We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coastal Chalet Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Whangaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for two nights over Christmas. We were spending the remaining trip in a car, so we thought that we should allow ourselves a couple of nights of luxury. And we got it. From the welcome of Jon and Beth, everything was perfect. Everything was taken care of, everything was thought of. The spa was running, there was fresh drinks i the cooler, the kitchen big and spacious to cook the christmas dinner, the king size bed huge and comfortable. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful and luxurious christmas :)

Room Tip: Suit B has the spa with lakeside view, but Suit C definetely was gorgeous as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Malte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you m+a for your review - it was great for jon + I to share CCS with such lovely people over Xmas - take care - b+j :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 112 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon. It was like a home away from home, lots of space, great kitchen, super comfortable chairs and blankets, huge collection of DVDs. Despite all this, it was cheaper than anywhere else we stayed on our trip. The location was great, about 35 mins from the supermarkets in Keri Keri but smaller shops, take-aways and amazing beaches within 15mins drive. Of course, the highlight is the deck overlooking Whangaroa Harbour, complete with a hot tub!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank teegs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much t + c for your great review - I am really pleased you extended your stay with us
and hope the rest of your honeymoon was 'perfect' - take care - b+j :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Would highly recommend Coastal Chalet Suites. Beautiful place to stay. Best accommodation we have stayed at with great advice on where to go kayaking when it was really windy! Stay there You will love it

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tonia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you T + K for such a wonderful review - we hope to see you back with your kayaks in the future - take care b+j :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at Suite C for our honeymoon last week, and we were very pleased to have chosen CCS. We stayed for five nights, and we arrived to nice music playing, chocolates, strawberries and bubbly!

It is a very quiet location, but also there are sights near enough to make day trips to, such as the beautiful Tauranga Bay and Mangonui. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the suite, and Beth & Jon had a fabulous selection of DVDs to choose from. There was also a very nice barbecue, which we made use of one night - would be awesome in the summer months! The kitchen has all the equipment you need.

One small thing that we didn't quite like were the nighttime noises - I think the fridge was a little noisy, and now and then there was a clicking noise? But this was pretty minor stuff. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: Suite C is very private, perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nealak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you so much N + T for your review - Jon and I wish you lots of love and laughs - take care - b :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My Husband and I stayed in suite C on for two nights. We were celebrating our anniversary. Everything that we needed was provided with care and attention to detail. The kitchen was well equipped and the bed was super comfy. The highlight was definitely the spa bath with an extraordinary view. Very Romantic! Sundowners in the tub with a view- Bliss. We also loved the gorgeous Alpacas! Our hostess, Beth, was super friendly and kind. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi B + L - thank you for your lovely review. Jon and I really appreciate you taking the time to write it for us. We are very lucky to be able to share our little piece of Whangaroa. The best of luck with your new venture. b+j :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Coastal Chalet Suites is a wonderful place. Beth and Jon see to your every need! and we were greeted each morning by two friendly Alpacas. The hot tub waiting in the evening was a great retreat. The Chalet is located close to Kauri Cliffs golf course, so it you are planning a golf trip, I highly recommend you stay here. The scenery is beautiful, and you will be pampered discretely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

L + F - thank you so much for your review - Jon and I really enjoyed having you guys around CCS.
NZ may become a 'twice in a lifetime trip'! - enjoy your golf - take care - b+j

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a rather long drive from Wellington we arrived in the evening to candles, chocolates and wine, with music playing and the spa pool ready to go! Everything was thoughtfully done and well presented. We had planned to visit various attractions in the north and Coastal Chalet Suites was a great base point as well as being complete luxury! Highly recommend suite C and thank you again to Beth and Jon for their excellent communication when booking and their lovely hospitality.

Room Tip: Suite C was fantastic for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBrown013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you L+J for your excellent review and your 'like' on FB - we are so glad that you enjoyed CCS and exploring Northland. Staying 4 nights allowed you guys to investigate and relax as well.
Take Care until your next visit - b+j :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangaroa hotels
1.9 mi away
Sunseeker Lodge
Sunseeker Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaroa
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waimanu Lodge Whangaroa Northland
1.6 mi away
Prima a Situ
Prima a Situ
#4 of 5 in Whangaroa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Chalet Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Chalet Suites

Address: 348 Wainui Road, Whangaroa 0478, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whangaroa
Price Range: $110 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Chalet Suites - pet friendly boutique accomodation which sit on 5 acres of secluded rural farmland with harbour views. Situated on one of New Zealand's most scenic drives from Whangaroa to Matauri Bay, just north of the Bay of Islands. CCS makes an ideal base for exploring Northland or perhaps just relax and unwind in your fully equipped suite - there is no need to go anywhere simply enjoy the stunning views. Facilities include private decks all with spas and BBQs , King size beds, WiFi, TV, DVDs and friendly farm animals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coastal Chalet Suites Whangaroa, Northland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing