We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby and underhanded”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longniddry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seton Sands Holiday Park - Haven
rotherham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“shabby and underhanded”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in August, paid for a prestige model, on arrival we were given a basic model. Told that this 'was' top of the range, the caravan was dirty and well over a year old (something we had paid an extra upgrade for), after complaining (and mentioning that this was our 8th Haven holiday in various locations) we were miraculously moved to a brand new top of the range warm clean van! The rest of the site was old and in need of a total make over,the smell from the chip shop and cafe kitchens hit you all around the entertainment complex, and the smoking area right in the middle of it made it look grubby! pool area was ok, but not massive, The best thing about this site was the location, an ideal base for visiting either coastal area such as North Berwick (Stunning) or catching the train into Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    224
    111
    41
    48
See reviews for
455
91
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

me my mam and brother stayed here in August for a week, we have always gone to haven sites and still enjoy the atmosphere and facilities now! We had a nice cosy little caravan not far from the facilities, the food was lovely and good value for money, the pool was nice and clean but could be bigger! there could be more pool tables as we were only lucky to get to use them while we were there but overall we had a great stay, nice little break, the staff were friendly and the view from accross the road was gorgeous night and day. it wasnt too far from edingburgh, we would take the car to nearby Wallyford and catch the train to edinburgh! We would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed with seaton sands last week and because we enjoyed it so much we booked an extra night. entertainment was fabulous and the park is great will stay all the time tahnks you to the funstars vickii kirsty chris darren abi
thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conner r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a 8birth caravan it was basic but clean. the kids enjoyed the arcade and the night entertainment.the food on site is very nice. i recomend geting your own food and drink from a supermarket and not the on site shop. all in all a good reasonable priced family holiday

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank critehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have stayed here twice now in the last 2 years on Sun Holiday breaks deal, both times have been excellent! Great accomodation, very clean and lots of facilities for a self catering venue. Staff are all friendly and welcoming and very knowledgable of the area and local attractions. Have a fantastic kids club and evening entertainment was brill to! The pool could be slightly warmer but maybe thats just personal preference, very clean and well kept with good lifeguards on call. Bar staff and food was good to but the sitting area could do a lick of paint maybe other than that no complaints! This is a great short stay venue and is brillinat for sightseeing into edinburgh. There is a local bus service where you buy a ticket which is unlimited for £2.70 (adult) from outsid ethe main entrance and the buses take you right through edinburgh city centre and onto the zoo, great and convenient and you can make as many journeys in one day as you like on the same service. They also run very regular. Overall a brilliant venue and we will certainly be recomending and going back!

Room Tip: We never had ti upgrade as the acomodation is so good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we stayed at seton sands friday to monday 19th to 21st october, we arrived about an hour early so wasnt expecting to get into caravan but went to check in staff at desk very pleasant and helpful gave us the keys and directed ud to caravan both verbally and with a map. access to caravan was rather muddy but there had been a lot of rain recently. the caravan had just been cleaned as floor still wet but that was ok. I was expectimg 2 bedroomed caravan and got a 3 bedroom which was great, and all the beds were made up wasnt expecting that as never paid for bedding so even better, there were also plenty extra duvets in cupboards which were needed as it got very cold at night but it was october so was to be expected. the caravan was in a good location very close to spar and chippy and a short distance to club house with a sea view.
the pool changing area was small and you had to wait to get changed, it wasnt that busy so not sure what it would be like in the summer, the pool was warm enough, the lockers tool 20p but u didnt get them back. I booked fencing for my daughter of 9yrs she seemed to enjoy it although was £8 for about 40mins. The drinks were ok priced in bar, the resturant menu was quiet reasonable but we had carvery on the sunday £8.95 portion was small but the beef was lovely but it wasnt very warm, service was quick and again all staff helpful.
Childrens entertainment there was a variety of things on offer for different ages in the morning and at night, we stayed up to watch the sunday show which all staff worked very hard to dance and sing to a small crowd.. It was a pleasant stay and would go back perhaps when a bit warmer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Booked a prestige caravan which was beautiful and exceptionally clean. Grounds are well maintained.

The kids club is excellent and there lots for them to do. The bar had no draft juice the whole week I was there which meant drinks were expensive. Had to buy bottled juice all the time! I am not sure whether they do this as the make more money!

I would visit the camp again but only if I got a cheaper deal.

A special mention to all the 'stars' and in particular chris who was great with the kids!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longniddry
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lochend Serviced Apartments
#142 of 148 in Edinburgh
170 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seton Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seton Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Seton Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Seton Sands, Longniddry EH32 0QF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Longniddry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Longniddry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seton Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Seton Sands Hotel Longniddry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing