We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and will return soon”
Review of The Boathouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boathouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Kilsyth B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous and will return soon”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My girlfirend booked us in for dinner,bed and breakfast before reading any reviews and after having done so we were a bit apprehensive as some some of the comments were less than complimentary. When we arrived we were greeted by the manager who showed us to our room. The room had a view overlooking the marina and was equipped with everything needed for an overnight stay as well as being spotlessly clean. Dinner was also very good indeed and very reasonably priced for the quality of food we received. After dinner we sat in the bar for a couple of drinks and when the place had quietened down the manager came and chatted to us. We mentioned the bad reviews which he was aware of and told us that there is now a new management team in place and also a new head chef and that the owner regulary visits London,Glasgow and Edinburgh to for new ideas and to try keep up with the latest trends. I can recommend the "Posh breakfast" it consists of Stornaway black pudding in parma ham with poached egg and hollandaise sauce and rocket it is quite simply superb. So a big thank you to the management and staff for making our stay welcoming and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donnie3057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    102
    46
    33
    20
See reviews for
86
124
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Arrived for dinner and had to sit in the bar area. Table was sticky with 2 dead flowers in mucky water on it! Waited a while on our order being taken and chose the deal of 2 courses for £8.95. Glad we didn't pay for full price meals. Red tai curry was tasteless and bland and portions were very small. Service slow and the majority of customers were very rough. Won't be back, and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have visited this place on two occasions and have left before the food arrived, if it ever did !. We ordered two Waldorf salad starters, not difficult you would think, and 45 minutes later hungry and bewildered we were still waiting. The waiting staff.....loosely termed wandered around with obviously no clue to what table ordered what.
In a nutshell, we got up and left, never to return.....bear in mind this is the second occasion, the first time was a similar experience.
If you want service, do not go to this overpriced 'restaurant'.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimb_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We popped into The Boathouse on the offchance of getting a table. The restaurant was very busy but accomodated us without a fuss and were very welcoming of us despite us having a small child and a baby!

The decor was very stylish and clean and tidy and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

To be honest, we had heard bad things about the service but never experienced any negatives with the meals arriving very quickly.

We had our meal and then sat outside enjoying the beautiful surroundings.

All in all, an excellent experience. Far exceeding our expectations.

Will definately be back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audpod11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

If you're looking for a quick lunch say about 1 hour max don't go near this place! We waited 10mins just to get a menu and put our drinks orders in, 20mins later we still didn't even have our drinks! We just left! And salvaged our lunchtime at the local M&S. We've eaten here before and the food is good on the whole but fairly overpriced, but boy O boy! is the service slow, slow, slow!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I went along for lunch on Sunday, expecting to dine with my partner and her sons. They'd done me up like a kipper, though, and we were escorted through to a private room at the back of the restaurant - where the rest of the family waited!

Obviously the company and the occasion made for a good experience, but it was only enhanced by the attentiveness of the staff and the quality of the food. I'd eaten there before a number of times and never been disappointed; that trend continued and when you think they were serving 20 people from a fairly extensive menu at the same time, they did really well.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Having been to the boathouse before for food and found it reasonable a group of friends and I went one evening for a drink. We decided to order cocktails...big mistake. It took 40minutes to bring the drinks which were then un-recognisable to a cocktail you would expect to find elsewhere. When we complained to the 'manageress' we were treated extremely poorly, were made to feel like we were an imposition, never mind the fact we had spent a small fortune on drinks. To top this all off I then wrote a letter of complaint which went ignored, I then emailed my letter directly to The Boathouse and have not received any response!!! Customer service? I think not. Suffice to say I will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
0.8 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.2 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
132 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Garfield House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Mondo Hotel
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse

Property: The Boathouse
Address: Auchinstarry, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Kilsyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kilsyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boathouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Boathouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Kilsyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing