We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth visiting.....”
Review of Kawiti Caves

Kawiti Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Giants and Glow Worms Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just $15 for half an hour glow worm tour and later 10 mins bush walk.... it was a great experience.... and good news is that they have started EFTPOS facility... we all enjoyed watching glow worm.... if u r visiting bay of islands from Auckland or from whangarei, do visit as its just on the way.... our guide (sorry I forgot his name) was good.... gave us lot of info...

Thank Velvon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"glow worms"
in 193 reviews
"life cycle"
in 22 reviews
"family run"
in 11 reviews
"stalactites and stalagmites"
in 13 reviews
"informative guide"
in 12 reviews
"short tour"
in 7 reviews
"rock formations"
in 9 reviews
"milky way"
in 10 reviews
"new zealand"
in 23 reviews
"small group"
in 7 reviews
"guided tour"
in 12 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 9 reviews
"forest walk"
in 4 reviews
"hidden treasure"
in 4 reviews
"personal tour"
in 3 reviews
"entry fee"
in 5 reviews
"off the highway"
in 3 reviews

267 - 271 of 305 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Kawiti glow worm caves were fantastic. The guide was very informative and took time to explain the life cycle and characteristics of this fascinating creature. The tour was very good although not really for any children who are afraid of the dark as it is necessary to turn off the lights in order to see the worms at their glowing best. Was great to see the net strings that the worms make in order to catch their prey. Bit of an uneven walk back through the bush so not for the infirm. All in all excellent value for money and well worth it.

4  Thank 31Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had 1 day only to visit the Bay of Islands from our cruise ship. Hired a car to drive out to Kawiti Glow Worm cave, only to find the gate closed and with a sign "Closed Due to Flooding". There is no office nearby to enquire, so we rang and were told they didn't know when they'd be able to open, but certainly not today :(

2  Thank TMBHL_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glowormwhisperer, Owner at Kawiti Caves, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Hi there, On sunday the 30th of December 2012, our town was unexpectedly hit with extremely heavy rainfall which caused large scale flooding to our roads and cave system. We immediately notified the Bay of Islands Visitor and Information Centres and also the cruise ship tour operators(as we were expecting several cruise ship bus and shuttle tours) so that as many visitors as possible were aware that we were closed until further notice. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

We love showing people through our glow worm caves, and apart from the 3-4 days in the year that we're closed due to flooding, we're open every other day (including December 25th). We hope you will visit the next time you are here. Best wishes for the new year, M.Wells

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a perfect cave to explore with kids - it is not long, there is no strenuous hikes and they give you lanterns. Our tour guide Angela was awesome! She knew a lot about the gloworms; when we went to waitomo 7 years ago they told us hardly anything. Some of the gloworms were even eye level and the kids could see the strings hanging and the worm tubes. It is a smaller cave, does not stink - like some. It can flood during hard rain storms, and you have to wait for the tour guide to come back before you can get tickets. I must say that you get a good bang for your buck. She answered every question - our tour went over 1/2 hour, we enjoyed every moment! Thanks so much Angela - Also love that it is family operated for 52 years.

2  Thank TheSchu's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Really worth visiting. Informative guide and the caves are really nice. Glow worms are fantastic and are abundant throughout the cave.

Thank waza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawiti Caves also viewed

Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Whangarei, Northland Region

Been to Kawiti Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing