We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always book a table!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Pepe

Restaurant Pepe
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Alcalali
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always book a table!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We didn't make a reservation this February, my wife usually books ahead from the UK, and Sunday lunch here usually kicks off the start of our holiday, followed by an afternoon watching a dvd with the children or relax by the pool, depending on the season.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jason41_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    76
    25
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Expat Haven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was packed,service was slow, my friends rib steak was full of fat and gristle and not worth the money. The steak and kidney pie went round 3 people and we were charged the same price as for one. At least the veg was cooked properly and the house wine good .It was a year since we had last visited and I think it will be another before I visit again as there are better places to be found in the area.The restaurant also needs to invest in some decent chairs (they don't exactly encourage the idea of a long leisurely lunch. ) Such a shame really as the restaurant itself has charm and a lovely sunny terrace plus ample parking.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spanishfly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pepe´s is easy to find with great parking because it is large with lots of tables they can cater for large parties we arrived with 15 and it wasn´t too much trouble, a small wait while they arranged the tables but an excellent night was had by all

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank calJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Fantastic restaurant. The staff can't do enough for you and the atmosphere reflects that. The food is gorgeous and at a good price. Pepe is a brilliant guy and makes you feel so welcome. We go everything time we go to spain!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Agreen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bland food cooked for the expats”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

When a spanish chef attempts prepare steak and kidney pie and Grandmothers beef stew, expect a compromise. My beef stew comprised five lumps of beef about 2" cubed that must have been simmering for a very long time. Yes it was tender, but its taste was long gone. My wifes chicken was also bland. Perhaps the chef had a bad day. Yes, it was cheap but I would have rather paid more and received appetising food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Funghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pepe also viewed

Alcalali, Province of Alicante
Alcalali, Province of Alicante
 
Alcalali, Province of Alicante
Alcalali, Province of Alicante
 
Alcalali, Province of Alicante
Jalon, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Restaurant Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing