We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“very nice lunch”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stopped here for lunch, 3 of us and we all had something different for main course and dessert and every dish was good .The restaurant was quite busy but the staff coped very well and we were served fairly quickly and with a smile.The lunchtime menu had a good selection at reasonable prices. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
58
40
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
694 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner twice at the Red House Hotel dining room during a recent trip to the highlands. The first time was after a long drive from Edinburgh to Ballater and the second time we went out of our way to have dinner there again. The large dining rooms are part of a medium sized and comfortable looking hotel, and the outer dining room has a good view of a small garden. The menu has a wide range of choices, fast friendly service, helpful staff and reasonable prices. We had the daily specials when we visited and did not have room for dessert. Several tour busses were leaving both times and they appeared to have a separate dining room set up for these guests. Worth a visit if you are staying there or passing through.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A group of 20 golfers stayed here on the23rd of may for the weekend the hotel was really nice resturaunt was great food was excellent the staff although quite young were also excellent in fact not one of the group had any complaints whatsoever I would recommend this hotel to groups like ours without hesitation

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great service from Alan and all his staff,A group of 20 golfers stayed 2 nights and played 3 rounds food fantastic , fillet steak to die for rooms good and free wifi throughout the hotel . Played rosemount landsdowne and glenisla . All courses very good but rosemount was great and in fab condition . If you are looking to book a group off golfers then Alan will take care of all your needs ,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kev588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Today myself an my wife stopped at the Red house hotel. In Coupar Angus and I ordered their Jumbo Haddock. It came with a portion of chips(French fries) and a portion of peas, with a side dish of Horse raddish sauce. (Ready made and obviously from a catering sized Jar bought in from some catering company)

The Chips(French fries, again most probably bought in from the same catering company) tasted of nothing recognisable However,they were remarkable in their consistency, all of them I tried, having the texture of I would presume, deep fried Chip board, hard and difficult to masticate, were left practically untouched.
Now comes the Jumbo Haddock. Not at all Jumbo but a little larger than a normal lunch time portion, was insipid, semi transparent and utterly tasteless. I am positive I was served Pollock (Coley or Cole fish) the cheapest fish and the most tasteless fish that ever was drawn ashore. Coley was used as animal food till other fine Scottish fish were sold abroad or overfished . Nowadays it is sold as a whitefish alongside the better species.
I Fail to see why The red House restaurant would serve cheap pre cooked Chips, (French fries and the cheapest of peas, alongside fine a Aberdeen landed Haddock. No restaurant "worth it's salt" would.
Avoid this place or, pay what you feel it is worth, which you are quite within your rights to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dougsieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent service and food. Very friendly place and handy for the Blairgowrie Golf Courses. Stayed with my wife one night and another after our golf at Rosemount. Good value for money and looking forward to going back this September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I had a delicious lunch (Carvery Lunch) on Sunday 27th April 2014. Both starters were beautifully presented, my husband had Stornoway black pudding with poached egg placed on top, and a lovely fresh salad. I had chicken liver pate with onion chutney, a fresh salad and oatcakes.
We both opted for the carvery which offered roast beef and pork loin. Boiled potatoes, roast potatoes, carrots, a mixture of cauli, broccoli and cabbage, and the most wonderful real gravy to enhance it. The meats were perfectly cooked and the portions were very generous. The service was very attentive without being in your face, and the dining room was indeed a pleasure to dine in. We certainly will return there. It also offers a very large parking area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cOOk-192014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupar Angus
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
759 reviews
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
733 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
146 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 6 in Blairgowrie
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Property: The Red House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Coupar Angus PH13 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Coupar Angus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red House Hotel is a family run Hotel & Restaurant in the heart of Coupar Angus, Perthshire. Each of our bedrooms is en-suite and encompasses all the comforts of home. All the rooms have satellite TV, direct dial telephone and free WiFi throughout the hotel. The Hotel has an exciting mix of traditional and modern foods, served all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing