We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely, charming place - would come back”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stradbroke, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joanna190...
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“lovely, charming place - would come back”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The dairy is a lovely cottage adjacent to the owners’ house. It’s cosy and charming, full of lovely touches – a log fire, Laura Ashley rugs and light fittings etc. Very, very clean which is so important! The owners are really lovely too, very helpful with anything you need. It is not suitable for people with mobility issues or people with very small children – lots of uneven and steep steps, uneven floor, low ceilings and beams – but this is why the building is so charming! We came in October when it gets dark quickly and having spent the day outside we were happy to stay in with our dog, but we would have an issue letting him off the lead in the garden as it does not seem very secure & he could swiftly run away to the neighbouring farm – so it would potentially be a problem in the summer. All in all – a lovely, clean, cosy place and these are not so easy to find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essexcoas...
Essex Coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was not a disappointment. The cottage is very clean, the bedding and linen were spotless and we all enjoyed excellent sleep on comfortable beds. The downstairs is bijou but comfortable and the small kitchen is workable and has everything you require. The cottage would not suit anybody disabled due to uneven floors, and you have to be fairly agile to get into the bath (no shower). The only disappointment for us was that the outside space was not really safe for our small dogs, as they were both very keen to go through the large gap and explore the neighbouring farmyard! So we had to leave them inside or have them on leads while we enjoyed the outside space, We thought a small picket fence would not be unattractive and could easily solve this problem - a bonus for dog owners and parents alike. Apart from this small niggle we can highly recommend the cottage and would stay there again. Nice people, lovely cottage, and a lovely area to explore within striking distance of London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, cleanliness
Liked least: Outside space not secure
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodmon82
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Beauty!”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fantastic place. Kate made us feel very welcome, fresh eggs and other bits on our arrival, and most helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to go.
The accommodation is stunning. Certainly rustic, sloping walls & floors, low ceilings, beautifully thought out little touches to make best use of space. I love quirky, and this ticked all the boxes!
The village was great, Framlingham nearby is fantastic, if we're in suffolk again, we'll be back for sure! :)

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryTill...
United Kingdom
1 review
“A real find”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We were so happy that we found this amazing cottage.
It was clean, well decorated and the furnishings were excellent.
We felt like it was home from home and were made to feel so welcome.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalbo
1 review
“Beautiful barn, very homely & cosy with every single detail well thought out.”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The barn was so full of character & really beautifully done. It was so cosy that it really felt like home & quite honestly we could have stayed permanently! The bedroom was very romantic & the wood burner was a fantastic feature. It was a perfect place to go to relax & enjoy the peace & quiet & surrounding countryside. The owners were very friendly, welcoming and very helpful & approachable & they had gone out of their way with little thoughtful details including fresh eggs which was so lovely. The only minor problem we had was finding the property & we think it would benefit from having a sign outside that you can easily see from the road as it was difficult to stop & look whilst driving even with 2 pairs of eyes. It was a great place in a nice quiet village & we would definitely like to return one day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwirlGirl...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic break”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the dairy in the week before Christmas. It was a last minute booking and we were so pleased we found it. Kate was really helpful with directions and a welcome guide via email, and we had a warm (literally, as he'd lit the fire) welcome from her husband when we got there.
It is well stocked with tea, coffee, basic cooking ingredients etc, and a nice touch of some fresh eggs from their chickens.
The cottage is beautifully renovated, with lots of the old beams. Be careful of the extremely steep stairs up to the double bedroom, it's a bit of a crawl!
It is very quiet even though it is on the "main" road through the village. Very short walk to the village shops and pubs.
We'd definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishpie20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed for a few nights at the Dairy with our two boys aged 8 and 5, had a lovely, relaxing stay. Kate very welcoming and friendly as were her own children. Charming decor and wonky floors, lovely exposed beams and a toasty woodburner - cosy, well-kept and romantic. Had a great time at Sutton Hoo and Dunwich Heath. AAA
xx

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing