We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Service”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I eat in this Hotel at least once per week (sometimes more)
The decor and atmosphere are great. Excellent service, friendly staff, great menu and tasty food, what more do you need? I also go for a drink at the weekend and the lounge has an adjoining `Dancefloor' and sometimes there's a Karaoke on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1972-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    87
    46
    31
    37
See reviews for
72
85
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

actually didnt stay over at hotel as requested a refund and checked out at 11pm due to extremely loud music and customers late at night. this hotel seems to turn into a mini-nightclub for locals at weekends and whilst this may suit some customers it didnt suit us. advertised a 'quiet' weekend getaway on website so very misleading. we ate here earlier in the day and the food was lovely. room was very clean. small but cosy. possibly a better hotel to stay in through the week and for some people the disco/late night entertainment on a weekend may actually be an incentive to stay. staff were on the whole very pleasant and polite although the lady who worked reception earlier in the day when we checked in did not do much to promote the usual scottish hospitality and friendliness i have came to expect when i visit north of the border! she was dour and abrupt. that said i would stay here again but only through the week and with assurance from staff that no partys etc were planned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Iv been here a few times the food is good and the prices are ok the staff very friendly and go the extra mile for you . if u have a craving for something not on the menu the chef will do their bert to get u what u want which is great . the rooms are basic and are clean . i would come again .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in one of their recently refurbished rooms. The room including bathroom was small but adequate for our needs and spotlessly clean. Noise seems to be a problem with this hotel, particularly the music playing in the downstairs bar and function room. Wooden floors in the bedroom might look nice but perhaps carpeting would be more practical. Don’t expect to get to sleep before 1.30am if there is a function taking place below.

At check-in, you have to pay a £10 deposit for the tv remote control. They’re supposed to inform you that if you’re going to be late back, you need a set of keys. We didn’t know this and were caught out one evening. Not a nice experience!

Breakfast was basic. Shame they couldn’t even lay out a choice of fresh fruit or pastries. No breakfast menus to look through – you just told the waitress (if you could find a member of staff) what you wanted and it was cooked to order. The food was nice but portions were small. We would have liked to have eaten an evening meal but they stop serving food at 9pm (even for residents). The restaurant has a very good reputation and we saw lots of delicious dishes being served.

The price of our stay was reasonable for the locality and standard of accommodation. The whole place has a very good buzz about it and is popular with locals. We wouldn’t book hotel accommodation again but would try out the restaurant during our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear as traffic noise at the front is a big problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kilsyth hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My daughters had some lunches during the day and enjoyed, we decided to go there for dinner one Friday evening as family of four. We did enjoyed our evening and the food was nice too. Good selection for menu however perhaps trying too hard. We had nachos and fried king prawn in batter with sweet and chill sauce to share for starter, which were very nice. We had swordfish steak, mac & cheese, sea bass with oriental noodles and cajan chicken. These were all nice but we found mac &cheese to be over-priced and some were a bit too ambitious. Overall we did have a good nice and service was very good with smiles. It's a pity that the place got very noisy with music after 9.30pm to cater more for pub goers.
I think they have very good deal for lunches during the week, so I shall come back here to try these next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eimatretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Two weeks ago we went on the Glasgow deals package for an overnight stay with3 course dinner and a glass of wine,complete with breakfast for the amazing price of ....£45 per couple. Right from check in the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms are a bit tired but had all the amenities we needed.The restaurant was very busy and after we had our lovely meal...we knew why...the food was FAB, especially the Venison and mustard mash main course, it would have cost more than the amount we paid for the deal just for this dinner and still been worth it.After dinner there was a band playing, so that added to our night.Breakfast was very good in the morning.We would return to this hotel, although as I said before, accomodation could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just spent two nights at the coachman and honestly say I wish I had gone some where else, where do I start. The rooms are very small with wallpaper coming off the wall, the varnish round the widow is peeling and it looks like it has not been redone or even cleaned for a number of years. The bathroom is so small that you have to sit in the sink to close the door, the shower took ten mins to anywhere near war but it did matter because once you manage to get in to the shower it was so small I could move. If you want to watch TV in you room you have to hire the tv remote for ten pounds
The restaurant has been refurbished although a bit strange, the food was great lots of it and hot shame most of it was deep fried, the bar was a bit expensive twelve pounds for a whisky and a glass of wine.
The main bar while being very popular with the local people does mean its a lot of noise.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here because there is no where else ask for room 1 it's the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photok9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
4.3 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
485 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.6 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkintilloch
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
132 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 4 Parkfoot Street | Glasgow, Kilsyth G65 0SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coachman Hotel And Restaurant
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing