We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christian
United Kingdom

One of the best

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 16, 2019
From the moment you arrive the staff are so friendly and cant do enough to make your stay one you will never forget. The hotel is amazing but the hot springs are something else. If you get the chance to go do as the setting of the Hot springs is beautiful beyond your wildest imagination. I just hope I get to return one day.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review
Responded Oct 16, 2019
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. We appreciate your review and hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$397
  • Expedia.com
    $404
  • Vio.com
    $348
  • Priceline
    $505
2.8 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$435
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $436
  • Hotels.com
    $435
  • Priceline
    $435
2.9 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$285
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $285
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Tripadvisor
    $285
5.6 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$126
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
3.4 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Restaurant
$106
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $106
  • Priceline
    $106
  • Vio.com
    $106
3.3 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
$54
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $54
  • Agoda.com
    $54
6.3 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
$166
$155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Tripadvisor
    $155
9.6 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Spa
$573
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $573
  • Agoda.com
    $498
  • Hotels.com
    $573
1.6 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
$1,246
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $1,285
  • Expedia.com
    $1,245
  • Priceline
    $1,285
2.5 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $268
  • Expedia.com
    $309
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in La Fortuna
Reviews (6,762)
Filter reviews
6,762 results
Traveler rating
5,059
1,095
378
131
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,059
1,095
378
131
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs los tucanes hotel guests shangri la gardens costa rica la area orchid room honeymoon suite private area day pass swim up bar breakfast buffet couples massage arenal volcano beautiful resort heaven on earth star resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,828 - 1,833 of 6,762 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2019

i would highly recommend. we had an amazing dinner at Tocanes and we are foodies! the food and beverage isn't inexpensive, but we really enjoyed every course including some new wine we had never tried. Shangrila gardens is amazing.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, General Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We are glad to read you had a fantastic time. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

The best hotel in Costa Rica for sure - Tabacon is definitely perfect.
The staff was amazing, highly professional, helped with anything that we wanted and beyond and didn't let us do anything beside relaxing!
The room was super clean and really big. We had a garden behind our room that we could access.
We had a useful tablet in our room with all the information that we needed about the place.
You can move around the place using a shuttles, and it's really comfortable and fast.
The shower was well equipped, even with things that you not really expecting like disposable razors.

Tabacon has few resturants that you can choose from and all fo them are fantastic and really tasty - don't miss the volcanic stone at "Los Tucanes", that's crazy!
On one of the nights we took the Ephemeral Dinner option (private dinning) which was absolotly one of a life time experience, and we even got a small souvenir.

The spa is incredible with professional masseuse, everything is well organized and you can even select one out of 3 oils smells that going to be used during your massage.

Room tip: Try to get room with a view to Arenal volcano
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eladleev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, General Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2019

Dear alued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our services and facilities. At the same time, it's fantastic to read you even had the chance to try our Ephemeral Table Dinner and that it was absolutely one of a life time experience. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Sittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Tabacon was absolutely fantastic!! We did as much research as we could to find the right fit during our stay near Arenal/ La Fortuna and Tabacon was the clear winner and met all of our needs and then some! Their staff is on point and genuinely friendly. The included breakfast is one of the best breakfast buffets we have ever experienced. The hot springs were spectacular and definitely worth the price point. Tabacon is truly a gem and we cannot wait to go back!

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed the genuinely friendly service of our team. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

Excellent room with great food. Hot springs were amazing with excellent facility’s and staff.

Reception service was almost too good, Felt rushed and overwhelmed at times.

Review was needing 200 characters so here they are.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank acmz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate your review and hope you are already planning to visit us again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

Fantastic facility, service, staff and beautifully designed hot spring area. Loved it but wouldn’t stay again as the food in the two restaurants and at bar is either Italian or universally available (burgers, steak, onion rings, fries etc.). The only Costa Rican food at buffet are side orders of beans or rice. The al a carte restaurant is Italian. Would be nice to see some traditional food on the menu. The bar doesn’t have many of the local beers on their menu in stock either - about 10 listed, 2 available. We like to support local business where possible and try new things - we can get a corona and burger at home!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank dawn7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Hello Dawn7163,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed your visit. In regarding to our Costa Rican food options, In our restaurant Ave del Paraiso during lunch time we offer an à la carte menu within which we have an exclusive section of some typical Costa Rican dishes, so that our visitors can enjoy some local optons. In regarding to our local beers,we offer IPava and Kapi Kapi craft beers, produced in the area by a small craft brewery company, so that our visitors can enjoy exclusive local beer from our hotel. We appreciate your review as well as your details you shared with us. We would love to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews