We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Restaurant”
Review of The Ivy House

The Ivy House
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Stradbroke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Good ales, honest home made food, fine wines, pretty thatched pub in a village setting. Dogs welcome on a lead, well behaved children over 8yrs in the restaurant, over 14yrs in the bar the no childrens menu.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Never been to The Ivy House before until last Tuesday and now we have been twice in 6 days. It must be good and it certainly was. A lovely thatched building, beautifully clean inside with lovely fresh flowers. Run by husband and wife team, the wife being the chef and the husband the barman giving you a very warm welcome. Lovely atmosphere inside and good friendly staff. The food is just excellent, cooked to perfection and very nicely presented. On Tuesday we both had the Skate Wings which were out of this world being very fresh and very nicely cooked. My husband then had the pineapple upside down pudding while I had my favourite pavlova.

Today being Sunday we both went for the Roast Sirloin of Beef with all the trimmings. We eat out every Sunday and to-day was just up there with the best in Suffolk and I must say excellent value at £9.95 for our main course. We had booked our table in advance but went a little bit early so we could sit and have a pre dinner drink in the beautiful garden. How does a couple that have a 24/7 job manage to keep the garden looking so good.

A very nice place to eat and thoroughly recommended. We will be back soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    16
    1
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Amazing Food”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Egal and Sue keep a good Free House with regular guest beers which Egal keeps to perfection - the bar is friendly and good seating inside and out allows for a comfortable visit - Sue in the kitchen is an imaginative cook producing first class food and a good variety to choose from - take away home made curries are well worth while - we are regulars for the restaurant and are pleased to recommend. Kate and David

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David & Kat... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always top notch!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whenever we think of where to go for Sunday lunch we always come up with the same answer, its has to be the Ivy House. Superb cuts of meat and the finest veg and Sue's famous red wine gravy not forgetting the most excellent homemade desserts! In fact, my parents will not eat out anywhere else.
Although, we live some 10 miles away we consider The Ivy House to be our local, there is always a welcome and you can guarantee the food will be top notch!
We are now looking forward to some warmer days so we can enjoy lunch in the garden and even more happy days at the Ivy House.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Ivy House is my local and Sue and Egil always make you feel very welcome. A friend and I decided to have our birthday meal there and we were treated marvellously.
The food is always cooked to a high standard by Sue herself (along with her experienced kitchen staff) and, she prides herself in using locally sourced, great quality ingredients.
I have never eaten a bad meal in the restaurant and I would gladly go back time and time again to eat.
I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Heart of Stradbroke”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Sue and Egil are most inviting, they always make you very welcome into the bar. We have been eating here for many years so decided to have our wedding breakfast here. They did us pround, choice of main and sweets, coffee, tea. The service was faultless, they couldn't of looked after us better. Wonderful day, Thankyou.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ivy House also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing