We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checked out at 2am that says it all!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Checked out at 2am that says it all!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel which from the outside looked nice and modern got inside and there was a horrible cold feel waited at reception for a while and no one arrived to check us in so we went into the restaurant/bar and asked someone to check us in.We got given room key 11 the room was freezing very big and spacious bathroom floors not very clean loads of hairs.We went down to the bar for a drink and a heat the prices were reasonable but never got a heat.In the bathrooms there was no hot water or in the rooms couldn't go for a shower as the water was freezing now i would like to know how staff in the kitchen and serving food managed to wash there hands.However dinner was very nice portion size very good and food was delicious service was very good nice pleasant girl.we later went back to the room at 10pm which even under the covers was cold and then the karoke started you would think it was in my room horrendous noise level and to top it off a noise from a generator went on till 1.30 by this time we had had enough packed our stuff and tried to leave only to discover a shutter down on reception and main doors locked terrible to be locked in finally found a member of staff who apologized and said there heating and hot water was broke and the noise was the cooler that goes off at 2am so if you want a nice cosy quiet weekend which they advertise on the website Do not go here!!! If you read other reviews most people say the same so the excuse about the heating broke doesn't wash with me will never be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgoldrickscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    87
    45
    30
    35
See reviews for
69
84
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My sons got us a voucher for two nights for our Wedding Anniversary and the hotel gave us the best room in the hotel, a nice welcome at reception and everything explained about the voucher deal. Had pre booked our meal time which I would advise to do as the resturant was exceptionally busy and after our meal I knew why, the food was brilliant and the service superb and great value even without a deal. The Hotel is in the running for Pub grub of the year and on merit should have a great chance of winning, room was modern and ideal for one or two nights and there is entertainment at the weekends. Overall a great Hotel wih all staff Excellent!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I should have known from the first call to make the booking that something was wrong. The receptionist was very rude. We were on a voucher and unfortunately, that meant we got very poor service and we were made to feel very uncomfortable. We were overcharged on alcohol (items at £3 on the menu we were charged £7 for). This apparently to voucher holders. We had no hot water and reception didn't seem interested in helping us out. However, bar staff were good. The room was fine and modern but there is a very nasty atmosphere that made us leave as soon as we could.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonelyTraceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilsyth hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal with reasonably good service however on arrival we were greeted with a rather unhappy looking head waitress who seemed angry at the fact we hadn't booked. We had a 10 minute wait before being shown to our table and thereafter we had a great experience. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Got this on a Glasgow great deal, great meal with an extensive menu with only a few things where we would have to pay a supplement on (meal was part of the deal and included a small glass of wine), portions were large and the service was good even tho' the staff were rushed off their feet.
1/2 kilo of mussels in a garlic & cream sauce as a starter then a 10 oz rump steak meal cooked to perfection ......no supplement to pay!

Bedrooms bit small but very clean, a bit noisy due to bar and disco closing at 1:00 am but expected as it was the weekend.

No hot water in the evening but fine in morning albiet the shower does go from hot to cold a few times.

A freshly cooked breakfast was good but the 4-slice toaster for all is a bit of a pain and a hot water jug for tea is not the best + coffee was luke warm but not the end of the world.

£10:00 deposit for the tv remote is a new one to me but probably may be justified due to some people, anyway you get your money back at check out.

Strange that we couldn't charge the meal drinks or bar costs to the room but no big deal.

All in all it was a good experience staff were pleasing and we would do it again considering the price (£49:00 per couple).

Room Tip: Room at the back would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Una N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Arrived to find a cold bedroom, no heat and we had to switch this on ourselves. Then the same for the bathroom, we eventually found the switch on e plug for the towel heater in bathroom. We had cold showers. Whilst the breakfast was reasonable, there was a four slice toaster to share amongst all the guests together with watered down orange juice and v poor quality coffee. The seating in the dining area was filthy especially the suedette covered seats. By chance we arrived back to the hotel before 1am, the main doors were being locked no one had advised us that the doors are a locked at night so we requested a key for the following evening. The bedrooms were small though clean.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Worst place I have ever eaten. Service was horrendous! Will not be back, so noisy and I went for family meal. Bar manager so cheeky aswell. I am a local and wanted o stay close to home for a nice meal, just instead I left angry and annoyed. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxxbooya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
4.3 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Cumbernauld) Hotel
4.6 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.3 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glasgow Stepps Garfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Parkfoot Street | Glasgow, Kilsyth G65 0SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel And Restaurant
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing