We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“School Reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland
Ranked #3 of 5 Whangaroa B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“School Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A slice of paradise. Fantastic place to stay, wonderful views, excellent hosts. Told our grown up children it was the only place to go for a special treat. Wow. The Lodge is situated high up on the side of hillside, the area is well planted in native fauna and we were able to observe pheasants and native birds from the deck. The views of the harbour and surrounding area were also magnificent from the deck. I would definitely choose the to stay there again if I had to go back to Whangaroa. I thought that the pool and hot tub were a great idea considering that the harbour was only 3 minutes away. Definitely a special place to stay

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the first corner of the deck on the North side facing the Whangaroa ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamati1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased at how well our native plantings are growing....we sourced most of the plants locally so that has helped them establish well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pago Pago, American Samoa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited Waimanu Lodge last week and didn't want to leave. It was luxurious and spacious, and we felt like we were on our honeymoon again. The views were breathtaking, and there was so much to do in the area.
The accommodation could not have been better. Judy communicated with us and answered all of our questions before we came. There was free wi-fi so that we could Skype the kids, laundry facilities, free movies and treats, and the breakfast was delicious. We cannot think of anything that could have been improved. It was an absolutely perfect place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 242HelenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thankyou ever so much for your review. We love it that you enjoyed staying with us. We gain a lot of pleasure from having the privileged ability to be able to share our beautiful location with other people around the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights towards end of March & had the most relaxing holiday ever (helped along with my husband's broken ankle in plaster). But what a great place to be ... everything imaginable - deck area with chairs & loungers, swimming pool, spa, BBQ, Sky TV, DVDs, books, mags, games, fluffy bathrobes, free wifi and more importantly lovely clean self contained accommodation so no need to leave if you don't want to ... just relax & enjoy the stunning views. We had a mixed bag of weather but you can still enjoy eating out on the covered portion of the deck rain or shine. Shaun & Judy are wonderful hosts, with generous breakfast portions supplied in fridge and yummy treats left for the evening (a lovely touch). Waimanu Lodge is perfectly positioned should you wish to travel to Kerikeri or further up North. Manganui is great for fish & chips and also highly recommend The Thai Chef. Kerikeri has plenty of restaurants/cafes and while there, go to Living Nature for a facial or massage - much cheaper than Auckland ! Overall Waimanu Lodge is fantastic and is highly recommended. Thanks Shaun & Judy for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simo-jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write your great review. It is very pleasing to know that our guests enjoy our property and area as much as we do :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights up to March1st. It was a wonderful relaxation - we used the pool, the hot tub, the BBQ. The room was spacious, the hosts were charming, leaving breakfast in the fridge overnight including homemade yoghurt. They also provided homemade biscuits during the day, chocolates , and marshmallows!

We walked up to St Paul's Rock directly from the property with amazing vies of the harbour and sea.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flatcalm, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write this positive review. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at many places during our travels throughout New Zealand but this accommodation wins hands down. Shaun & Judy have thought of everything to make their guests as comfortable as possible; bathrobes, books, magazines, DVDs, local information, maps, binoculars and even marshmallows! Free wifi, guest laundry and late check out time were also welcome considerations. Breakfast (left in the fridge) was delicious and plentiful. The house is tucked away up on a hillside so own transport is essential. There is a private hot tub, swimming pool and BBQ on the terrace and the views are truly spectacular. Shaun & Judy couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and we only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loobyloo-Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waimanulodge, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to place your review. Very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in September, after a couple of nights at Kauri Cliffs - and regretted the time spent at Kauri Cliffs.

This place is only 20 minutes away from Kauri Cliffs - so an easy drive if you plan to play golf there. Very hard to beat the price difference ($150 vs $1,900 per night at KC) - and the views from Waimanu were breathtaking - plus very professional, friendly hosts.

Fine dining is not provided - but the Whangaroa Game Fishing Club cafe down the hill provides some good options - recommend their green lipped mussels and the fish and chips (which is superior to the Famous Fish & chips Cafe at Manganui). Hosts Shaun and Judy recommended the Ake Ake Vineyard restaurant at Keri Keri (20 minutes drive) which was excellent - highly recommended.

Whangaroa Harbour was a good base for us to explore the surrounding areas of Keri Keri, Bay of Islands, Doubtless Bay and Manganui village - taking an average of 20 to 30 minutes to reach by car. Cape Reinga (the northern tip of NZ) took a bit longer - about 1.5 to 2 hours to get there - but was well worth the drive. Pauls Rock is right next to Waimanu lodge - just 200 metres to the top of the rock - and well worth the climb to the top with 360 degree views.

Waimanu lodge offers great privacy and special homely comforts, such as the daily homemade cookies, marshmallows, lavender sachet under the pillows, plush robes and a very reasonably priced mini bar, a generous continental breakfast, including a selection of cereals, stewed fruits, yoghurt, breads, jams, honey and plunger coffee and a very extensive selection of teas. Free internet and clothes washing facilities were very welcome additional offerings.

The weather was a bit temperamental during our stay - pouring one minute...calm and sunny the next. So we didn't get the chance to use the hot tub, pool or bbq - but we still really enjoyed our stay at Waimanu lodge and have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Guaranteed privacy if you're booking on your own or as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flatcalm, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thankyou for the great review......wow, we haven't been put up against Kauri Cliffs before :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

A few days in one place at the end of a four week trip to South and North Islands and we picked the perfect spot. Relaxed, fantastic view, great facilities esp the pool and spa. Locally a trip around the harbour is hard to beat. Our hosts were particularly helpful. A spot to be reccommended without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flatcalm, Owner at Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thankyou for taking the time to write your review.....much appreciated. Have been watching the UK programme "Three in a Bed". Makes me smile :) They are brave B&B owners to participate but great advertising for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaroa
0.1 mi away
Sunseeker Lodge
Sunseeker Lodge
#1 of 1 in Whangaroa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cavalli Beach House Retreat
9.0 mi away
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
#1 of 1 in Matauri Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Waiwurrie Coastal Farm Lodge
16.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
12.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland

Property: Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland
Address: 76a Old Hospital Road | Whangaroa Harbour, Whangaroa 0478, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangaroa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whangaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waimanu Lodge, luxury self-contained boutique holiday accommodation in Whangaroa Harbour, Northland NZ. We are located halfway between the Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga, in a very special spot (just below St Paul's Rock Scenic Reserve) high above the Whangaroa Harbour with magnificent views. A private and peaceful retreat in which to unwind and relax away from it all. Our Northland holiday accommodation is purpose built and comprises two modern self contained studio suites opening directly out onto a lounging deck, private spa and swimming pool, all with expansive harbour views. Although we are listed under BnB/Inns in Trip Advisor, we do not provide breakfast.(Limited categories to choose from). Waimanu Lodge is located in Whangaroa Harbour Northland New Zealand. We are 30km north of Kerikeri, between the Bay of Islands (Paihia, Kerikeri, Waitangi) and Doubtless Bay (Mangonui, Coopers Beach, Cable Bay, Karikari Peninsula) in Northland NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing