We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Funky Fish - CLOSED

Funky Fish
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were staying in Baylys Beach Caravan park for a week whilst attending a local sporting comprtition. My friend and I had a lovely lunch at the Funky Fish and recommended it to the rest of our party of nine friends for tea that night. Again a lovely meal was had by all. We all decided to eat here again two nights later (Sunday) after a long day attending and competing in a local sporting competition. The restaurant was close to our accommodation and everyone was tired after a fll day of competition. We had the lovely lady from the caravan park office where we were staying book and confirm us a table for 8:30pm. Unfortunately when we turned up for our booking at approx. 8:35pm we were told we were too late and we would only be able to get takeaways! It was also implied by one of the staff that we had booked the night before and not turned up (this was not the true). So because of this we took our party of nine and ate elsewhere in Dargaville, which was no mean feat at 9:00pm on a Sunday night! Disappointed and not a great way to end a great visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tase237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A must when at Baylys Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This little gem of a restaurant is fantastic. Trish at the caravan park recommended it and we'd also read about it in Lonely Planet. The food was sensational and the portions were big. We thought we'd ordered too much but it was so yummy we ate everything. It offers a varied menu and the staff are friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, ate so much, struggled to move”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the Funky Fish on recommendation from the Sunset View Lodge. The meal was absolutely amazing, so much so, we could not have possibly said no to dessert and after the short walk back to Sunset View, we were struggling to move.

The menu offers a wide choice of variety. The interior is very quirky and booking is an absolute must.

This restaurant will always remain special to us, as we got engaged the evening of this meal

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best place around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We dined here when visiting a relative who lives locally. We found friendly service, a great atmosphere and good food. Being the only place in Baylys Beach it could rest on its laurels but they really do make an effort and we're glad we called in and dined here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cafe for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Popped out to the Funk Fish Cafe at Baylys Beach last Saturday for brunch.
Great food, I had kahawai fish cafes and he had fish and chips.
Always great food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kauriinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funky Fish also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Kaiwaka, Northland Region
 
Mangawhai, Northland Region
Rawene, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing