We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The lambs are ewing and Heather and her family...”
other travelers have booked this property
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!. Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Settle in at Stoury Bothy.  
Breathe in some fresh air.  And Relax!! xx
Grounds outside and looking eastward.  Plenty parking spaces!.
Hydrangea outside the patio doors in full bloom.
View of living area from kitchen
Oh I wish I knew how to upload photos!
Three wee birdies by the lamp in the double bedroom.
Chooks and hunky cockerel..scraps in...eggs out!
Garden and outside seating area - perfect to use the barbecue!
Standing stone overlooking Townhead Resevoir (known as The Damn or Banton Loch)
View over the Kelvin Valley from the farm.
Beautiful countryside views from all around the Bothy.
Swans and cygnets from the local Mill Pond.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Maureen B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The lambs are ewing and Heather and her family are happy.”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great place to stay. Everything you need and tucked a bit inside away from the main stream, but close enough to get where you want to go. Wonderful "surprise" basket. Treated like family. Heather sent her son's and daughters and herself as well to make sure we had all we needed. Got to see the solar eclipse due to Heathers attention to our needs. Clean well stocked accommodations. Wish we couldn't stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to our needs.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2015
We thank you so much for your kind review and warm words in our wee visitor book too. You had a lovely time at the bothy with your husband, and it was gorgeous Spring weather in Scotland. At that time of the year we were lambing, and it was nice to let you see that aspect of farm life. You are more than welcome to come all the way back over the "pond" and stay here again. We hope we showed you a genuine little corner of Scotland. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahP500...
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I was searching the web for overnight accommodation for a friend's wedding at Glenskirlie Castle (5 mins drive away), when I came across this gem of a place! Based on the reviews I decided we should extend our stay to 4 nights & take the kids along as well. I'm so glad I did, Heather is the perfect host and made us feel so welcome despite it being their busy lambing season. The Bothy is a lovely cosy place with amazing views & lots of little extras like baby lambs! I only wished we could have stayed longer! Many thanks to Heather & Dov, a very hardworking couple!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie D
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Fabulous hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. Cottage is fully equipped with everything you require including beverages, snacks, all linen, cleaning products and even painkillers which thankfully we didn't need. Likely to return again soon.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2015
Thank you to you all. I always have the pain killers..whether it's Hogmanay or not! Nothing worse than a headache on your holidays! So glad that you had a good stay and we would be really pleased for you all to return anytime.X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSLT
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful Country Home From Home”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely peaceful stay at the Stoury Bothy. It was pristinely clean and we were wonderfully surprised by the generous welcome basket, which Heather provided.

The main bedroom was generously sized, with an additional single bed. The other double bedroom was beautifully decorated and set out.

There was access from both the kitchen and the 2nd bedroom to the bathroom, which was large, warm and attractive.

The views from the Bothy were lovely, especially the one towards Banton Loch, which was the main reason we were visiting Kilsyth.

Although the lounge/kitchen was a bit 'nippy' on arrival, they didn't take long to heat up.

I cannot heap enough praise on the Stoury Bothy and Heather's hosting skills (nothing was too much trouble and she had a wealth of knowledge and a sunny disposition). We genuinely didn't want to leave and cannot wait to go back.

Heather should be proud.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so happy that you found what you came for. It was really moving to hear your reason for coming, and we will gladly welcome you back - perhaps in the summer time, when Banton looks even bonnier!. Take care and come back soon ! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynis L
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were made very welcome at this pretty cottage,warm and cosy with great views.everything we needed was there on arrival,milk,bread and butter and a lovely hamper containing local products and a bottle of wine which we enjoyed sitting outside admiring the view and farm life.
We enjoyed a trip to Loch Lomond and were very impressed with the nearby Falkirk Wheel,a great feat of engineering.
We would like to thank Heather for looking after us so well and being so kind to our ageing black Labrador Jack!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. You were more than welcome and we are so glad that you enjoyed the Golf and the nearby visitor attractions. Jack was an exemplary guest and I think he quite enjoyed his wee break too! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red_1ndia...
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place and Superb Hosts !!”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Thanks for the lovely stay Heather, can never forget the hospitality and the real taste of Scotland you provided us with.

The bothy is better than a 5-star hotel and your personal touch makes it 7-star.

We love you all.

Love to Dove and the Kids !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Dear Rob and family,--many thanks for your uplifting words. I was having a bad week when your review came back and it fairly cheered me up! We are so glad that you enjoyed the time you had here and made the most of the nearby night life!. We hope you have settled back into life in Belfast once again. Please feel free to visit us again and we will try and catch another wild haggis for you to devour! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammc671
Siggiewi, Malta
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We all had a wonderful time at Stoury Bouthy. The location is superb and both Edinburgh and Glasgow can be reached within minutes by car. Parking at the cottage is no problem at all. The cottage is very well maintained and extremely clean. Heather has been very friendly and helpful, and apart from the excellent pack found on our first day, one afternoon she surprised us with home made muffins(which, by the way were delicious). We wished we could spend some more days there and would definitely recommend this cottage. Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness and the friendly atmosphere we found.
Liked least: Nothing in particular.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2014
Dear Charlie and family, thank you very much for the kind feedback from Malta. We are glad you had a good stay at the bothy and made the most of the nearby attractions. We hope you have got used to the warmth of Malta after acclimatising to the Scottish climate! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing