We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangaroa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coastal Chalet Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Whangaroa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Having been recommended to stay at the Coastal Chalet suites we were not disappointed and were very impressed with the awesome views and wonderful hospitality extended to us by our hosts Beth & Jon. A beautiful place with panaromic views and absolute privacy as we sipped a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc in a welcoming spa overlooking the bay. Glorious and to be highly recommended!
Zoe & Murray Perth Western Australia

Room Tip: suite C is ideal for older visitors while the suite A is great for families and honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello z+m, thank you so much for your review. Jon and I are so pleased you got to share our part of Godsown!!! Take Care - b+j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
83
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KeriKeri
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I are from Canada and we had the pleasure of staying at the Coastal Chalets in March. We have traveled from the Christchurch to the top of the north island and found this the most beautiful accommodations nestled in hillside.
The stunning views and how warmly Beth and Jon welcomed us it feel like we were in heaven. Every suit has wonderful views
Peacefull earth tones along with all the wood gave it a cosy feel.
The attention to detail and the quality was evident and our suite was immaculate.
We highly recommend these private chalets to all our friends in Canada and anyone traveling or have a inspiring holiday aahh three days would spoil you to want to never leave. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
What a wonderful review, thank you so much. Jon and I have heard "we don't want to leave' before and it's good for our souls! I know we will meet again, in Fiji maybe, or some exotic place. All the very best with your adventures. I am truly inspired by you both and we are so pleased we met you - take care b+j :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaroa
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A warm welcoming atmosphere, the personal touches that made us feel special, and a peaceful relaxing environment. Suite C is a luxury accommodation with quality facilities. Beth and Jon are genuine, friendly hosts - we highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for such a quick review - Jon and I really enjoyed meeting you both.
I also loved the 'special' touches you left for us (which I explained in your email). I know we will see you again - b+j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed here many times under previous ownership and was concerned that the standard might have gone down. It hasn't! Beth & Jon have done a great job and this remains top of my list in New Zealand. Suite C is perfectly situated with fantastic views, is wonderfully peaceful and excellently equipped. If you're looking for a peaceful stay this is THE place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your prompt review Chris. It was lovely to see you return to CCS. Jon and look forward to your next visit. All the best with your book - b+j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here two times last year. Both times Beth and Jon provided excellent customer service. The room is great. We arrived late and found that the heater had been going to warm up the room! Great views, close to KeriKeri for all your shopping needs. They have everything you need in the suite to just relax and switch off for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation of CCS and your review Rory.
Hope to see you both over winter - b+j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you forget to bring something, don't worry, as you will probably find it in your room. Every little detail was taken care of. We just loved our stay and recommend it to all people whether you are a family, couple or business people. Very friendly owners, a great spot to drive from and see the sights, and some lovely animals to watch. Not to mention the beautiful gardens. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much k+n for your response. Love the photo's, the reflection is awesome.
Hopefully, we will see you on your next wedding anniversary! - take care b+j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gracemere
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This delightful Place was our first real night of our holiday apart from the dash from the airport hotel in Auckland as we arrived. I always let my husband research the places we stay and he manages to seek and find some real treasures. Well he excelled himself here.It may be a bit of a drive to get there but every minute was worth it. The view is absorbing and the chalet provides everything you could possibly need including comfort. John and Beth are lovely, warm and welcoming . If it's a French restaurant around the corner you're looking for ,,,forget it...but the fish at the local harbour fishing club was fresh and delicious. The view at Breakfast on the verandah with the morning mist floating through the valley and a lone cow bellowing was just so serene and restful. This is five star accommodation at a 3 star price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonbeth, Owner at Coastal Chalet Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much J + W for your review. The air is fresh here, and even fresher when we can
'share' our little piece of Northland. Keep on caring for all those animals. Take Care - b+j
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaroa
1.8 mi away
Sunseeker Lodge
Sunseeker Lodge
#1 of 1 in Whangaroa
27 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cavalli Beach House Retreat
1.6 mi away
Prima a Situ
Prima a Situ
#4 of 5 in Whangaroa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Chalet Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Chalet Suites

Property: Coastal Chalet Suites
Address: 348 Wainui Road, Whangaroa 0478, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangaroa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whangaroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coastal Chalet Suites - pet friendly boutique accomodation which sit on 5 acres of secluded rural farmland with harbour views. Situated on one of New Zealand's most scenic drives from Whangaroa to Matauri Bay, just north of the Bay of Islands. CCS makes an ideal base for exploring Northland or perhaps just relax and unwind in your fully equipped suite - there is no need to go anywhere simply enjoy the stunning views. Facilities include private decks all with spas and BBQs , King size beds, WiFi, TV, DVDs and friendly farm animals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coastal Chalet Suites Whangaroa, Northland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing