We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Kawiti Caves

Kawiti Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.35*
and up
Shore Excursion: Bay of Islands Sightseeing Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a great option for seeing glow worms. We left Paihia, stopped at Kawakawa then headed south. Not far down the road was a sign for the caves. Easy access & a bargain price for the tour. Loved the fact that it's family run. Great walkways with a few steps. Guide was excellent with so much knowledge & lots of stories to share. We really enjoyed when the lanterns were off & we were in darkness - great atmosphere & we saw loads of glow worms. The forest walk to finish was beautiful (it's a bit up & down hill). Kids loved the tour & learnt heaps. So glad we stopped.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    62
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Short sweet glowworm cave off the beaten track”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

For glowworm viewing this is a great option outside touristy Waitomo-hype. Kawiti is easy access, just off the main road going north, and the guided tour is short, but sweet. Cave has plenty of interesting formations and lots of glowworms. The guide was also engaging and knowledgeable, however being at the tail end of the group sometimes we didn't catch what she said. If that was because we were slow or she was speedy - I don't know. The forest walk back to the parking area was also really nice with interesting rock formations.
It is only a 200m walk-through cave so it's basically over in 15min, which was great for us on an ambitious NZ tourist schedule, but if you'd rather immerse yourself in caves and glowworms I would probably recommend investing a day or so in Waitomo, which is obviously pricier too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SuMaLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped at the caves as a break on our journey back to Auckland and are really glad that we did. The tour through the caves lasts about 20 mins and then there is a very pleasant bush walk of about 15 mins to get back to the car park. Our guide through the caves, George, was excellent and managed to convey a lot of information in a very light-hearted and friendly manner. Several times the lights were turned off to allow us to see the glow-worms in all their glory. The walkway that you use is well maintained and with handrails to help you. There are a few steps to climb but nothing very strenuous. The cave also has some impressive stalactites and stalagmites. The temperature while cool was not exactly cold and made a pleasant change to the heat outside. The cost of the tour is $15 an adult which seemed very reasonable to me. Overall we found it a very enjoyable experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GBSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
683 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

These caves are a little gem. The access to the caves is really easy and the entrance fee is a very reasonable NZD15 per person (an awful lot less than other glow-worm caves we saw). Our young guide was absolutely brilliant - very knowledgeable and very caring of a couple in our party who had a young baby). When the lights were extinguished, we saw the magical sight of the glow-worms: it was breathtaking. The way out of the cave was via a very steep path through the bush (not suitable for wheelchairs etc.).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great trip”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our group of nine New Zealanders understood that those who were a bit frail wouldn't be able to go through the caves so two of us stayed in the grounds and enjoyed the wait in beautiful surroundings. The rest of us had a brilliant tour! The young guide was so helpful, friendly and knowledgable. When we turn the lamps off to better see the glow worms the dark is BLACK. I can see how little kids might be afraid so shouldn't join a group and ruin it for others. We will recommend this wonderful tour provided by locals without any flashy props. Well done Kawiti family, this is a grat attraction.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beenandseen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawiti Caves also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Kawiti Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing