We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Hotel,Businesses, Fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Hotel,Businesses, Fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is situate on a hill overlooking a nice view of the tiger river,quite and nice for family trip,business meetings and groups.
The food is magnificent especially the buffet they have. I was there 2 for businesses and would love to take my family there. And if you a a fishing person this will be the place for your. Next catch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penalte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    69
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
65
4
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a long drive from Durban we arrived at the Jozini Tiger Lodge and first impressions were good. The location is superb right on the edge of the lake. Rooms were spacious with split level bedrooms which was perfect for sharing with one other person. We had an early start for a game drive the next morning and the hotel prepared breakfast for us to take with us which was nice. We did the evening cruise on the lake which was very enjoyable too. The evening buffet was fine but nothing amazing but you stay there for the location to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LH0195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I booked 3 nights at Jozini Tiger Lodge as part of a week-long trip to northern Kwa-Zulu Natal and judging from the pictures, we were really looking forward to our stay. After our initial excitement of seeing the stunning location of this beautifully set hotel, the fairy-tale rapidly started to crumble and things just went from bad to worse.
Our check-in at reception was less than professional and we got the feeling that attending to our arrival was just an unwelcome hindrance. No information was forthcoming and our enquiries regarding facilities and meals were met with very offhand, monosyllabic answers.
The room was clean and tastefully furnished with great views and the hotel itself is impressive and beautifully decorated, but that is about all that is positive.
The restaurant meals are only buffet, and the food quality and selection rank well below par. Service in the restaurant was also sorely lacking. Meal times were more of a disorganised shambles with hordes of people (guests?) jostling us out of the way to push in front of us to fill up ‘take-away’ containers!
After our second night, we had had enough of this fiasco and managed to secure accommodation at nearby Ghost Mountain Inn for the remainder of our trip. We informed reception that we were most unsatisfied and wished to check out a day early and depart immediately. No one so much as blinked, let alone ask us why we were not happy.
Overall, I feel the hotel sadly lacks proper management and any staff training seems to be virtually non-existent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGreyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is clearly going through some change. The rooms are very modern and have all the amenities however the food and service falls a good distance short of the mark. The staff seem to the lack the skills required and it makes staying here a lesson in patience. The food is not good at all and one wonders whether 3 Cities group has actually put any operational support into this hotel.
I find myself willing them to do better though but I think it's beyond the current managements skill set - major change needed.

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We only found out we were staying at Jozini Tiger Lodge after our arrival in South Africa - we were on a tour of SA run by Iliois travel - booked through Freedom Africa - but this hotel was a last minute substitute for Ghost Mountain where we were very much looking forward to staying.
In fact most of the hotel we stayed in were not on the original itinerary and were generally of a lower standard and a less convenient location.
First impressions of the Tiger Lodge location were positive - but we and the group were not allowed to our rooms until the manager had made a long pitch to sell his excursions, even though we were on a tour with no spare time.
We can't fault the rooms - they were clean, spacious and with great views.
The restaurant food and service is another matter.
The restaurant offers only a buffet and not a very inspiring one at that, and the service was generally average to poor due to willing but untrained staff.
Breakfast was a least of a reasonable quality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are preferable due to ongoing building work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saxeldgmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Travelling to Tiger Lodge one can become filled with trepidation at what the lodge may be able to offer as it is situated outside a small dusty town. However we were pleasantly surprised at everything the lodge has to offer. Beautiful views, wonderful buildings, clean spacious rooms and beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed a sunset cruise on the dam which included elephant sightings. A memorable and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay in a loft room at Jozini Tiger lodge over the Womens Day 'long weekend'.

After a 4 hour drive we found the lodge without difficulty as dusk was approaching. At check-in, the lady at reception (Sne) was quite unhelpful. She offered no explanation regarding the facilities, spa, meal-times, location of the dining room or anything else for that matter. Getting information from her was like pulling teeth from a hippopotamus. When we enquired about supper, she remarked that it was being served in the boma. When asked where the boma was she simply said "around the corner". I didn't bother enquiring which corner!! A person of this caliber, with poor people and communication skills should not be welcoming guests. "Welcome" drinks were however provided. At no time were we informed that we could also have supper in the formal dining room. One of the other ladies at reception were quite helpful and assisted me in booking a fishing trip for the next morning.

Having put the icy cold reception behind us we set off to find our room to freshen up before supper. The room was exactly as pictured on the website, tastefully furnished, clean and quite comfortable. However, no information booklet regarding the activities or facilities on offer was provided in the room either.

To find the supper venue we simply followed the sound of the drums! The Zulu dancers and drummers gave a spirited performance. Supper was a buffet providing an adequate variety and was well prepared. We had a restful sleep and were awaken early the next morning by the crowing of roosters. After enjoying the sun rise over the dam from the balcony we headed down for breakfast. Despite specifying that 3 of our group would not consume beef or pork, no other meat option was provided at breakfast. After a long delay and upon finishing our breakfast, we were brought rather large portions of chicken strips, grilled hake and chips which were packed for us to take on our boat trip. The breakfast was adequate and once again prepared to a satisfactory standard.

While we attempted to land a Jozini Tiger, the ladies had a relaxing time at the spa and lounged at the poolside. The boat pilot and guide was an amiable fellow who had the best luck of the day! At least we were able to watch the fight the fish gave him!

Tip - don't waste your time on spinners or lures: the Jozini Tiger appears to have a preference for sardines, which your guide will provide. The chicken liver we tried attracted no interest. Don't bother packing rods either as a rod and tackle are available for hire at reasonable cost.

We had also booked a sunset cruise which turned out to be quite a disaster as a result of poor management. There was a large group of ladies who had apparently booked a package including a cruise but were not booked for that day's cruise. They refused to get off the boat and management refused to allow the boat to leave. The cruise was delayed a long while and eventually left with the group on board after a whole lot of people that were booked got off!!!
People should only be allowed onto the boat after their bookings were confirmed anyway!

Supper was a buffet as well. Where were the gourmet meals the website promises??? To their credit the Kitchen staff prepared a delicious rack of lamb for those of our party that did not eat beef or pork. Also on offer were grilled prawns and the usual buffet items.

In summary we had a great stay at Jozini Tiger Lodge (primarily due to its location), the food was better than expected and the kitchen staff were quite accommodating to our dietary restrictions, however there is plenty of room for improvement especially with regards to the check-in staff/reception.

Room Tip: Choose a room in block 2 or 3. Block 1 is too far away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JessicaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jozini
13.5 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
21.5 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
12.4 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
24.3 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 32 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa

Property: Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
Address: 1 Main Road, Jozini 3969, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Jozini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jozini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jozini Tiger Lodge & Spa is situated along the banks of the picturesque Jozini dam & overlooking the Lebombo Mountains of KwaZulu Natal. Situated in the heart of the Kingdom of the Zulu with its rich heritage and untamed natural beauty, this Lodge & Spa is an exciting holiday destination which offers a perfect luxury getaway in the heart of nature. The hotel offers a variety of outdoor activities such as tiger-fishing, game viewing, hiking and kayaking. Jozini Tiger Lodge & Spa is easily accessible from both Durban and Gauteng. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jozini Tiger Hotel Jozini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing