We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Certificate of Excellence
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have just spent two days with my golfing friends at The Red House Hotel. Lovely staff, great accommodation and tasty meals. A truly wonderful place to stay for a golfing break as there are several good golf courses nearby. Great value for money as the golf was included in the package. The relaxed atmosphere in the hotel rubbed off on all the guests and we had some good chats with the other residents. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Excellent value for a golfing break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squishy25a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
53
36
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at The Red House Hotel, very good experience, the hotel was very clean, staff friendly and helpful also looked very smart, the food was excellent and can highly recommend the fillet steak, best we've had in a long time, beds were comfortable all round a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexymumSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Last minute desion to go out for a meal and having had been here several times before managed to get in at short notice. Were not let down. Food was good as always and staff as friendly and welcoming as ever. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweettoothsaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and very roomy. All facilities good including flat screen tv. Evening meal was basic but well presented. Similarly breakfast. Friendly staff. Nothing too pretentious. Reception through bar.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElvisInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having spent a weekend with a group of friends in this hotel I can highly recommend it .

The staff were fantastic ,great food and perfectly placed to tour that part of Scotland particularly if you enjoy a game of golf.
The rooms are of a decent size and were kept very clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHunter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Had passed this hotel often and thought it looked inviting for us to have lunch. Unfortunately it was terrible. The roast beef had more fat than beef and the steak pie was the worst we have ever had along with the chips. The veg was the only good thing about the meal. It was also very expensive for what we got. We complained but all we got was "sorry. Will certainly not be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were on a golfing trip. Instead of staying in Carnoustie we drove to Coupar Angus after our morning round at Carnoustie to play at Blairgowrie the next day. It worked out great because the Red House Hotel is located near Blairgowrie and the hotel provided comfortable accommdations. The rooms were large with a shower/bath. Nothing fancy. The beds were very simple metal frame single mattress but comfortable. The rooms had good heating, iron presses, flat screen lcd tv and free wi-fi. The check-in was located in the restaurant/bar because I assume that the regular check-in was closed since it was not very busy. The food was very good. We ordered the main entree special and dessert. The service and staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked the BB&D plan which was a fantastic deal. Overall our stay was very good. I would recommend the Red House to anyone with plans to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupar Angus
5.9 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 7 in Blairgowrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
9.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Property: The Red House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Coupar Angus PH13 9AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Coupar Angus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coupar Angus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red House Hotel is a family run Hotel & Restaurant in the heart of Coupar Angus, Perthshire. Each of our bedrooms is en-suite and encompasses all the comforts of home. All the rooms have satellite TV, direct dial telephone and free WiFi throughout the hotel. The Hotel has an exciting mix of traditional and modern foods, served all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing