We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
230 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“clean but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night mid-week and whilst it was a comfortable room, we were aware of traffic noise coming from the motorway and the adjacent road. I was woken at 04:30 by inconsiderate banging of doors and couldn't get back to sleep - hardly a restful night.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a good room in this hotel as you can hear the noise of the M9 on the carpark si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotchMissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M, General Manager at Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Susie Mackay Team leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    172
    49
    5
    5
See reviews for
185
197
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Premier Inn in Stirling is just off the M9, so convenient if you are driving through, but don't expect to get anywhere without driving, it's really outside of Stirling town. The proximity of the motorway means that you get some noise from the road all night, but it's not bad.

The building has a bit of a cheap motel character, but is clean, seems to be recently refurbished and the reception staff was friendly. We had booked the room as a family room with bedding for 4, which means that it gets pretty cramped with little room to leave your stuff. The proper double bed was really comfy, the kids beds weren't bad either. Wifi is only free for 30 minutes but reasonably strong.

Breakfast and dinner are in the onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant / pub. Extremely good calories for money ratio, but all tastes like bland convenience food. The breakfast is self service and gives you a good choice. There is a small playground next to the restaurant and tables to sit outside.

The plus point is really the value for money, this was the only family room we got in Scotland for less than 100 Pound a night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilaAlbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M, General Manager at Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for you comment about your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Susie Mackay, Team Leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked a night here on the way back down from the Highlands..arriving approx 7.30 pm. We were greeted very courteously at the desk and handed our key to the ground floor room. Very clean, fresh and everything you need for a nights stay..tea and coffee, large screen tv , hair dryer and imperial leather soap dispenser in the shower. The large comfy bed had different types of pillow to choose ..nice touch...there was also free wifi for 30 mins and a charge beyond that, but i did not try it. We had dinner at the pub/restaurant next door ..fairly decent meal and good value.....breakfast was had too and for approx £8 an all you can eat cooked or cold or continental breakfast was on offer...ideal fuel to start the rest of your journey. A check out time of 12 midday gave us the opportunity to get showered in our own time...that was also a nice touch..rather than the 10 am in most places....thanks for a nice stop over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M, General Manager at Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to recieve your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking time to write a review about your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Susie Mackay, Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Since the negative reviews of this place I believe it was refurbished last year.

No problems with our booking. Welcome was professional, friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and just enough space for two and a little one + holiday baggae. Good Tea making facilities etc. Every courtesy afforded to help us accommodate bikes and give us peace of mind.

The car park was large and the views of the rural area lovely.
I only heard traffic noise mid morning as the car numbers increased (if we had the windows open).

Will go back again no problem.

The dining let the hotel down a little, the Pirnhall Inn a Brewers Fayer as with all chains can be variable, this one was one of the better ones, relatively smart and clean and had the most spectacular play area for small children. But the cleanliness of the tables could be hit and miss and the service dependant upon the individual. Food was hot and generally cooked well.

The braised lamb + trimmings was wonderful and basics like mash and chips , jacket potatoes fine. The pie is inedible in my opinion and the vegetables always looked stale and dried out with the corn cob looking nibbled at (apparently tasted good despite appearances).

I am not sure what it is about the restaurant perhaps the menu, and the smell of fried foods that these chains have. However next time we stay I will try find time for the breakfast.

The area felt save and secure. But there was no safe in the room.

A good base to explore from if you have a car. but not on the doorstep of the town if that is what you are hoping for.

I am sure we will return to continue our exploration of the area on bikes.

Thanks to the staff for a lovely friendly stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmuch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M, General Manager at Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Stirling Premier Inn. Regards, Susie Mackay, Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a meal here because we were very tired and didn't want to travel too far to get something to eat. There was a very comprehensive selection and it was very reasonably priced. It is good value for money as the portions were huge. However we found the food to be very average. My jacket potato was tasteless and dry. The ribs, a huge portion, were also dry and tasteless. Obviously they had been microwaved. On the positive side it is a very comfortable place to sit and have a drink. There was an excellent selection of wines by the glass, very reasonably priced.Staff were great. It was very busy, especially with families, obviously because it is good value for money. We, however, would prefer to pay a bit more for quality.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Svea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M, General Manager at Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your comment, it has been passed to the restaurant manager. Kind regards, Susie Mackay, Premier Inn team leader.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mouans-Sartoux, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we booked for our trip around Scotland early May, for some reasons all B&B in Stirling had no vacancy. I was therefore forced to look for a budget hotel instead and this premier inn was the first one to pop up. With the early booking and the no cancellation risk, the deal was the same price as the other B&Bs we've booked (300GBP for 2 nights B&B/ family of 5).

Obviously the experience in a hotel and in a B&B are totally different but I have to admit that the frienship and efficiancy of the staff made for the traditional "family touch" of a B&B.
Rooms are large, modern, good beds, superb flat screen TVs (although we did not use them much), all in all the level of service is excellent value for money.
The nearby restaurant is very handy (dinner & breakfast for us) and food is satisfactory.
Location is close to the motorway (no noise problem though) which is useful for travellers, less for tourists who want to go to the town center (not walking distance)

Maybe one little negative point is the WiFi. Once connected the speed is excellent but it is 3GBP/24h when it was free in all B&Bs and the connection process was excrutiating (more than 10minutes with infinite retries and non-loading pages)

Room Tip: You might want to favour rooms on the parking side rather than on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stabary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey M, General Manager at Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Stirling Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind reagrds, Susie Mackay, Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel was rated highly on trip advisor, yet it fell short of my expectations.
Positives:
- the hotel has easy access to the freeway
- is clean
- has friendly staff
- has a reasonable chain pub on property to food
Negatives:
- the bed was not one of their premium beds that they advertise on the site (if you read the fine print, not all of their hotels have the premium bed)
- is not located near the city of stirling (10-15 minute drive)
- For my fellow Americans: It is basically a Super 8/Red Roof Inn level of hotel with a purple color scheme and a compelling branding statement

Overall, this chain definately has its fans in the UK, and their website really made me a believer; however, i found the actual experience fell short.

In the future, I would be willing to stay there, but only if other options were not available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarettms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bannockburn
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
2.5 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel
Address: Whins of Milton | Glasgow Road, Bannockburn, Stirling FK7 8EX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirlingshire > Stirling > Bannockburn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bannockburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Stirling has 60 rooms. We offer great comfortable, affordable rooms. The rooms are very clean and modern. We have a great team of staff that work together and give pride in making you Premier Inn experience unforgetable. We have a Brewers Fayre Restaurant beside the hotel which serve good value for money food. For the children there is an outdoor childrens play area, which is situated beside the outdoor seating area where the parents can sit and relax whilst the children play. There are NO indoor play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stirling Hotel Bannockburn
Premier Inn Stirling South (M9, J9) Hotel Bannockburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing