We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day - What A Treat”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boathouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilsyth B&B and Inns
Solihull, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mother's Day - What A Treat”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Family treat and surprise booked for Mother's Day. We travelled 300+ miles to join in the surprise element. We could hardly have been more pleased with the attention of the staff nor with the choice or quality of the meals delivered to us with no fuss. The waitress was happy to offer small tweaks to the menu as displayed - superb.

The restaurant was very very busy but at no time did we feel abandoned by our waitress nor were we rushed to vacate the table.

A thoroughly enjoyable time was had by all. The Glenskirlie could learn a tip or two from The Boathouse.

Room Tip: This is a Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    107
    47
    35
    20
See reviews for
89
131
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Travelling for business as I do I have had some real horror stories in the past. Needless to say I didn’t find one here.

The location for me was great just down the road from Glasgow and with good links to the M8.

Being on the canal and at the foot of some beautiful hills its surroundings are breath-taking to say the least.

Warm welcome and friendly staff compliment the very clean tidy well laid out bar area, I was shown to my room and was just so impressed the size the layout, the standard of fittings, bathroom all of it was great clean and not dated.

My room looked out over the marina which is a postcard in its self.

After a hard day’s work out with a work colleague who lived 10 mins up the road but had never been here before. We met for dinner and a few beers before.

The service was very attentive but not intrusive, we worked at our table and were looked after well, the dinner arrived and I can honestly say it’s pretty much perfect, lots of it hot and delicious and the price knocked me over.

Great night’s sleep and onto breakfast, being a true Englishman I hold our breakfast in high regards...........well I did, the full Scottish at the Boathouse shows we are just playing at breakfast, I now have a favourite brekka and its here no doubts at all.

To conclude you will have already gathered this place is just about as good as it gets, but wait there can’t be more you ask, B&B was £50-00 all in, when I go back in Feb for 2 nights its gone up to £60-00 a night down south they could charge double and still be full.

Keep it up Boathouse and see you in a month.

Spence

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerNegus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked for one night's stay and meal for Hogmanay and have to say it's definitely one of the most memorable New Year's eve -nings I've had. My wife and I were given the Clyde room, all rooms are named after canals, and found it spacious, clean and very well presented. I tend to judge a bathroom on its shower and this one, over a bath was exceptionally good, the type that can drill needles of hot water through you. The view from the bedroom across the basin of canal boats to the hills was a great setting. The lighting was well thought out around the room and particularly over the bed, spotlights allowing reading in bed easier than most others where you tend to have strain your eyes leaning over to a little side table lamp. A flatscreen wall tv had plenty of channel choice. The only drawback I could find was having to walk outside round the building to get to the restaurant, which could be a real problem in bad weather although we were lucky and it was quite dry. The restaurant was great with a high standard of cuisine and friendly staff. A brilliant way of seeing in the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkiebard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting The Boathouse on Friday 12 October with a friend for lunch. A first for me, but will definitely be repeating the experience. Not having been here before I had no pre conceived expectations. The location on the canal basin is inspiring with beautiful views of the hills and surrounding countryside. Inside, the restaurant was very well presented and relaxing. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. Our starter of Stornaway black pudding with poached egg and mushrooms was presented beautifully and tasted like an angel had made it. (The best poached egg I have ever seen or tasted, quality of the highest degree) I had Haggis Neeps and Tatties for my main and the waitress did ask me if I wanted a half or full, of course I asked for full, as soon as it arrived I understood why they give the option! Big portions. This was a first class eating experience which I would recommend to everyone. Top marks to The Boathouse.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having read a lot of these reviews, I was really surprised at the negative content. I have been going to The Boathouse since it opened and I have never had any reason to complain ( friends and family are amazed because I like a moan!) I have found the standards of food and service have been excellent, even on Saturday night when I dined with my wife and her family. There was a child's birthday party just winding down as we were seated and the remainder of the restaurant was extremely busy, but our waitress did a sterling job getting us drinks and taking our food order.
Despite the place "bouncing", the service and food were as good as ever and we will be back soon. I must be really lucky!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Can't really comment on the rooms this visit, but we stayed overnight back in April. We had a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Scottish friends recommended a weekend stay at The Boathouse hotel and restaurant. The room was well appointed. Everything was clean with towels changed each day. There was good strength Wifi. We had booked for a Friday evening meal, which was excellent food well presented, and with a good selection of wines. Pleasant décor in the restaurant. The hotel is set pleasantly on the small marina on the canal side. Kilsyth itself is not so picturesque but is within reasonable distance of some very pleasant places, including the Trossachs National Park. My mate from college days was our excellent local guide. We saw some beautiful sights during the weekend. The Boathouse was a good base, and I wish we'd returned for the Saturday evening meal, rather than the tack Indian in Stirling. If touring in the area I'd certainly return to stay and eat at the Boathouse.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muso90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I eat here on a regular basis but was really disappointed today. Service was really poor. I think when the weather is good and there are lots of people earing outside they just lose track. Waited 45mins for our meal. People who came in after us had a starter and main course before we were served only with a main. The same thing happened last time I sat outside. Poor show folks. The people I was with we're there for the first time and won't be back.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Firball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
2.8 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
0.8 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
9.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
509 reviews
5.6 mi away
Glazert Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing