We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly.”
Review of Downs View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upper Beeding
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Downs View B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very friendly.”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We were pleased with the large well equipped rooms. Everything was well decorated, clean and to a good standard. Excellent breakfasts and I would recommend the packed lunches too! Great location for exploring the South Downs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
84
19
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Top quality rooms and service. Free WiFi.
Superb breakfasts, friendly service.
All day free coffee in dining room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Lesley and Ron provide everything that a traveller might want. A warm welcome,most attractive room, comfortable beds, excellent en suite facilities, everything spotless, a quiet environment, excellent breakfast and free access to internet.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliftonNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Looking very ordinary from the well-travelled street, the Downs View was unexpectedly roomy, exceptionally well-maintained, and had several unique aspects that made it a treat. The apparently British penchant for naming the bedrooms of a B and B after the predominant color of the decor reigned supreme here, and we found a Lot of Lavender in the room of that name -- right down to the rather garish rim around the bathroom mirror that lit up when one's hand passed in front of it. Interesting....but it was, indeed, the first time I could see to put on my make-up at night on the entire trip! But that's a quibble -- the room and the bathroom were both extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and obviously designed with care by the owners themselves. And they, themselves, were the hit of the place -- he, especially, gave new meaning to the words "effusive" and "gregarious, regaling us with tales not only of the renovations he'd done totally himself (and most skillfully, evidently), but of his trip that Sunday to a Brighton motorcycle rally. He was a true original. His wife was clearly the behind-the-scenes partner, and prepared a lovely breakfast (even accommodating our strange combinations of food choices), and lunch packed for the road. We totally admired the industry and creativity shown by these folks and would highly recommend their efforts.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had to go to brighton for funeral and searched the internet for accomadation but the hotels were very expensive plus the fact no parking or extortionate charges for the parking.
Downs view is a little way out of Brighton but this is more than compensated for by the excellant accomadation and hospitality of Lesley and a Husband. They have thought of everything even down to scissors on the table to open the sauses.The breakfast is very good and the rooms are lovely. Would stay there again and recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed in the Green room. Beautifully appointed. Big bed, fabulous bathroom. Lots of towels. Spotlessly clean.
Nothing was too much trouble for Ron and Leslie
breakfast was perfectly cooked
Homely relaxed atmosphere.
Definitely recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

There's so many positive things to say about this B+B! Just had a really nice stay for 2 nights here. Wonderfully well kitted out B+B - clean and tidy room (the Blue Room), big bed, wonderful big bath, lots of hot water, fabulous breakfast (the sausages are GREAT), wide screen PC with printer and internet access so you can book flights and print boarding passes. Ron and Lesley are really friendly and helpful. I forgot a jacket, and Ron kindly lent me one of his - and we pitched up too early for breakfast on the Sunday, but they weren't phased at all.

I was worried that the petrol station next door would be open all night - but it's not, so you get a nice peaceful night's sleep! There are really good restaurants within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance - try the Kings Head and the local Chinese place - excellent food.

Highly recommended - a really good high quality place to stay. I will DEFINITELY be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightBeABitLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upper Beeding
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
13.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
804 reviews
2.0 mi away
YHA Truleigh Hill
YHA Truleigh Hill
#1 of 1 in Shoreham-by-Sea
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downs View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downs View B&B

Property: Downs View B&B
Address: St. Austell High Street, Upper Beeding BN44 3TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Upper Beeding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Upper Beeding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a modern, family run B&B (as featured on Channel 5's "To B&B The Best")in Upper Beeding, located between Brighton & Worthing, conveniently close to The South Downs Way & Monarch's Way. Parking is available for those guests arriving by car or bike, and secure storage for cycles is also available. Prices range from £65 (Single in twin room) to £150 (Family of 4). Lesley & Ron look forward to welcoming you to Downs View. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing