We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute pleasure to be in this beautiful area. The surrounding views are spectacular.

The hotel itself is good. We had 2 single beds put together for my wife and I. The kids had a loft with 2 single beds. There is a steep hill leading down to the jetty so be prepared for a challenging walk back.

The spa is great. The restaurant served only buffet and for those not eating meat, the choices are pretty limited. Food was average.

This is definitely a place to go to unwind.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Essack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    73
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
69
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Arriving here, we thought the staff were lovely and helpful and that the food in the restaurant (we didn't have the buffet) was excellent. However, frankly the building should be approached with care, especially if you are travelling with children or those with special needs. No care has been taken in making this a safe place to stay. It would fail all European standards. We would not bring our children here. It is dangerous. There are only steps to rooms. Around the pool (no changing rooms or rest rooms - you have to walk through the dining room for those) the balconies are lose and are not secure. The finish and care taken with this building is so shoddy, it is such a shame. Bedroom bathrooms have been finished so poorly that there was too much mould for us to even want to take a shower. Such a shame that such a beautiful place has been so let down by the building.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lokijay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
327 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stopped over here and found a little paradise. Firstly the rooms are amazing, you can see the dam from the shower and the bed. The view is dramatic, I would say just as good as a sea view. The staff were eager to please and so friendly.

The chicken in the restaurant was excellent, all the food was great. Jozini as a town is very dirty and rural, you just don't expect this type of excellence, so we were impressed.

Somewhere there must be a great manager behind the scenes, because all the little touch points were just right. There is a great infinity pool overlooking the dam.

My wife went to the spa and said that her massage was the best she had, and the cheapest of the holiday. I did the tiger fishing. We never caught anything, but the skipper stayed out a little longer to give me as many opportunities as possible. That impressed me, he really wanted to get something.

This place is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room starting 31x
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Being the owner of a Travel Agency I am normally very hard to please, but Jozini Tiger Lodge was lovely. The family room with loft was stunning, the bathroom design great and I loved having a separate basin in the room to rinse cups etc. The sundowner cruise was enjoyable, but more snacks and more drink stock onboard would bring back more jovial customers and a higher drinks bill. The pool and deck were lovely to relax at, especially with a cocktail. The meals were fine, although not much variety. One evening there was lots of starch and veg and very little meat. The next night there was a stir fry veg and chips and loads of meat. It's fine for a few nights though. The Lodge did organize a great NY Eve party with fireworks. The only problem was that it sounded like we had speakers in our room as the music was so loud. It did however all go quiet at 1am. Unfortunately I think the Tiger Fish may all have gone on holiday for New Year, as no one was catching at all. The Spa was a nice relaxing treat both hubby and I could enjoy together while our kids were looked after in the games room. Overall a nice resort and we would definitely come back for a few nights again. Thank you to everyone at Jozini Tiger Lodge.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SureTravel24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at Jozini Tiger Lodge for 2 nights at the end of September. The hotel and guest rooms are absolutely gorgeous and very modern, clean and spacious. However if you struggle with stairs etc it may be a bit of a problem as lots of stairs to get to the rooms etc. Amazing view of the dam from the hotel room balcony. Also loved the shutters from the bathroom so you could sit and admire the view from the bath if you wanted to!

Staff were very helpful. However the food quality I thought varied drastically. On the first day we were there our group ordered a simple lunch of sandwiches, wraps, burgers etc all of which were very nice. However the food that was on the buffet on the evening, if you did not eat red meat there wasn't much of a selection! My friend that does eat red meat said that it was ok but she wouldn't have it again and I ended up eating bread rolls and cheese for my evening meal. The desserts were also not great.

Breakfast had the usual offerings but again if you weren't the first to breakfast a lot of things were not there (however when the head chef saw one morning that something I wanted was missing he went into the kitchen and replenished straight away).

The hotel is at the bottom of a dusty hill and apart from organised trips etc you cannot just get out of the hotel complex and walk around.

Whilst we were there the pool was also under renovation work so could not use this and there were several parties using the hotel who liked to shout loudly outside our room in the corridor amongst themselves in the early hours of the morning!

Even though the food was hit and miss I would stay here again because of the hotel generally and the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyBlonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed two nights and wish I could have stayed longer...
Superb facilities, stunning rooms, everything was just perfect.
The view from the balcony was incredible!
The staff were friendly, professional and accommodating.
The only downside was that on the second day the president of South Africa arrived and all the big little men (security and bodyguards of important people who puff themselves up) tried to be intimidating...
But I was enjoying myself to much to let it bother me
DO NOT miss out on a river boat cruise, the views are stunning!

Room Tip: the higher you are, the better the view **if you want to eat and drink on the boat cruise you mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forever-a-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A very stylish hotel set in a fabulous location overlooking the Jozini Lake/dam. A very comfortable room with balcony overlooking the lake so one could chill out at dawn and dusk and hear the beautiful sounds of African wildlife. Exceedingly peaceful - I will never forget the beautiful sounds of the animals at dawn and dusk.
We went on a sunset cruise which was very relaxing. And took some beautiful photos of the African sunset. The service was very professional and the food delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jozini
13.5 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
21.5 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
12.4 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa

Property: Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Jozini 3969, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Jozini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jozini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jozini Tiger Lodge & Spa is situated along the banks of the picturesque Jozini dam & overlooking the Lebombo Mountains of KwaZulu Natal. Situated in the heart of the Kingdom of the Zulu with its rich heritage and untamed natural beauty, this Lodge & Spa is an exciting holiday destination which offers a perfect luxury getaway in the heart of nature. The hotel offers a variety of outdoor activities such as tiger-fishing, game viewing, hiking and kayaking. Jozini Tiger Lodge & Spa is easily accessible from both Durban and Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jozini Tiger Hotel Jozini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing