We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Gorgeous resort in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at Jozini Tiger Lodge for 2 nights at the end of September. The hotel and guest rooms are absolutely gorgeous and very modern, clean and spacious. However if you struggle with stairs etc it may be a bit of a problem as lots of stairs to get to the rooms etc. Amazing view of the dam from the hotel room balcony. Also loved the shutters from the bathroom so you could sit and admire the view from the bath if you wanted to!

Staff were very helpful. However the food quality I thought varied drastically. On the first day we were there our group ordered a simple lunch of sandwiches, wraps, burgers etc all of which were very nice. However the food that was on the buffet on the evening, if you did not eat red meat there wasn't much of a selection! My friend that does eat red meat said that it was ok but she wouldn't have it again and I ended up eating bread rolls and cheese for my evening meal. The desserts were also not great.

Breakfast had the usual offerings but again if you weren't the first to breakfast a lot of things were not there (however when the head chef saw one morning that something I wanted was missing he went into the kitchen and replenished straight away).

The hotel is at the bottom of a dusty hill and apart from organised trips etc you cannot just get out of the hotel complex and walk around.

Whilst we were there the pool was also under renovation work so could not use this and there were several parties using the hotel who liked to shout loudly outside our room in the corridor amongst themselves in the early hours of the morning!

Even though the food was hit and miss I would stay here again because of the hotel generally and the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyBlonde23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    73
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
71
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed two nights and wish I could have stayed longer...
Superb facilities, stunning rooms, everything was just perfect.
The view from the balcony was incredible!
The staff were friendly, professional and accommodating.
The only downside was that on the second day the president of South Africa arrived and all the big little men (security and bodyguards of important people who puff themselves up) tried to be intimidating...
But I was enjoying myself to much to let it bother me
DO NOT miss out on a river boat cruise, the views are stunning!

Room Tip: the higher you are, the better the view **if you want to eat and drink on the boat cruise you mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forever-a-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A very stylish hotel set in a fabulous location overlooking the Jozini Lake/dam. A very comfortable room with balcony overlooking the lake so one could chill out at dawn and dusk and hear the beautiful sounds of African wildlife. Exceedingly peaceful - I will never forget the beautiful sounds of the animals at dawn and dusk.
We went on a sunset cruise which was very relaxing. And took some beautiful photos of the African sunset. The service was very professional and the food delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is situate on a hill overlooking a nice view of the tiger river,quite and nice for family trip,business meetings and groups.
The food is magnificent especially the buffet they have. I was there 2 for businesses and would love to take my family there. And if you a a fishing person this will be the place for your. Next catch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penalte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a long drive from Durban we arrived at the Jozini Tiger Lodge and first impressions were good. The location is superb right on the edge of the lake. Rooms were spacious with split level bedrooms which was perfect for sharing with one other person. We had an early start for a game drive the next morning and the hotel prepared breakfast for us to take with us which was nice. We did the evening cruise on the lake which was very enjoyable too. The evening buffet was fine but nothing amazing but you stay there for the location to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LH0195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I booked 3 nights at Jozini Tiger Lodge as part of a week-long trip to northern Kwa-Zulu Natal and judging from the pictures, we were really looking forward to our stay. After our initial excitement of seeing the stunning location of this beautifully set hotel, the fairy-tale rapidly started to crumble and things just went from bad to worse.
Our check-in at reception was less than professional and we got the feeling that attending to our arrival was just an unwelcome hindrance. No information was forthcoming and our enquiries regarding facilities and meals were met with very offhand, monosyllabic answers.
The room was clean and tastefully furnished with great views and the hotel itself is impressive and beautifully decorated, but that is about all that is positive.
The restaurant meals are only buffet, and the food quality and selection rank well below par. Service in the restaurant was also sorely lacking. Meal times were more of a disorganised shambles with hordes of people (guests?) jostling us out of the way to push in front of us to fill up ‘take-away’ containers!
After our second night, we had had enough of this fiasco and managed to secure accommodation at nearby Ghost Mountain Inn for the remainder of our trip. We informed reception that we were most unsatisfied and wished to check out a day early and depart immediately. No one so much as blinked, let alone ask us why we were not happy.
Overall, I feel the hotel sadly lacks proper management and any staff training seems to be virtually non-existent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGreyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is clearly going through some change. The rooms are very modern and have all the amenities however the food and service falls a good distance short of the mark. The staff seem to the lack the skills required and it makes staying here a lesson in patience. The food is not good at all and one wonders whether 3 Cities group has actually put any operational support into this hotel.
I find myself willing them to do better though but I think it's beyond the current managements skill set - major change needed.

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jozini
13.5 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
381 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
21.5 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
10.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
0.0 mi away
Valley Lodge
Valley Lodge
#8 of 255 in Durban
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa

Property: Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Jozini 3969, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Jozini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jozini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jozini Tiger Lodge & Spa is situated along the banks of the picturesque Jozini dam & overlooking the Lebombo Mountains of KwaZulu Natal. Situated in the heart of the Kingdom of the Zulu with its rich heritage and untamed natural beauty, this Lodge & Spa is an exciting holiday destination which offers a perfect luxury getaway in the heart of nature. The hotel offers a variety of outdoor activities such as tiger-fishing, game viewing, hiking and kayaking. Jozini Tiger Lodge & Spa is easily accessible from both Durban and Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jozini Tiger Hotel Jozini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing