We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large kitsch rooms”
Review of Hotel Gligorov

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gligorov
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Strumica
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed there on a bicycle trip. We had a very friendly welcome and a huge room with a sofa and a rather convoluted bathroom. The wallpaper and rug is from an other era which gives some charm to the rooms. Actually, you feel like you are in a high-range hotel in the communist era. There's always some soft music in the dark hallways which is rather creepy, but on the other hand it gives an ambience.

In the bathroom, you are almost guaranteed to make a mess. The implements for the shower and the bathtub are complicated and whatever spigot we tried to operate, it resulted in water going somewhere we did not want to and the floor was all wet after we both showered and made some laundry in the wash basin.

The curtains, as sophisticated as they seem, do not cover the whole window, which is not too bad for us who always get up early. Anyway, all these petty problems were not enough to disqualify this charming place with polite and attentive service and a lot of style. Outdated style, but style anyway.

The hotel is a bit far from the historical center of Strumica, but there are services (market, atm) at about 500m.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EricMonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 15 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding. The staff were very helpful, the room enormous and very clean, although the decoration was a little OTT - although we liked it! Good Wi-Fi. The curtains didn't cover the whole window & let light through - it woke us at 5.30am. This place has real ambience and is a nice change from other modern hotels. The buffet breakfast at the weekend was poor, but on Monday morning we were served at table and it was much better. Friends stayed at the Hotel Sirius which has a pool and spa, but was soulless in comparison. If this had a pool it would be almost perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden, away from the function room are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timdouglas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am frequently organizing trainings - h. Gligorov is the best choice in the region of Strumica - excellent venue, impeccable service and pleasant staff. One of the rare hotels in Macedonia where you do not have to care about details whether you have taken on a razor or a toothbrush - they've taken care of it all!

Room Tip: Allow yourselves some luxury in the luxury rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IvanaG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Considering the darth in good accomodation in Strumica, this place is your best option. It's relatively new, with a style of decoration which will make the artistically sensitive ones shiver for a moment. However, the rooms are up-to-date, with clean and modern bathrooms and wifi in your room. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast was good. The hotel is not in the middle of town, but Strumica is not that big. A 15 minutes walk and you're in the centre. You can also take a taxi, which cost next-to-nothing. Try to come here during carnaval season, when Strumica rocks!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is about as good as you're going to get for Strumica. It has its little quirks, but all in all the Hotel Gligorov is a reasonable place. First of all, the Internet works fine, which is a key issue for me. Beyond that, it's a reasonable 10-15-minute walk from anything worth seeing in the city center, including shops (unbelievably cheap by European standards) and evening coffee shops, bars and clubs. The room was fine, except for the chair that was way too large for the desk and made the room into an obstacle course, forcing you to basically climb over the bed to get to the other side of the room. The bath/shower was suitable for a much higher standard of hotel and included a number of stream variations and jet streams for the bathtub. Food was reasonable - the soups were particularly good. Certainly a reasonable option for a business traveler. Front desk personnel were particularly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Located next door to a grain silo on a busy road on the edge of Strumica, the first impression isn't good. In addition, the lift didn't work in the 10 days I was there. And thin curtains that didn't meet in the middle meant that sleep ended at 06:00 a.m.

On the other hand the mattress was very comfortable, the furnishings were new, the food was fine & the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Grain silo end is quieter. At the other end there's a function room with weddings at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulgerard1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel, which I found to be most satisfactory. The staff at reception were most helpful facilitating my online check-in for my flight to London with Wizz Air. The rooms were very well appointed and the breakfasts were first class: we even got a typical fry to boot. The overall ambience of the hotel was most pleasing, and I have no hesitation in recommending it to any prospective client. There were 14 in our tour party and all were fulsome in their praise for the staff at all levels.

Capt Séamus Greene

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side overlook a pleasant garden. The luxury rooms have a large lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seamus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strumica
0.6 mi away
Hotel Esperanto-Strumica
Hotel Esperanto-Strumica
#1 of 6 in Strumica
4 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Ramada Plaza Gevgelija
9.3 mi away
Podgoski An
Podgoski An
#2 of 6 in Strumica
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Park Hotel Strumica
0 mi away
Ilinden Hotel
Ilinden Hotel
#4 of 6 in Strumica
7 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Central Hotel
#5 of 6 in Strumica
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gligorov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gligorov

Address: Kliment Ohridski, Strumica, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southeastern Region > Strumica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Strumica
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gligorov 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a new hotel. The rooms are luxuriously furnished. Our main target is our guests to be satisfied. Everybody is welcome to come and visit us :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gligorov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing