We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will use again and again for golf trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will use again and again for golf trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is a great location for golfers. Blairgowrie, Alyth, Glenisla, Forfar and more - are all within a short drive. We stayed as a group of 6 for the 2nd year running and will continue to go back.

The rooms are big, clean and fresh. The restaurant has a great menu with excellent food. The staff made a big difference for us. Really friendly, nothing was too much trouble and it felt like they really wanted to make the trip memorable for us. Alan arranged all our golf and it worked like clockwork even though we made a couple of changes to the itinerary, nothing was too much trouble.

Facilities were good too. Free Wifi, Gym, squash court, Snooker Hall and Pool tables as well as a large bar with plenty of space for groups to convene.

The only criticism from me would be that the showers in the room felt a little underpowered.

Room Tip: We've had rooms in both the new part and the old part of the hotel and both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
47
31
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stopped here for lunch, 3 of us and we all had something different for main course and dessert and every dish was good .The restaurant was quite busy but the staff coped very well and we were served fairly quickly and with a smile.The lunchtime menu had a good selection at reasonable prices. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner twice at the Red House Hotel dining room during a recent trip to the highlands. The first time was after a long drive from Edinburgh to Ballater and the second time we went out of our way to have dinner there again. The large dining rooms are part of a medium sized and comfortable looking hotel, and the outer dining room has a good view of a small garden. The menu has a wide range of choices, fast friendly service, helpful staff and reasonable prices. We had the daily specials when we visited and did not have room for dessert. Several tour busses were leaving both times and they appeared to have a separate dining room set up for these guests. Worth a visit if you are staying there or passing through.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A group of 20 golfers stayed here on the23rd of may for the weekend the hotel was really nice resturaunt was great food was excellent the staff although quite young were also excellent in fact not one of the group had any complaints whatsoever I would recommend this hotel to groups like ours without hesitation

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great service from Alan and all his staff,A group of 20 golfers stayed 2 nights and played 3 rounds food fantastic , fillet steak to die for rooms good and free wifi throughout the hotel . Played rosemount landsdowne and glenisla . All courses very good but rosemount was great and in fab condition . If you are looking to book a group off golfers then Alan will take care of all your needs ,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Today myself an my wife stopped at the Red house hotel. In Coupar Angus and I ordered their Jumbo Haddock. It came with a portion of chips(French fries) and a portion of peas, with a side dish of Horse raddish sauce. (Ready made and obviously from a catering sized Jar bought in from some catering company)

The Chips(French fries, again most probably bought in from the same catering company) tasted of nothing recognisable However,they were remarkable in their consistency, all of them I tried, having the texture of I would presume, deep fried Chip board, hard and difficult to masticate, were left practically untouched.
Now comes the Jumbo Haddock. Not at all Jumbo but a little larger than a normal lunch time portion, was insipid, semi transparent and utterly tasteless. I am positive I was served Pollock (Coley or Cole fish) the cheapest fish and the most tasteless fish that ever was drawn ashore. Coley was used as animal food till other fine Scottish fish were sold abroad or overfished . Nowadays it is sold as a whitefish alongside the better species.
I Fail to see why The red House restaurant would serve cheap pre cooked Chips, (French fries and the cheapest of peas, alongside fine a Aberdeen landed Haddock. No restaurant "worth it's salt" would.
Avoid this place or, pay what you feel it is worth, which you are quite within your rights to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dougsieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent service and food. Very friendly place and handy for the Blairgowrie Golf Courses. Stayed with my wife one night and another after our golf at Rosemount. Good value for money and looking forward to going back this September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupar Angus
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#1 of 8 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
4.2 mi away
Altamount House Hotel
Altamount House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Property: The Red House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Coupar Angus PH13 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Coupar Angus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red House Hotel is a family run Hotel & Restaurant in the heart of Coupar Angus, Perthshire. Each of our bedrooms is en-suite and encompasses all the comforts of home. All the rooms have satellite TV, direct dial telephone and free WiFi throughout the hotel. The Hotel has an exciting mix of traditional and modern foods, served all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Red House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing