We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and top notch food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We have just returned from a great stay at Tenuta San Pietro. The hotel is situated 7km in the hills above Lucca, and a car is essential, as well as a good map and SAT NAV, although the hotel is well signposted off the Viale Europa Road.
We had a very warm welcome and offered some lunch on the terrace. The view from the terrace is second to none, with spectacular scenery, Tuscany manor houses dotted around and views down across the Valley to Lucca, with Mountains in the background.
The room was modern and clean with views out to Lucca and a seating area outside. The hotel has a number of seating areas inside where you can read or have a drink and admire the view. There is a computer with internet access which is free but no Wi Fi throughout the hotel.
The pool area is compact with limited seating areas, around 3 in total but we were always able to get a space.
The drinks at the pool were pricy, 7 euros for a small bottle of beer and 3 glasses of wine at lunch were around 26 euros, 75 cl of water was around 3 euros, so not too bad.
The real selling point of this place is the food, which is excellent. We ate at the hotel on 4 evenings, and each meal was top notch. The prices are however on the expensive side ranging from around 15 euros for a starter / pasta to 24 euros for a main, wine starts at 25 euros. In the high season, and from Thursday to Saturday, I would recommend booking ahead as the restaurant does get quite full.
Lucca is definitely work a visit and I would recommend hiring some bikes to ride around the City walls and through the town, great fun for around 3 euros an hour.
Another place which is worth a visit is fote dei marmi, which is a busy up market costal resort, they have a market on a Thursday morning.
All in all a great place to stay and we would certainly visit again for the food and views alone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wilcoxtww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenutasanpietro, Front Office Manager at Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Mr. Wilcox,

we are glad to read you enjoyed your holiday at Tenuta San Pietro.

Our Chef Guido very much appreciated the compliments regarding the food!!

We look forward to greeting you back at the Tenuta in the future.

Kind regards,

Suzanna Di Domenico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

This is a truly wonderful place to stay. The rooms were immaculate, the staff were friendly, the restaurant food was delicious and the views were stunning. We used it as a base to explore Lucca and northern Tuscany and loved coming back to the hotel every night. As it's located in the hills outside of Lucca, having access to a car is ideal.

I stayed here with my 60-something mum but would happily go back with my partner, friends, extended family or business.

Room Tip: Mille Fiori has a balcony with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatataChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

highly recommend Tenuta San Pietro for a getaway to remember. The location is outstanding with great vistas across the valley to Lucca. Horse riding nearby and wonderful staff. thankyou we will definitely be back and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleBrockway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We first stayed at Tenuta in September '09 quite by chance after just getting engaged. It was a last minute booking and on arrival we could not believe what we had stumbled upon. We were taken aback by the stunning location, food and the wonderful staff. So much so that we asked if we could have our wedding there a year later in sept 2010. Gastone made it the most incredible weekend celebration. We were so nervous about asking family and friends to travel out to Italy for our wedding but the moment they arrived none of them could resist the charm of the place - even my Grandmother at 86!! Not a single thing was left to chance - Gastone and the staff had seen to every detail - and every detail was beautiful - way beyond anything we could have ever planned ourselves. The food was unbelievable throughout the stay and the wedding ran without a single hitch. None of it was down to our planning - it was all Gastone and the team. This is a truly wonderful find with delicious food, outstanding staff and stunning views. The rooms are all individually styled and are a gorgeous mix of rustic chic. The dining terraces and restaurant are stunning. Cannot praise it highly enough and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip-Sach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Great location, very friendly staff and delicious diners

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonvanDoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We spent 2 nights and 3 days at this hotel. The staff is absolutely amazing. They anticipated our every need and were very eager to please, even going so far as to sew a button on my mothers blouse. The food is simply delicious. We arrived around lunchtime. The staff offered to seat us for lunch prior to checking in. The chef prepared delicious pasta with white truffels, followed by a filet with balsamic reduction and estate olives. It was fantastic. Our rooms were beautiful. We had 8 family members in four rooms all were very comfortable. We cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

After traveling straight through from Denver, Colorado, I arrived and was warmly welcomed by an incredibly attentive staff. I cannot say enough about the staff and this hotel's ambiance. It is set in the hills above Lucca in Tuscany with a spectacular view of the valley below. You can run or cycle up the road where there are more quaint towns with 14th century churches, vineyards and olive groves. If you want to immerse yourself in the Tuscan countryside and relax, this is the place to go. My Son (26) took a cooking class which was great fun. Wines from surrounding independent vineyards are served while you munch on olives and almonds grown on premises. I was in town for the Lucca Marathon and hated to leave for a hotel in the city to be close to the race start and finish. This hotel is only 15 minutes from Lucca and worth the extra time. This is the way to visit Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Via per San Pietro 22-26, 55012 San Pietro a Marcigliano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > San Pietro a Marcigliano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Pietro a Marcigliano
Price Range: $117 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in the small village of San Pietro a Marcigliano, nearby Capannori, the Luxury Hotel Tenuta San Pietro can be found amidst the fascinating rolling Lucca hills. The careful restoration of a 16th century country house, this delightful hotel overlooks the village and proudly shines for its exquisite combination of modern techniques with long-standing traditions. Eight bedrooms and two Suites offer all comforts, attractive design, functionality yet warm decor whilst maintaining cutting edge services and exclusive attention to details. Two meeting rooms, it own Cellar for Wine and Food Tasting experiences are just an example of what opportunities awaits either business and leisure travellers. An impeccable choice and location for Weddings in Tuscany amidst the surrounding landscape of Lucca. The Restaurant is one of our key features and benefits from extraordinary reviews both by our guests and the surrounding community. Our Chef has created an exquisite dining offer mixing homegrown ingredients and traditional recipes to deliver exciting menu that changes with each season. The impeccable service at our Restaurant combined with an outstanding scenario makes it an ideal choice for special occasions, Wedding banquets or indeed one of our many courses available throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta San Pietro Hotel & Restaurant Province Of Lucca/San Pietro a Marcigliano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing