We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very big welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brae Cottage

Brae Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tranent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Cottage
Ranked #3 of 5 Tranent B&B and Inns
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very big welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

great place...very cosy and nice helpful hostess...super breakfast- no lunch necessary....nice facilites in room......comfy bed......very good welcome and lots of information on area.......Hostess went out of her way to help with various questions and let us access her ipad....thank you so much.

Room Tip: both rooms very quiet....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leivi, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Clean, welcoming and confortable place, very good location, pleasant hostess and yummy breakfast! Thanks Gwen, for your kindness. Our staying was one of the best we've had and your help and suggestions were absolutely needed from turists like us! We felt like part of the family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Thanks Gwen, our stay with you was one of the best we,ve had in Scotland, and we are definatley looking forward to coming back to you later this year. Carine and I would recomend Gwen and her family at Brae cottage to anyone, Outstanding place, breakfast ,service & accomodation 1st class. We actually feel like part of the family now!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I always look to grade my stays based upon the quality for the cost. Quality includes; location, cleanliness, service, cost and amenities from which I come up with whether or not it is a good value. Gwen Brae is really an excellent value. Located a few minutes taxi from Longniddery Rail Station which is roughly 20 minutes rail to Edinburgh at a fraction of the cost of Edinburgh rates. The Cottage is also a short drive from dozens of excellent golf courses including several excellent choices in Gullane one of which is Muirfield (Note to golfers Muirfield is open to the public on Tuesdays and Thursdays only). Not to mention that Gullane and Dirleton are incredbily picturesque towns to walk through and there are public trails throughout. We had an excellent lunch at the Castle Inn in Dirleton of delicious soups ( I had a fabulous salmon chowder) Directly across the street to the entrance of the Dirleton Castle Entry. There is also a great public walking path down the lane towards the Firth that cuts across the top of a private Golf Course. Gullane Golf Club nearby has a wonderful man's personal golf museum next to the pro shop there who's family goes back in Scottish Golf for over a hundred years, including the first clubs, feather balls and wonderful old pictures.
From a service perspective Gwen the owner is personable, humerous, extremely hard working and dedicated to her clients at the B&B. Willing to spend whatever time and effort is required to help make your trip a fun one, including bundling the four of us into her little car to drop us at a local pub and eatery, which was excellent by the way, so we could enjoy, inbibe and walk home. The B&B itself is a classic old Scottish stone design which feels old world and fits my desire to be part of the locale, but modern and cozy inside.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesawalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex,uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Thank you to Gwen for our lovely stay at her b&b.
This is a lovely clean and welcoming cottage was made to feel at home,our room was very clean and comfortable with lovely views.
Our full Scottish breakfast was superb and freshly cooked when we wanted with a good selection of food.
We will definitely be staying again,excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

thanks gwen for a really nice time,you really looked after us lovely rooms lovely people.like a home from home

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simpelsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

we stayed at the cottage the weekend of my birthday, it was a gift from my mate, what a gift the accomodation was superb the room had a fantastic views of Gullan bay , the hospitality and welcome we recieved was like that of being part of the family. breakfast was a full scittish and it light up my day, the Gaffer Gwen great company thanks again. will be back soon Marlyn and Jim Keep the faith

Room Tip: ASk for a room at the rear of the house , the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tranent
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Faside Estate B&B
Faside Estate B&B
#1 of 5 in Tranent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage B&B
The Anchorage B&B
#1 of 2 in Prestonpans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Old Aberlady Inn
Old Aberlady Inn
#1 of 3 in Aberlady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Lodge at Craigielaw
The Lodge at Craigielaw
#1 of 2 in Aberlady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brae Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Cottage

Property: Brae Cottage
Address: 3 Brae Cottage, Tranent EH33 1DU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Tranent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tranent
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Brae Cottage Tranent, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing