We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a flashy pub full of tourists don't stop.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horeke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horeke Tavern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Horeke B&B and Inns
Christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you want a flashy pub full of tourists don't stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Mum( 78 years) and I came across this hotel purely by chance as we were exploring the Hokianga Harbour. We pulled in at opening hour and were greeted by the friendly owner - Marlene. Mum wanted to sit outside but to get out of the wind we needed to sit on a different deck. Unbeknown to us this was the owners private deck, however we were offered seating once we walked through their private quarters and shown to the sunny deck. Marlene is delightful, very friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. If you want a spruced up place, full of tourists don't bother stopping, however if you want to visit a quintessential New Zealand pub, then you couldn't do better than this. The setting is truly out of this world - probably because it is so tranquil, on the edge of the harbour, and not a white sports shoe is sight! OK the pub is tired, but this is life in the Hokianga. We could have stayed all day. Marlene pointed out that we should visit the Mangungu Mission Station, which we did, and found this so fascinating, as we had only heard about the first part of the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mymagicroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived 30/12/2012 for two nights, two couples. Fantastic view of Hokianga Harbour, close to Wairere Boulders and historic Mangungu Mission. A bit tired(eg, peeling paint, stained carpet, shower plug drained too slowly, wash basin's hot tap not working) and we got the impression that the tavern's staff are unused to guests staying overnight, but they are so friendly & helpful that they more than made up for it. No in-room coffee/tea but available from big urn in nearby room downstairs.

Room Tip: Downstairs room suffered from biting insects at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Horeke Tavern is a historic gem. It is the oldest pub in New Zealand and has been built with the help of Cannibal Jack, the first white settler in the Hokianga. Stepback in time and meet the friendly locld for a drinkand a game of pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WairereBouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This out of the way place is the oldest pub in NZ and well worth the journey out of the way to enjoy the location. We reccomend visiting during the day when you can truly appreciate the location right on the water.
Good pub food and their local brew is worth tasting. They do have accom. however we did not use it as we had a campervan.
If you are looking for free camping they are happy to let you stay in the car park however we reccomend going down the road to the site of the mission and there is a park on the right just on the edge of the water that was a wonderful place to free camp.

Room Tip: dont stay just drink and enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horeke
16.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
15.2 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
15.5 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Waiotemarama Falls Lodge
Show Prices

Been to Horeke Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horeke Tavern Hotel

Property: Horeke Tavern Hotel
Address: 2118 Horeke Road | Hokianga Harbour, Horeke, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Horeke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Horeke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing