We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for light sleepers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Pigeons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Pigeons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for light sleepers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The room was beautiful but as it was a windy night the windows rattled and blew the blinds against the ledge. I wedged paper in the window's to try to get some sleep. Then the church bells rung on the hour from across the road. Woke up feeling like id not had any sleep.
The hotel was very clean but the toilet lid had been broken off and left unfixed against the wall. I know im being picky here but the toilet brush was not a pretty site and couldn't help wishing it was the variety that is hidden and not in view.
The breakfast was very good and the lady who served us was a lovely lady.
I would stay here again but definitely not in the room I had I would get the garden room far way from the bells and rickety old windows!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrylouise32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Blue Pigeons!

I'm so sorry that you didn't get a good nights sleep and although we can't do anything about the bells due to it being an old village tradition we are looking at replacing the original sash windows with something glazed to limit the noise.

Thank you also for the positive feedback and apologies once again for the maintenance issue which has since been resolved.

I'm so pleased that you would consider visiting us again and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future!

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & The Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    27
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
63
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here recently and will stay here again next time. Lovely friendly B&B, great food, nice bar. Rooms clean and comfortable. The big surly barmans jokes were a bit off though, I'm sure there was tumbleweed rolling through the bar at some of them. Would thoroughly recommend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Smockleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Blue Pigeons!

Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & The Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

As a business working in the area for 6 months we were in need of accommodation that was great value and understanding of our business needs. Emma offered us a very reasonable rate and we have been very satisfied with the quality of service your staff have provided over the last few months, I sincerely appreciate the responsiveness and flexibility with our ever changing requests. I know all the guys that stayed with you were made welcome and being away from home so much, the hospitality they received from you made the travelling much easier.

Thanks again and we will be using you in future as and when business brings us there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenC7827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Helen

Thank you so much for your complimentary review! We've enjoyed looking after your guys and they have been a pleasure to have stay here with us!

Look forward to a long working relationship between our two businesses!

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & The Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night before my sister in laws wedding the next day, the staff couldn't do enough for us, the rooms were plush and modern and so comfy and the food was very reasonably priced and delicious, nice homely cottage feel and a nice lively bar if you want to socialise with other people staying there and a few of the lovely locals!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Katie,

Thank you very much for your lovely review - I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us before such a special occasion!

I have passed your positive comments on to my staff and my locals :)

I hope that should you be visiting the area again you would consider coming back to stay here with us!

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & The Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

my wife and I both enjoyed our weekend stay ,at a family party in the Blue Pigeons,lovely people..lovely food...lovely bedroom..what else can you ask for....was I the first to ever play the Great Highland Bagpipe in the bar....would like to think so..!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buntline1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
What a fantastic end to a brilliant birthday celebration and although you were the first bagpiper we've had in our bar I hope you will not be the last!!

Thank you for choosing The Blue Pigeons as the venue for your special event and I'm so happy that you enjoyed everything!

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have to say firstly that I was a little put off by the exterior which has been painted in a very dark, almost depressing colour. However, the minute I walked through the door any reservations that I had disappeared immediately! This is a warm, friendly inviting guest house that is beautifully presented in every way. It is a gorgeous building which has been tastefully decorated with a lot of care and thought put into the detail, wherever you turned, resulting in a very impressive interior combined with a fantastic garden. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house to any one!!

Room Tip: Just keep the window closed to avoid being woken up by the church bells from across the road, on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, I'm really pleased you weren't put off by our exterior and enjoyed your stay here with us!! It's really great to hear you will be recommending us also.

We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed 3 days at the beginning of August, Worth is a charming village. Nice spacious room, very comfortable with a big bathroom with a separate bath and shower. Appears to have been done up very recently as everything was nearly new. Clock chiming on the hour was the only slight annoyance.

Breakfast was excellent in the nice dining room. The pub itself is also very good with a big garden and tables outside and at the front, perfect for the summer. A moderate beer selection, the food is quite good with massive portions.

We found some excellent restaurants in Sandwich which is only just over a mile away. Also visited broadstairs which is a nice seaside town with a sandy beach and Kingsgate Beach which was excellent and the best Sandy beach we saw.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJHutson, Manager at The Blue Pigeons, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Blue Pigeons and for taking the time to review your stay!

Feedback is very important to us and we appreciate that the Church Bells can be annoying to some of our guests particularly those who are light sleepers. I'm pleased this only caused you both a slight annoyance and that you enjoyed everything else during your visit with us!

i hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emma, Rob & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worth
1.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
15.4 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
11.6 mi away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Pigeons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Pigeons

Property: The Blue Pigeons
Address: The Blue Pigeons The Street, Worth, Sandwich CT14 0DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich > Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Pigeons 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run business set in a beautiful Georgian building with an acre of gardens. Situated in the idyllic village of Worth, Kent. Offering a choice of 6 fabulous rooms to choose from and also a bar and brasserie for you to enjoy during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Blue Pigeons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Pigeons Worth, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing