We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, excellent service, very comfortable”
Review of Downs View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upper Beeding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downs View B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Thundersley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hosts, excellent service, very comfortable”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Anyone who wants to run a B&B should stay here and pick up tips from Lesley and Ron. Nothing is too much trouble for them and guests are very much made to feel at home; breakfasts and packed lunches are superb; rooms are spacious, very well equipped/decorated and spotlessly clean; we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoffandGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
83
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We used Downs View as a base for 5 nights as we walked the Eastern end of the South Downs way. Lesley & Ron couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, helping us find taxis, booking a table for us at the King Head (can recommend this). Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean and comfortable. It lacked nothing. Breakfast was first class with a good varied selection especially the home made bread and jams. All in all just about the best B&B we have ever stayed in. We will revisit as we are very interested to see Ron's Greek wall in all it's glory. Thanks Lesley & Ron

Room Tip: Just choose a colour and you will be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very comfortable, high-specification rooms and excellent cooked-to-order breakfast using great ingredients. The owners bend over backwards to make sure your stay is as good as it can be. We often stay here and arrive late - a take-away in the dining room is no trouble.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending the Big Church Day Out at Wiston Hall and found it to be the best guest house we have stayed at in the UK. The room was lovely, a very comfortable bed and spotlessly clean with a TV and generous drinks facilities. The bathroom was beautiful with all the lovely toiletries you could wish for. The room was very quiet and we slept very well. The full English breakfast was very well cooked and I tried this and both fish options which were delicious. Lesley and Ron were the perfect hosts and we felt very welcome in their home. We met some very nice people who were also attending the same event and Lesley kindly offered to book us in for next year, which we did. It was close enough to the event and close enough to travel further in to Brighton. I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough. Thank you for a perfect stay.

Room Tip: All the colour themed rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived here wet and mud-spattered from the South Downs Way. Lesley welcomed us warmly and offered to put my trousers and socks in the dryer. A little while later I found them washed and dried and folded; she'd decided they needed more than drying. I would never have asked but was very grateful for her consideration. And our stay continued in the same vein. Our room was comfortable and the bathroom, built by Ron, was beautifully thought through so that everything we needed was there--including enough hooks to hang things. Breakfast included home made bread and jam, which was a first. We would be happy to return to Downs View and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: They all seemed to be on the same high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Some places are so good you don't want to share them in case you can't get in next time the opportunity arises to revisit. This is one of those places but in fairness to Lesley and Ron I should be shouting from the top of the Downs that this is the best B&B ever. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and equipped with everything you would wish to have. The welcome is second to none and the attention to detail was appreciated. Home cooked treats were very welcome. We were attending a wedding and booked two rooms. Both were wonderful. Great food, a good nights sleep and brilliant conversation. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: They are all good. Be specific about your needs i.e bath or shower, easy access etc. all can be acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowever15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Arrived at 7pm after a 25 mile hike along the South Downs Way from Rodmell to the B&B that has a 99.9% 'excellent' rating. Nobody gets that kind of acclaim I thought to myself ... before ringing my wife and telling her that this was the best B&B that I'd ever stayed in. Leaving aside the comfortable room which felt like I was in a decent hotel (multiple shampoos, soaps, tea tray items and the like), the breakfast was extensive (eyes bigger than stomach) with welsh rarebit and Sussex smokies in the menu in addition to - but a welcome change from - the usual fried and continental breakfast options. Home made bread, jams and muffins ensured that I left Downs View heavier than I arrived. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Beeding
0.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
9.4 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
372 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
765 reviews
2.0 mi away
YHA Truleigh Hill
YHA Truleigh Hill
#1 of 1 in Shoreham-by-Sea
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downs View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downs View B&B

Property: Downs View B&B
Address: St. Austell High Street, Upper Beeding BN44 3TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Upper Beeding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modern, family run B&B (as featured on Channel 5's "To B&B The Best")in Upper Beeding, located between Brighton & Worthing, conveniently close to The South Downs Way & Monarch's Way. Parking is available for those guests arriving by car or bike, and secure storage for cycles is also available. Prices range from £65 (Single in twin room) to £150 (Family of 4). Lesley & Ron look forward to welcoming you to Downs View. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing