We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation, great restaurant”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boathouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilsyth B&B and Inns
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation, great restaurant”
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Nice hotel outside Glasgow (around 20 min drive) along the canal. We booked through laterooms.com and got a good rate on the double room which included a cooked breakfast at the Boathouse Restaurant.

The double room we were given was extremely spacious. The hotel itself is less than 12 months old - fittings are of a high standard and it felt very cozy. Wi-fi is also provided - access code available from the restaurant.

The restaurant is worth dining at - very comprehensive menu and food was good. We recommend making a reservation as the evening was very busy (Saturday evening) with what looked like locals out for a special meal.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    107
    47
    35
    20
See reviews for
89
131
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Booked on late rooms at £60 B&B. Customer service was very attentive & friendly. Food at both dinner & breakfast was generous and of excellent quality. Restaurant area open & welcoming - very attractive. Contemporary luxury accommodation - quiet, clean and very comfortable. Thoughtful extras e.g. real milk (free) in the room's mini fridge; different types of sachets from norm for tea/hot chocolate; morning papers brought personally to breakfast table. Only slight criticisms would be: the shortage of an electric socket beside the room mirror for hairdryer and just a small shaving mirror in the bathroom. Definitely highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We fancied getting away for the night, and found this hotel on laterooms. When we arrived we were met by very friendly staff and were shown to our lovely little boutique room.

Everything in the room was so clean, and very modern. It had all we could ask for.

We had booked dinner using their online service as soon as we booked the room. We were pretty glad, as even on a week night it was such a busy place. We realised why after our meal! The food was fantastic, good British food and served perfectly. Definitely recommend the Seafood Tempura as a starter!

Breakfast was a struggle to eat as we were still full from the evening before, but again it was great! a choice of a few dishes with a BIG glass of orange juice! (not sure if anyone else gets as annoyed as we do when you go for breakfast at a hotel and they serve the fruit juice is piddly wee glasses! lol)

Hopefully will go back, even just for a meal as it was such a nice setting. Looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJField1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

What a great find, a little gem , only 10 mins from the motorway. We recieved a very warm friendly welcome and the owner didn't hesitate to offer to share their transport to the concert we were attending (although this probably isn't part of the usual package!) Our room was 1st class, very modern and clean. The food and service were excellent.The hotel is situated beside the Auchinstarry Marina and at the foot of the Kilsyth Hills,the weather was mixed,but didnt diminish the fantastic views. The ducks swimming around the marina added to the entertainment value. We were made very welcome by all the staff and will definately be paying another visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSTNewtonAycliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We were looking for a local and not too expensive place to stay whilst attending a family wedding nearby and found The Boathouse comfortably met our needs. While researching, the website (www.boathousekilsyth.co.uk) provided good information to us, regarding the rooms, rates, and a downloadable file of the entire restaurant menu.

On arrival, don’t look for reception, as there isn’t one! The comfortable area just to the front area of the restaurant, suitable for leisurely coffee, tea or bar refreshments conveniently and subtly is used as check-in/out. Helpful staff directed us to our well appointed rooms, complete with flat screen tv, hairdryer, iron AND ironing board and minibar, with complementary bottled water and orange juice. There is free wi-fi available, but unfortunately, we found out in the morning that it had been down, and my Vodafone mobile broadband dongle was only able to pick up poor GPRS. The wi-fi was fixed that morning. The bathroom was well appointed, with lovely fresh white towels each morning, and adequate toiletries. Good lighting, especially at the mirror when it is required for shaving, makeup etc.

We used the restaurant for one evening meal and 2 breakfasts. The whole area is decorated to a high tasteful standard, with a lovely outdoor decking area also. The menu for evening meals is extensive, delicious and worthy of a visit, purely to eat. The service was attentive and friendly and not overbearing. We felt the meal for four we shared was very good value for money. Clearly, with only 10 rooms, breakfast is cooked to order, and is not a buffet style. There were 4 or 5 choices for hot, cooked breakfasts, including a full Scottish breakfast, scrambled eggs on toast, eggs Benedict, and bacon with French toast and maple syrup. In addition, there were toast, cereal and fruit choices.

Within the direct locality, there is a lovely walk alongside the Forth/Clyde Canal, where, I believe it is possible to book a canal boat ride. The Boathouse is just out of Kilsyth, between there and Croy, which is only a 10 minute drive from the main M80. You’d never know it. The whole area is extremely tranquil and peaceful, ideal for a relaxing few days away, but close enough to motorway connections for convenience. We look forward to trying the sister restaurant at Falkirk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefightersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
2.8 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
0.8 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
9.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
510 reviews
5.6 mi away
Glazert Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing