We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Nyanga B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent five nights here, and enjoyed every one of them. This is not a trendy chain hotel, it is unique and quiet. We enjoyed dinner every night form the set meal which was varied and tasty. The one evening we were the only couple in the hotel, and they set up a table in the small lounge, with a fire, it was a charming gesture which we really enjoyed. Our room was very nice, with a lovely four poster bed. The bath room was large with a shower and bath. I love the old furniture, quaint bar (with a great bar man!), and small museum attached to the hotel. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8, Cecil Rhodes original room. A touch of history
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
405nyanga, Manager at Rhodes Nyanga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rhodes Nyanga Hotel soon and if we get another chance to make your stay special, we will .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent three nights in this most historically interesting hotel, having last visited it some 30 years ago. As previously mentioned, it has been closed for some time and still needs investment in maintenance and decor. All the public furniture is comfortable and in keeping with the hotel's unique character - it even has its own little museum attached. We were in suite 8, which contained some original furniture of Cecil Rhodes and was very spacious, with lovely new, clean linen. The staff were exceptionally well-trained, polite and helpful.The chef was obviously battling with Zimbabwe's long and frequent power-cuts during dinner service, but haute cuisine is not what this hotel is about. Enjoy the wonderful gardens, beautiful Nyanga views, the trout fishing nearby and the peace.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
405nyanga, Manager at Rhodes Nyanga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy that you found your rooms clean and enjoyed the meal experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel had been closed for a few years, but had just re-opened at the time of the visit. Given that, they are doing quite well in such circumstances. The rooms were spacious, and relatively well kept. The food was fair. Unfortunately a fire had burnt round a lot of the surrounding forest, ruining the scenery rather. The gardens further down from the hotel could do with a little maintenance, but the front lawns were in a very good condition.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimtraveller263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
405nyanga, Manager at Rhodes Nyanga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us valuable feedback.

We hope to see you soon at the hotel.

best regards

The Rhodes Nyanga Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Formerly Cecil Rhodes holiday-cottage (some cottage...), now turned into an upmarket hotel with manicured gardens and good food. Pricey ($120/night), but friendly, professional service and great surroundings, in Nyanga National Park. Electricity problems tackled by the generator.
A bottle of red wine after camping wild for a week in the bush in Zimbabwe was a real treat, as was the real coffee, the hot shower and trout.
Beware, as they only take Visa (no Mastercard) and there is no ATM around for miles and miles...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
405nyanga, Owner at Rhodes Nyanga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

regards

Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I went to the eastern highlands of Zimbabwe in late October 2012 and had a WONDERFUL stay at Rhodes Nyanga. The property is beautiful with amazing views of the area, manicured lawns, fireplaces, a full bar with flatscreen TVs and a porch with comfortable couches for relaxing and enjoying the place's beauty. We ordered a few dinners during our stay and the food was great - try the lamb chops! We stayed in a rondaval which was clean, well-priced and quaint but we honestly did not spend that much time in the actual room. The property was too beautiful to stay inside and we were right inside of Nyanga National Park. Rhodes Nyanga is actually walking distance to the national parks office which has a wealth of information about what to do in the area which was an amazing natural playground. Aside from all of this, it was actually the customer service and the incredibly friendly and helpful staff that made our stay at Rhodes Nyanga so lovely. The assistance of the manager Leonard, barman Alois and front clerk Wanda was unmatchable and they couldn't have been more helpful. We highly recommend both Rhodes Nyanga and the eastern highlands. It was the highlight of a wonderful two week trip through Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: The rondavals were quaint and well-priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
405nyanga, Manager at Rhodes Nyanga Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you very much for your valuable response.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Rhodes Nyanga Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

The Rhodes Nyanga Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyanga
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Mutare
Holiday Inn Mutare
#2 of 4 in Mutare
142 reviews
0 mi away
Montclair Hotel & Casino
Montclair Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Juliasdale
24 reviews
0 mi away
Troutbeck Resort
Troutbeck Resort
#1 of 4 in Nyanga
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Gordon's
Gordon's
#3 of 11 in Mutare
7 reviews
0 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
11 reviews
0 mi away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 11 in Mutare
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhodes Nyanga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhodes Nyanga Hotel

Address: Nyanga National Park | Rhodes Dam, Nyanga NONE, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Nyanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Nyanga
Price Range: $110 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhodes Nyanga Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in manicured gardens with a verandah overlooking the Rhodes Dam and the typical Nyanga mountain scenery, with sweeping panoramas of the Nyanga National Park, the resort is the only hotel located in the Nyanga National Park. The Hotel is set in the heart of the National Park, the finest trout fishing locations in Zimbabwe.Cecil John Rhodes built the original cottage in 1896 and used it as his retreat and described it as a country of mountains and cliff walls, of water falls and solitudes and immensities, at a height of seven thousand feet above the sea, Mr Rhodes built himself a retreat; and this was always his solitude where he preferred to think out his great schemes” R N Hall F R G S 1905. His cottage was turned into a hotel in 1933. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Rhodes Nyanga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing