We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming dining room on a long road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I had dinner twice at the Red House Hotel dining room during a recent trip to the highlands. The first time was after a long drive from Edinburgh to Ballater and the second time we went out of our way to have dinner there again. The large dining rooms are part of a medium sized and comfortable looking hotel, and the outer dining room has a good view of a small garden. The menu has a wide range of choices, fast friendly service, helpful staff and reasonable prices. We had the daily specials when we visited and did not have room for dessert. Several tour busses were leaving both times and they appeared to have a separate dining room set up for these guests. Worth a visit if you are staying there or passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CFofLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Red House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

A group of 20 golfers stayed here on the23rd of may for the weekend the hotel was really nice resturaunt was great food was excellent the staff although quite young were also excellent in fact not one of the group had any complaints whatsoever I would recommend this hotel to groups like ours without hesitation

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great service from Alan and all his staff,A group of 20 golfers stayed 2 nights and played 3 rounds food fantastic , fillet steak to die for rooms good and free wifi throughout the hotel . Played rosemount landsdowne and glenisla . All courses very good but rosemount was great and in fab condition . If you are looking to book a group off golfers then Alan will take care of all your needs ,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kev588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Today myself an my wife stopped at the Red house hotel. In Coupar Angus and I ordered their Jumbo Haddock. It came with a portion of chips(French fries) and a portion of peas, with a side dish of Horse raddish sauce. (Ready made and obviously from a catering sized Jar bought in from some catering company)

The Chips(French fries, again most probably bought in from the same catering company) tasted of nothing recognisable However,they were remarkable in their consistency, all of them I tried, having the texture of I would presume, deep fried Chip board, hard and difficult to masticate, were left practically untouched.
Now comes the Jumbo Haddock. Not at all Jumbo but a little larger than a normal lunch time portion, was insipid, semi transparent and utterly tasteless. I am positive I was served Pollock (Coley or Cole fish) the cheapest fish and the most tasteless fish that ever was drawn ashore. Coley was used as animal food till other fine Scottish fish were sold abroad or overfished . Nowadays it is sold as a whitefish alongside the better species.
I Fail to see why The red House restaurant would serve cheap pre cooked Chips, (French fries and the cheapest of peas, alongside fine a Aberdeen landed Haddock. No restaurant "worth it's salt" would.
Avoid this place or, pay what you feel it is worth, which you are quite within your rights to do.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank Dougsieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Excellent service and food. Very friendly place and handy for the Blairgowrie Golf Courses. Stayed with my wife one night and another after our golf at Rosemount. Good value for money and looking forward to going back this September.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I had a delicious lunch (Carvery Lunch) on Sunday 27th April 2014. Both starters were beautifully presented, my husband had Stornoway black pudding with poached egg placed on top, and a lovely fresh salad. I had chicken liver pate with onion chutney, a fresh salad and oatcakes.
We both opted for the carvery which offered roast beef and pork loin. Boiled potatoes, roast potatoes, carrots, a mixture of cauli, broccoli and cabbage, and the most wonderful real gravy to enhance it. The meats were perfectly cooked and the portions were very generous. The service was very attentive without being in your face, and the dining room was indeed a pleasure to dine in. We certainly will return there. It also offers a very large parking area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cOOk-192014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

So refreshing to experience such a quality offering that beats the budget chains hands down & on price as well ! Rooms were immaculate & comfortable, food fresh & plentiful , staff welcoming friendly & helpful ... oh & it had the sports channels - no budget hotel offers you that in your room. used it as a 3 night base for business in the area, highly recommended for golf, shooting or just a base for travel in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupar Angus
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
752 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
784 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blairgowrie
146 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 5 in Blairgowrie
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Coupar Angus PH13 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Coupar Angus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red House Hotel is a family run Hotel & Restaurant in the heart of Coupar Angus, Perthshire. Each of our bedrooms is en-suite and encompasses all the comforts of home. All the rooms have satellite TV, direct dial telephone and free WiFi throughout the hotel. The Hotel has an exciting mix of traditional and modern foods, served all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing