We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving with Northland Dive”
Review of Northland Dive

Northland Dive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Zealand - Bay of Islands only purpose built Dive lodge, meals, gear hire, tank fills including Nitrox & world-class diving all in one beautiful location.Explore the Canterbury Wreck in a sheltered bay, the 113m long Canterbury Wreck rests bolt upright and fully intact. Guided through the wreck with excellent visibility and plenty to see at shallow depths, makes this one of the most accessible wrecks in New Zealand for inexperienced divers. A challenge also awaits for very qualified and experienced diver planning to explore the engine and boiler rooms.Your hosts Shane & Julia instigated the sinking of the former HMNZS Canterbury along with help from friends and family. Our dream became reality on November 3rd 2007.Dive world-class sites Pinnacles, arches, caves, walls, boulders, kelp forests, sponge gardens, abundant schooling fish, vibrantly coloured invertebrates and possible sightings of large pelagic fish. Relax in Northland Dives lodge catering specifically for divers. Our large lounge areas with wood fires in winter are the best place to relax with a drink after your day of diving and before being served up a delicious and plentiful home-cooked meal.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Awesome diving did the Rainbow warrior and the Canturbury Wrecks as well as a couple of reef dives, The diving was good with great weather and the set up at Northland dive accommodation and meals was great . Shane and Julia were wicked people to meet well organised and run diving operation . would go back diving with them again

Thank Dania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 240 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

I did a open water refresher course with Shane 4 years ago after a 8 year break. He helped me regain my confidence and I haven't looked back. My wife and I did a 10 day trip to VaVau part of the Tonga group of islands with Northland Dive in August 2011. Shane and Julia had everything covered. All we had to do was enjoy! Diving in 26 C water temp and 30M+ visibility is heaven!
With their passion and knowledge my dives with them have always been totally awesome! My wife doesn't dive but has always felt safe and comfortable on board their boats.

1  Thank LXW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lost count of the times I have Dived and stayed at Northland Dive, Great diving with experienced professional hosts who cater for everyone from novice divers (The Wife) to the seasoned and even diving professionals. After the dive the communal areas are a wealth of knowledge about all things Diving. I have now also done my Deco and advanced nitrox courses at Northland and would also recommend them to advance your learning. well worth the drive :)

Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Shane and Julia know how to cater to divers. The Cowshed (the main lodge) makes for a perfect accommodation whether you are looking for a private room, a camp site or if you are on a budget they have both a male and female dorm. Julia provides a splendid home cooked dinner each night - and packs up fresh ingredients to make sandwiches buffet style between dives, during your surface interval. There is warm soup, coffee, tea... these guys really go out of their way to cater to you.
The rental gear at Northland Dive is SUPERB. I have never rented gear that was in such good shape. I was amazed the wetsuit still didn't have tags on it when I tried it on. Rental gear is of good quality and is well maintained. Good rental gear is a must for me, being limited to one checked bag and a carryon for 5 months in New Zealand - and this gear will not disappoint you.
The diving is awesome. Julia and Shane took on the daunting task of organizing the controlled decommissioning of the Canterbury and know practically everything there is to know about the ship.

SUMMARY: These guys provide an excellent diving atmosphere and plenty of options for accommodation. You won't forget the massive eels that swim in the creek next to the Cowshed (check them out!), and your experience will also be one to remember.

Thank Parker C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I go to Northland dive at least three times a year and only wish I could make it more. Great home cooked meals, relaxing environment, nice tidy accommodation and a variety of dive destinations that would blow any exploratory divers mind. Jane & Julia are very conscientious about protecting the environment and making all dives as safe as possible, they are also very approachable and knowledgeable if anyone needs any advice on boating, diving, marine etc and they always have plenty of great dive stories to share. I can imagine that it would appear to the unsuspecting that they are a little bit out of the way as the accommodation is in the country, but don't be fooled, they are actually one of the closest dive operators to those amazing destinations like Hole in the rock and The Canterbury with only a short 15min drive to the boat ramp and a short boat ride out, then your there smack bang in the middle of the Bay of Islands with a choice of many amazing places to dive.

Also great value for money

Recommend to all

Thank lemo271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northland Dive also viewed

Tutukaka, Northland Region
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Tutukaka, Northland Region
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Northland Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing