We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but needs updating”
Review of Lareena Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lareena Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Larn
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Lareena Resort for 4 nights in the middle of 3 suites having thatched walls separating our patio/balcony from the other two suites. The decor is indeed funky as another reviewer noted though not my particular style.
On the positive side, the room was bright and large and the air conditioner cooled it efficiently, Room cleaning was efficient when requested. There were multiple seating options in the room so it felt very spacious though it was just the two of us. The refrigerator, though small, worked well as did the Internet and shower. The American breakfast was just ok, including two eggs, the usual hot dogs, a few pieces of bacon and a couple of slices of toast.
On the negative side, the floor of our suite was a patchwork of indoor/outdoor carpeting with edges that keep separating and turning up at the corners. Paint was fading in several places and, in particular, the bathroom needs a redo. Though our balcony was large, half of it was affected by the air conditioner turning the already hot air outside even hotter and limiting seating options outside.
We didn't particularly mind the sound of the ferry boats or speedboats though you are right there at the dock for all to see and vice versa.
My wife is Thai so I am not sure if that affected our interactions with the staff at all. We/she had not problems getting what we requested though they did seem to just sort of hang around most of the time rather than even trying to look busy,
I am not sure we would stay at this resort again and almost certainly won't be back on Koh Larn anyway. Much of the island suffers from overexposure with dirty, crowded beaches though there are a few quiet ones that should be sought out (e.g., Ta Yai) though even these are not as clean as they could be with a little effort. Likewise, avoid the scenic viewpoint that charges 10 Baht just to get a clear view - and pretty good whiff - of the island's dump.

Room Tip: Our middle suite seemed like the best location. We enjoyed the view across to Pattaya and the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRYMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

- The location is accessible from one of the piers in Koh Larn.
- Staffs are friendly
- Food tastes ok
- The ambiance of the place in the evening is relaxing
- The room we stayed in has a balcony overlooking the beach/pier. It is colorfully designed but the tables, TV and bed are not properly arranged.
- The bed is comfortable with clean and soft bed linens.
- The best disappointment is the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawadee_good_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Over priced shanty of a hotel, dirty, red felt for carpets, crumbling bathroom, no wifi, no mini bar, no nothing except a view of the sea interrupted by the blaring sounds of the ferries horns arriving and departing

Go somewhere else on the island of Koh Larn, even the beach would be better than this hovel of a hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed only one night at Lareena resort. The resort is right on the water, decorated in a funky/Thai style with comfortable outside seating, restaurant, bar, and open lobby. The room was unusually huge. The bathroom was roomy and clean. They gave us good quality towels. We spent quite some time on the water terrace watching sunrise. I wasn't impressed with breakfast - eggs, white bread, a slice of bacon, two sausages, and coffee. But the location, the ease of getting to the island from Pattaya, the welcoming atmosphere were the winning factors. The resort provides free wifi (working!). There are plenty of little places to eat. You can hire tuk-tuk to get to quite beaches away from tourists - just ask at the front desk. I wish we stayed longer. Will be back if I visit the island again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room to get better views in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattletraveler1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was nice and comfortable, clean, quite big, balcony with seaview. Very nice and quiet place, very lovely stuff, helpful and friendly. but would come back anytime. enjoyed the food, breakfast was served bit late, but no problem.
lovely hotel right on the waters edge, so relaxing. i traveled alone but would be so romantic to travel as a couple here. the soft lighting and loving music in the evenings amazing, takes you into a world you cant image book it today expericience for yourself. one thing i would say is this area is a couple area and not for the solo traveler really. would of been nice to be with a loved one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baseli1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

40 mins from Bali Hai Pier to Koh Larn (Na Ban Pier). You will see nice colorful building next to Na Ban Pier, that's Lareena Resort

Stayed here for two nights. Got the best room with the best view (the corner room that has private terrace and directly face the pier).

The location is very close to Na Ban pier (3 mins by walk). We can watch the pier activites there (very nice for me), except the boat horn. 7 eleven is very near and it's very convenient.

To reach the beaches, you have to rent a scooter. 5-10 mins to reach the beaches.

It has nice restaurant with various menu and wonderful taste.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Well 2nd trip to Thailand and wanted to escape the hustle and bustle of Pattaya with my gf, so we went to Koh Larn. We saw this resort on the way in on the ferry and thought it looked very "quaint" and would love to stay there sometime.
Me and my gf were only enjoying Koh Larn for the day , but we did decide to bring our friends over next time and stay overnight. And boy I am glad we did.

We made reservations easily using the English phone number stated on website. Price was Extremely economical for the room we had. Check-in was painless. They even had scooters on site that we could rent for a very good price. New scooters too...:)

Our room was Very spacious with a big balcony with furnishings that were very relaxing. The canopy bed was nice and the bathroom served its purpose. What made this great was the outside relaxing ,eating area. They have sit down tables that are really comfortable with pillows and cushions. the food was great and the drinks were very reasonably priced.

i will definitely be back to this resort...

Room Tip: The 1st room on the left is huge with big balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jtona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Larn
4.7 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
5.6 mi away
Zing Resort & Spa
Zing Resort & Spa
#32 of 458 in Pattaya
468 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 458 in Pattaya
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Xanadu Beach Resort Koh Larn
0.3 mi away
The Castello Resort
The Castello Resort
#1 of 21 in Ko Larn
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baan I Taley
Baan I Taley
#10 of 21 in Ko Larn
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lareena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lareena Resort

Address: 61/1 Mu 7, Tha Na-Baan, Amphoe Bang Lamung | (50 M. from Na-Baan Pier), Ko Larn, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Ko Larn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ko Larn
Price Range: $54 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lareena Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lareena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing