We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Brockieside

Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Brockieside from across the valley at Dullatur showing Tomtain above. Solid Beech Worktop, Sink and Utensils
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Brockieside from across the valley at Dullatur showing Tomtain above.
Solid Beech Worktop, Sink and Utensils
Livingroom/Bedroom.
Living Room/Bedroom Showing fold down settee.
Antique Cast Iron Stove
Wee Waterfall in Colzium Estate.
Tak Ma Doon Road from Brockieside in Winter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alexis T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This cottage was well equipped, clean throughout with everything we needed, including some very nice fresh eggs and a box of chocolates. The location is great for walks and Peter was very helpful in showing us how everything worked. Thankyou for a lovely weekend and we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GriffAndy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ode to Brockieside”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed awhile in Brockieside
With gorgeous views our hearts just sighed,
Peter and Kim made us feel so much at home
As round the cottage we did roam,
With the cutest dog called Hera we played,
Such wonderful memories were forever made.
Along with the chickens that laid eggs with taste ,
We rushed back each day with total haste,
A spiritual place to make your soul
A settled peaceful wonderful whole,
Idyllic setting, historic heart,
Traditions, love, we would never part
Until the final moment there,
More than a cottage, a place full of care,
On Brockieside hill where you stand above,
You have filled us with fondness and filled us with love.

Thank you Peter. We will absolutely be back. A wonderful, special place. Angie and Andy xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
What a heartwarming wee poem/review! Thank you so much, it means a huge amount to know that the shelter Brockieside offers is so appreciated. And thank you for being such lovely caring guests.....haste ye back (: xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pphilipse...
Leende, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect welcome and service and a very lovely house on a beautiful place on the mountain.”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This house was and is really very nice. It lays against a mountain, very quietly, beautiful views. The house itself is very lovely and very complete. Peter is a fantastic owner, he takes well for his visitors. We stayed 3 weeks in England and Scotland, this was our most perfect house. We can recommend this house to families 2-4 people and is a short ride to the lakes and the mountains. You can walk to everywhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
It was a delight to have your family here at Brockieside, thank you for choosing to stay here and for being such caring guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbr0wn201...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very welcoming and helpful owner”
Reviewed July 21, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very picturesque rural location with the convenience of Kilsyth nearby, and good rail access to Stirling, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Rural and relaxed. A very personable and helpful owner. A great little base, but possibly not suitable for someone with a disability.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rchlnwtn3...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful retreat”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location looking out to the mountains beyond. It's a well appointed ingeniously designed compact cottage. We really enjoyed our stay and didn't want for anything as it was so well provisioned. We even got chocolates and free range eggs from Peter's fabulous collection of hens (we don't think the chocolates were from the hens). Peter couldn't have been more helpful or approachable as a host. I would not hesitate to recommend it. On top of that, we were able to take our beloved Rigby who also enjoyed the experience away from home and meeting Peter's dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M
1 review
“Wonderful, pet friendly self catering, with magnificent view from cottage.”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Convenient location for accessing most of central belt. Peter, the owner, is very welcoming. The view from the cottage is breathtaking.Clean, tidy and comfortable inside. Peter even provided some eggs from his free range chickens -delicious. Much nicer than staying in a hotel. We will be staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, France
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming owner
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing