453
$1,248
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $1,248
  • Booking.com
    $1,285
2.5 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Fortuna
Reviews (6,762)
Filter reviews
6,762 results
Traveler rating
5,059
1,095
378
131
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,059
1,095
378
131
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs los tucanes hotel guests shangri la gardens costa rica la area orchid room honeymoon suite private area day pass swim up bar breakfast buffet couples massage arenal volcano beautiful resort heaven on earth star resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,825 - 1,830 of 6,762 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

This was the perfect spot for our anniversary trip back in July. The resort was mostly filled with adults and older children. Some people came with small children and while the little ones didn't take away from the experience at all, I would highly recommend the resort for adults only. My little hooligans stayed home, and I'm really glad they did.

We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and had an amazing view of Arenal out the back patio. The room was pristine and we were blown away by the thoughtful touches from the hotel staff throughout our trip. From the anniversary banner for our door, to the wine and strawberries awaiting us upon arrival, everyone in the hotel went above and beyond to make this a special trip for us. We ate at each of the restaurants and bars, and enjoyed all of them. The breakfast spread was so, so delicious, with hot items that changes daily and some authentic options to try out the Costa Rican cuisine. Outside of the included breakfast, is the food expensive? Yes, but it's not more expensive than any other resort that you would stay at, and the quality is top-notch.

The hot springs are a quick shuttle ride over to the other side of the resort and they are really lovely, and the Shangri-La garden, which is an adults only area for hotel guests only, is a really nice touch. I didn't find the hot springs to be overcrowded at all (we traveled in July -
not the peak travel season) and I loved the option of going into the pools OR the springs. The pool on the hotel side of the resort was practically empty so we got good use out of it as well. I do wish that that particular pool was open later, though I understand that because the restaurant overlooks it, it might take away from the ambience at night.

All this being said, our favorite experience of our entire trip was the Ephemeral Table dining experience. O. M. G. We splurged on this to celebrate our 10th anniversary and it was like no other dining experience that I have ever had. My husband and I were taken to a private cabana somewhere on the property, and had a six course meal prepared for us, complete with wine/beer pairings, by a private chef. Each course of the meal was completely divine, and then at the end of the meal, they left us with time to enjoy the serenity of the location, and played soft music for us to dance. We were blown away. It was worth every penny!!

We cannot wait to get back to Tabacon!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank yosoylalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed your visit as well as our facilities and services. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

We stayed one night to enjoy the spa and hotel. Hotel is nice but the spa takes the cake. Beautiful. The area in the back for hotel guests only is nice but a day pass to the spa would be just as nice. There were monkeys in the trees in the evening, water is perfect, warm. grounds are beautiful and the food is good.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank NvrBnHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you consider our spa to be absolutely gorgeous. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

From the moment you arrive the staff are so friendly and cant do enough to make your stay one you will never forget. The hotel is amazing but the hot springs are something else. If you get the chance to go do as the setting of the Hot springs is beautiful beyond your wildest imagination. I just hope I get to return one day.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Christian250872
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. We appreciate your review and hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2019

i would highly recommend. we had an amazing dinner at Tocanes and we are foodies! the food and beverage isn't inexpensive, but we really enjoyed every course including some new wine we had never tried. Shangrila gardens is amazing.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, General Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We are glad to read you had a fantastic time. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

The best hotel in Costa Rica for sure - Tabacon is definitely perfect.
The staff was amazing, highly professional, helped with anything that we wanted and beyond and didn't let us do anything beside relaxing!
The room was super clean and really big. We had a garden behind our room that we could access.
We had a useful tablet in our room with all the information that we needed about the place.
You can move around the place using a shuttles, and it's really comfortable and fast.
The shower was well equipped, even with things that you not really expecting like disposable razors.

Tabacon has few resturants that you can choose from and all fo them are fantastic and really tasty - don't miss the volcanic stone at "Los Tucanes", that's crazy!
On one of the nights we took the Ephemeral Dinner option (private dinning) which was absolotly one of a life time experience, and we even got a small souvenir.

The spa is incredible with professional masseuse, everything is well organized and you can even select one out of 3 oils smells that going to be used during your massage.

Room tip: Try to get room with a view to Arenal volcano
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eladleev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, General Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear alued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. At the same time, it's fantastic to read you even had the chance to try our Ephemeral Table Dinner and that it was absolutely one of a life time experience. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Sittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews